Apple iPod classic (80GB/160GB) | iLounge

Reviews

1

1st picture has a bottom headphone port, so it seems to be the new Nano, not the 6G iPod.

Posted by Mr. E. on September 5, 2007 at 2:14 PM (PDT)

2

That's fixed. Now the 3rd pic from the bottom appears to belong to the iPod Touch. Nice pics, though. 160GBs has me drooling, but I'll probably stick with my 5G for a while longer.

Posted by Mr. E. on September 6, 2007 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

3

was wondering if the screen is still plastic, of if they've moved to optical glass like on the iPhone?

Posted by Lawrence Mikkelsen in New Zealand on September 6, 2007 at 1:35 PM (PDT)

4

Wow! First review!! Congratulations!

Posted by misaelt in Mexico on September 7, 2007 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

5

My iPod died on my so I happen to be in the market for one. The only thing stopping me from jumping on the Classic wagon is that the dull, unattractive aluminum face. Is this enough to warrant out-of-date purchase, coz most people get the newest technology, but I'm seriously considering buying the 5.5 gen.

Posted by orionpkmyz on September 7, 2007 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

6

How does the new 'Playing Now' screen work? What are the options for each press of the iPod's select button?

Posted by misaelt in Mexico on September 7, 2007 at 1:34 PM (PDT)

7

What if my songs don't have cover art for them? Will the right side of the iPod be blank, or what?

Posted by daviddd on September 7, 2007 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

8

Are you sure the camera connector doesnt work? On the product page in the Apple Store website it notes it's compatible with the iPod Classic & the iPod Nano 3rd Gen.

The Camera Connector's been known to be persnickety at times, perhaps that's what happened here during your review?

Posted by rafaelc378 on September 7, 2007 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

9

so the ipod classic is out of date? As far as im concerned a 400 dollar 16gig digital media player is out of date...oh but it has wifi and safari....yeah but it simply does not have enough space....for now the ipod touch is a high priced fashion accessory...a very cool one, but a toy nonetheless. Give a media player that actually holds some media and i'm happy.

Posted by jimmy76 on September 7, 2007 at 3:18 PM (PDT)

10

Accessories: Does the Video Out function work with the first gen Apple Universal Dock?

Does the first gen Apple Universal Dock have the authentication chip?

Posted by alexarch in Dallas, TX on September 7, 2007 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

11

Hey there,

Based on this review, it's definitely not B+ worthy, more a B or even B-. I'm not appreciating Apple removing features/limiting features for a supposedly updated product.

Posted by JazzyMac on September 7, 2007 at 3:58 PM (PDT)

12

What about the new access to shuffle feature? This to me was something that was long overdue. Also, as alexarch mentioned, does this work with the Universal Dock for the previous iPods and if so, can on use the Composite Out from that Dock to a TV?

Posted by Boris34 on September 7, 2007 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

13

Hollywood is most likely behind the change in video out support. Since the iPod classic and 3G nano now support 480p output via a component cable, pretty decent-quality analog copies could be made from protected content. As long as my current Apple Universal Dock is supported, it won't bother me.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on September 7, 2007 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

14

If I back up the "Ipod_Control" folder on my 5G ipod (windows), could I restore it to the new classic?

Posted by gregwlsn on September 7, 2007 at 11:12 PM (PDT)

15

What about EU-volume limitation? Will previous unlocking tools work? Otherwise I´ll keep my 5.5G!

Posted by rudolfraith1 on September 7, 2007 at 11:23 PM (PDT)

16

How's the color banding on this one? The 'old' iPod w. Video had a screen that wasn't true 8bit (or 24bit, if you like) resulting in terrible color banding!

Try looking at the opening sequence of the movie 'Delicatessen' on an iPod w. Video...

Posted by aapl87 on September 8, 2007 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

17

My biggest question: Does it work with the Apple Radio Remote? I don't use it much for radio, so if the radio isn't supported, it's no big deal, but I want to use the remote controls.

Posted by Japester on September 8, 2007 at 6:38 AM (PDT)

18

I don't really like that you conclude the article by comparing apples to oranges (or Classic to iPhone/iPod touch). They're very different products and cater to very different user-bases. The Classic is as much the music-player-first-iPod that Steve Jobs always said it would be. The touch, on the other hand, is basically a PDA (*cough* Newton? *cough*). I would have been sad had Apple solely unveiled the iPod touch (even if it had larger storage) and discontinued anything resembling previous iPods.

For me, someone replacing a broken 20gb 4g, the Classic is PERFECT. It offers the updated interface I've been wanting since the debut of color screens, a slim profile, amazing battery life and a great value in GB/$.

I don't think Classic looks like it's trying to tag along with the touch/iPhone, I think Apple's just going for a continuity in its interface designs. Would it have made sense for them to give it a design that didn't resemble their other products; or to maintain the old one that didn't? I don't think so.

I think the Classic is exactly what it is. It is a great sixth generation of a great product and extremely deserving of its name.

Posted by israldebruin on September 8, 2007 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

19

I must say that I feel this review, though appreciated, was fairly incomplete. What of line in recording capabilities, shuffle features, etc. I can't expect that iLounge try every accessories, but they should try the the accessories that activate a particular function, such as a Tunetalk, or Radio attachment. Since Apple took the step to make certain peripherals non functional, it would be nice to know what generally works and what doesn't.
I also have to agree with israldebruin when he says you're comparing the wrong player. The comparison should be with the 5.5 Gen iPod since the Touch is a whole other category altogether. It's my hope that Jeremy writes a secondary piece that covers the missing bits.
B.

Posted by Boris34 on September 8, 2007 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

20

One word of warning to OS X 10.3.9 users - the iPod Classic will not work for you. Yes, it says 10.4.8 is required on the product page, but it also says 10.3.9 in the PDF manual. There is a discussion about the contradiction on the Apple Support Disscusion for the classic (http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5283860&tstart=0)

This is perhaps something that should be reflected in the requirements section of this review.

Posted by rjglasse on September 8, 2007 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.