Apple Computer Nike + iPod Sport Kit and Sensor | iLounge

Reviews

41

Does anyone know if this product works with the 30g and 60g videos ipods? Thanks,

Posted by mjumpman42 on July 16, 2006 at 9:17 PM (PDT)

42

mjumpman42,
"Doesn’t - as of date of review - work with iPods other than the nano"...........

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on July 17, 2006 at 1:47 AM (PDT)

43

The Nike site is way too flash heavy. You can't use Safari's autofill on the password for it because of the Flash which is silly given that it is an Apple site. I couldn't find out any way to export my data.

I bought one and it is cool, but I think the best part is the potential the alliance has. Heart rate monitors, GPS modules (the video iPod?), cycling computers, and other things which have been poorly supported on the Mac. And now there is potential for a best-of-breed product shows them all up. If I was Polar, Ciclosport, Garmin, or Suunto, I would be very afraid right now.

Posted by akatsuki on July 17, 2006 at 5:04 AM (PDT)

44

Great review.

I've used an accelerometer/HRM system for several years and have some thoughts on this:

(1) Calibration for the accelerometer is very important as individuals have different running styles. The default setting may be good for you, but find a high-school 400m track or somewhere you can get an accurate distance measurement to ensure the calibration suits you.

(2) Given that it uses an accelerometer, you will likely get quite different results when you run on asphalt versus softer surfaces such as a trail or grass. If you only pound roads this may not be an issue, but if you run on mixed surfaces you will get different distances measures for the same actual mileage.

(3) The alternative system I used with accelerometer, once calabirated, provided very accurate average pace and distance data but real-time pace data fluctuated by a surprising amount on each foot strike. The Nike/iPod product may be better, but I doubt it as variances in road surface will effect this.

(4) I found the most useful feature was ability to upload data to see a chart of pacing over the course of a long run. If this was integrated with HRM data there is a lot more insight, but currently HRM is not available with this set up. In my view, actual total distance on an individual run is not especially useful for a runner, as once you have been running for a while you get to know your pace (and thereby how far you have run in a certain time) and the distances of your favorite runs. Where the upload shines is that you essentially have an electronic training log at the push of a button.

(5) The lack of a replacement battery in the sensor is a little disappointing, but I am amazed at the quoted battery life of 1000 hours. Given typical usage of an hour a day, five days a week, would give close to four years of operation. It will likely outlast the life of the iPod for almost all users. Using an alternative pace monitoring system with CR-232 watch batteries I was replacing them every few months and reliability of connection became an issue.

Posted by VARunner on July 17, 2006 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

45

There seems to be a lot of hype around this product, but it is just pedometer technology. That means you will not get accurate results. For better accuracy, you need a GPS unit, like the Adeo from http://www.motionlingo.com

Posted by kbaggs in Toronto, Canada on July 17, 2006 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

46

kbaggs ... they claim it is an accelerometer, not a pedometer.

Another comment I would make to those who are looking at laternative ways of attaching the acclereometer to your shoe ... you want to ensure that it is very well securely attached and doesn't "jiggle". Your speed is measured by the accelerometer by getting a consistent motion from step to step. If it is able to move around your accuracy could be greatly reduced.

Posted by VARunner on July 17, 2006 at 3:29 PM (PDT)

47

can anyone who has bought one already try and see what happens on a bike? i know it's not made for a bike but maybe it can record something.

Posted by Buckie06 on July 17, 2006 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

48

For bikes try looking at http://www.suunto.com
specifically the t6. I was looking at this for training and such. I know they have some cool stuff (I have a dive watch from Suunto) and much better quality and measurments standards than Nike except they don't connect to your ipod. Nike has created a cool device yet it seems to lack accuracy as others have mentioned.

Posted by erinwhile on July 17, 2006 at 11:01 PM (PDT)

49

Does the kit work on a Bluetooth frequency? I have Bluetooth head phones and I was wondering if it would work with both of these at the same time. The recievers look identical other than mine is black. Please repost with another blog, as I cant read peoples comments, my connection won't allow it. Thanks for the input!

Posted by WireDawg on July 18, 2006 at 1:56 AM (PDT)

50

Answer to my own question! The sensor sends this information wirelessly to the receiver that is plugged into the iPod nano. The sensor communicates with the receiver via a proprietary low-power 2.4 GHz radio protocol; this is not Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. The Nike + iPod sensor has been engineered and tested to ensure that it does not interfere with Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, cordless phones, or similar electronic devices. So, runners won't be able to cut the cord unless Nike releases its own pair of headphones... Oh, well...

Posted by WireDawg on July 18, 2006 at 2:21 AM (PDT)

51

A couple of questions...

1.)is the battery in the sensor user replaceable?


According to the "Cons" section, the battery is not replaceable.

Posted by randall311 on July 18, 2006 at 10:31 AM (PDT)

52

I've been using the Nike+ Sports kit for about a week and it's actually motivating me to exercise every day. And I'm not a runner at all - I primarily use it for fast walking. I just got the Nike Air Plus shoes today and they are quite comfortable and light. However, before I got the shoes I simply tucked the sensor under the tongue of one of my old Nike tennis shoes and it worked fine the whole week.

There are some little annoying things about the Nike+ receiver/sensor that take some getting used to and perhaps may require a update by Apple. For example, a lot of people (myself included) have had problems with the voice coach coming on extremely loud and the music being extremely low. This requires a reset of the nano, after which it resolves itself and both music and voice are more on the same level. Also, calibrating the device one or two times is required in order for it to record accurate statistics such as pace, time, calories, etc. Despite having done this, I ended up with weird stats after uploading my last workout to the Nike site, e.g., at the last minute of my walk, it spiked way up and made it look like I ran a 2 minute mile. Other people have had these irregularities as well but I'm not sure what causes it.

All in all, I'm thrilled with it and wake up every day looking forward to exercising.

Posted by BananaPod on July 19, 2006 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

53

One comment, one question:

Comment: I have the Nike Tailwind accelerometer (which retails for $199 – I can’t believe that this device is so cheap, relatively speaking - I wonder if it's the exact same technology?) and just wanted to put a plug in for accelerometer technology. It ain’t GPS, but it’s not half bad. And if you run under a lot of trees, it’s actually more consistent from moment to moment. With a little calibration, my accelerometer recorded a distance of 13.2 miles in a half-marathon – one-tenth of a mile off over the course of 13 miles. I have to assume Nike used the same technology to make the accelerometer in this transmitter.

Question: The shoe hacks are much appreciated, especially the description of how to waterproof the transmitter. But I don’t have a Nano, and I live in Seattle. Can you also waterproof your Nano and your earphones? My Nike accelerometer is all but waterproof…I have to decide whether I want to go get myself a Nano and whether it can be weatherproofed for wind and rain and cold.

Posted by kzuhl on July 19, 2006 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

54

Kzuhl, there are third party waterproof cases for nano. See

http://www.otterbox.com/products/ipod_cases/

But: if you are hoping to have a waterproof case with the Nike+ receiver there is not (to my knowledge) any waterproof case for it. I have the Nike+ armband which covers the entire iPod with a stretch nylon material, it is not waterproof.

Posted by BananaPod on July 19, 2006 at 5:07 PM (PDT)

55

Now that I look at the Ottercase, it seems there is a little bit of room at the bottom of the case. Maybe it would fit with the receiver on? You might inquire with the company. Seems reasonably priced.

Posted by BananaPod on July 19, 2006 at 5:08 PM (PDT)

56

it seems really cool but does anyone know whether apple/nike plans to make the sports kit available for other ipods?

Posted by KG21TheKid on July 20, 2006 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

57

Well, it looks like there isn't a set date in terms of rolling this out in Canada. Is anybody willing to ship me one?

Posted by munchyman on July 20, 2006 at 5:29 PM (PDT)

58

I ran for the first time with the Nike+ and my nano yesterday, and I had mybest run in weeks. The technology in this thing is amazing. I ended up duct-taping the sensor to the inside of the tongue of my Asics Gels, but I didn't even really feel it over a 5 mile run. It nailed the distance to less than 1/10th of a mile, and really motivated me to run faster. I probably hit the button for a verbal update a little too often, but one time I hit it and found out that my mile time was slower than I thought, so I picked up the pace. It's really an amazing training device, and really a motivational device.

Posted by davsug in Boston on July 20, 2006 at 9:46 PM (PDT)

59

Could you please explain what kind of accelerometer is
used?
What is the name of the company manufacturing accelerometer used in your application?
What happens if you are running uphill or downhill ?

best regards Kari Vierinen

Posted by karivierinen on July 21, 2006 at 12:15 PM (PDT)

60

The nike+ sensor is a piezo accelerometer according to the support pages on apple.com. A piezo device works by transfering pressure energy to electrical energy through deformations in the crystal field of the crystal. By attaching a mass to the piezo crystal one can measure acceleration through changes in the local g-forces. With the time of acceleration, one can use an integration circuit to measure distance and speed.

Posted by Josh Skodack on July 21, 2006 at 1:19 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.