Apple Computer Nike + iPod Sport Kit and Sensor | iLounge

Reviews

1

Sounds neat, but something tells me people are going to mess with it just so that they can get on one of the top 10 lists...

Posted by catboy17 on July 13, 2006 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

2

Does this thing ask you any weight, hear rate or O2 information? Without that stuff, and the ability to track your heart rate, I doubt the accuracy of the caloric burn data it provides

Posted by jb43081 on July 13, 2006 at 11:34 AM (PDT)

3

Does this thing work if the sensor was attached to the outside of the shoe like on a pocket on the laces? Or is it some kind of pressure sensor and needs the compression?

Posted by mayhan on July 13, 2006 at 11:42 AM (PDT)

4

It looks like you can at least input weight data, according to image above. If you really need super accurate burn data, prob better to go with one of those garmin integrated gps, hrm, etc watches.

Posted by digita6 on July 13, 2006 at 12:27 PM (PDT)

5

They need to make a sensor for cycling. I would be all over that. I am sure tht will be on its way soon.

Posted by mstngo in New Jersey on July 13, 2006 at 2:45 PM (PDT)

6

The sensor is an accelerometer, much like Nike's SDM (speed+distance monitor). The SDM was within about 20 feet of a marathon, so I would expect the POD to be about the same accuracy.

Nike would like you to put the POD within in their specially made shoe, but I suspect it would work on other shoes. You would have to fashion a clip to hold in place on your shoe.

Posted by sobo on July 13, 2006 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

7

Yeah, this thing should be able to be adapted for cycling.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on July 13, 2006 at 7:28 PM (PDT)

8

does this block the dock connector port? would this interfere with me using say the ipod fm remote from apple??

it would be rediculous if they overlooked a detail like that..

Posted by someguy1074 on July 13, 2006 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

9

if it uses the dock connecter, i doubt it offers a pass-through. i've only seen one or two devices that offer it. too bad, it does seem like a relatively simple addition.

Posted by WarmPabst on July 13, 2006 at 7:46 PM (PDT)

10

Thanks for the great review!
It must be IN the shoe, since it reads out the pressure of your steps.
I wonder what happens if I run with my buddy, who has the same set-up. How do they make sure the WiFi signals will not interfere? Think of a marathon with 100+ nike+ipod runners....

Posted by Georg_ on July 14, 2006 at 2:29 AM (PDT)

11

Just one question that no one seems to be asking:
Can you change the units of measurement from Kilometres (for those of us who have changed to the metric system) to Miles??

Posted by Salamander on July 14, 2006 at 3:11 AM (PDT)

12

A bike mounted sensor for cyclists would be great... but you don't really need Nike shoes to go cycling so I guess they wouldn't make much money out of it... unless they sold lots of Nike+ cycling jerseys wink Anyway, let Apple know if you want a bike mounted sensor... http://www.apple.com/feedback/ipodnano.html

Posted by flickrich on July 14, 2006 at 3:14 AM (PDT)

13

Hmmm looks good BUT lacks what jb43081 talks about for me the polar heart rate monitor (http://www.polar.fi) interfacing to the iPod would be much, much better thing altogether as heart rate and oxygen consupmtion are important not just to athletes but all who want to know how their body's behaving. A log of the run is good but a log of how the heart behaved is beter!

Posted by igboman on July 14, 2006 at 4:25 AM (PDT)

14

I just used this thing to run to work this morning. I didn't want to get the Nike shoes, so I just shoved the sensor in between my laces. This didn't work too well because this thing is so smooth it slides around like an oily seal. Still, it did stay in my shoe, but wasn't always facing forward. Nevertheless, it seemed to work. You can press the center button at any time and the music turns down a bit and the voice comes on and tells you how far you've gone and your pace etc. This is pretty sweet. You hold the center button to switch to your "power song" which you set in the settings. It told me I went 2.45 miles to google earth's 2.2. Again, not sure if I affected the accuracy by shoving it in my laces and having it sideways and I'm also not sure that google earth is terrible accurate. Still, if this is the level of innaccuracy, I'm fine with it. You can also calibrate the device to increase its accurracy, which I didn't do. You can put in your weight, and I did before the run. There is definitely no heart rate or O2 monitoring right now - if you're that serious I'd probably think about one of the $200+ solutions mentioned above. Georg_ i don't think this is pressure sensitive since it seemed to work in my laces. I think sobo is right about it being an accelerator. This definitely blocks the dock connector port and I use the FM remote, and yes it's kind of annoying that they overlooked that. Overall, this thing is pretty darn sweet. I haven't hooked it up to my computer, but I did demo the interface before I bought it and it looks cool. It's definitely awesome to know how far you've gone and to track your progress.

Posted by gibson10ma on July 14, 2006 at 7:19 AM (PDT)

15

I'll probably rig some kind of pouch onto my shoe to keep this in place in the future. I'll post a picture if I'm successful.

Posted by gibson10ma on July 14, 2006 at 7:20 AM (PDT)

16

I used this and the new shoes yesterday. Very cool. First of all it seems really acurate about the milage. I ran 5.25 miles and sure enough it read 5.25 miles! It gave me updates on request but that was not the cool part. Syncing it with the website gives you a cool graph and breakdown of your speed throughout the run. I actually was please and not surprized that my time was sluggish in the beginning followed by better time for each new mile. In my run there is a steep hill and a decline and in the graph you can see how that affected my speed. Very cool. Make sure you save the workout though! If you set up a goal and forgot to press menu after your run and just shut it off it will not save your run (that kind of sux).
If you're a runner and ipod fan, get it!

Posted by TimOBrien on July 14, 2006 at 8:21 AM (PDT)

17

How about a keychain of some kind attached high up in the laces? I bet the right thing could hold it in place on non-Nikes without damaging the shoes. Unless the "flopping" interferes too much. Still--just clip it TWO places to the laces then.

Posted by Nagromme on July 14, 2006 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

18

A couple of questions...

1.)is the battery in the sensor user replaceable?
2.) Will the ipod + transmitter fit in the origial Nike Sport Armband(screen viewable)

Posted by hyling on July 14, 2006 at 9:35 AM (PDT)

19

Does anyone know the dimensions of the sensor? I've been waiting for this for a long time (running is the only thing I don't use my ipod for-I use the Nike mp3run) but because I run in stability shoes, I can't use this yet. I want to know the dimensions of the sensor to take a look at my shoes tonight & see if I could cut out a small area of the foam to fit the sensor in without affecting anything.

Thanks

Posted by Mark Kral on July 14, 2006 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

20

I bought the kit last night at my local Apple store and went to town on my old pair of New Balance with a razor and pliers last night. Took all of 5 minutes to cut a shape slightly smaller than the transmitter in the same place as was shown in the pix and pull the rubber out with the pliers. I wedged the transmitter in, slid the insole back in and ran a known 2 mile route. It worked just fine and the shoe didn't feel any different. Since that part of the shoe doesn't flex that much, it never popped out of it's snug hole. I suppose it would work with some sort of pocket on the laces, too, but this was faster than rigging something and there's no worry about losing it.

Posted by drehenkraft on July 14, 2006 at 9:54 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.