Apple iPod mini 4GB/6GB (Second-Generation) | iLounge

Reviews

61

I love my new 4GB Mini, but I HATE how it still uses battery power when it's sleeping! I go to bed, wake up, and 1/8 of the battery is gone!

^^To the above post, I have a pink one, and the color is awesome. It's so bright and vibrant. smile

Posted by silksweetie468 in Pennsylvania on March 18, 2005 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

62

One post had shown a news report that the ipod mini will get a colour screen. The date of the article was Feb. 15, 2005 and currently it`s the end of March....no update. Anyone heard anything?

Posted by Peragulator in Earth on March 22, 2005 at 1:10 PM (PDT)

63

The Mini only display text, like the regular iPod, why does it need a color screen? It cost more and doesn't add anything to music. I don't see why everyone expected this color screen so much.

Posted by Vacpower in Sept-Iles, Québec on March 22, 2005 at 8:49 PM (PDT)

64

What I dont get...what's the point in getting a mini, if, for less than 50 bucks, you can go from 6 gigs to 20 gigs. The UI is the exact same, you get more hardware (though, sadly, no case or clip) and the ability to show your trendyness with the white gloss finish. To me, a mini says "I wasn't smart enough to not get ripped off, but i like pretty colours"

Posted by psi++ on March 24, 2005 at 5:32 AM (PDT)

65

I am getting one but I have a question. Do you get an in-wall phone charger to charge the battery?

Posted by Alíd on March 24, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

66

I am getting one but I have a question. Do you get an in-wall phone charger to charge the battery?

Posted by Alíd on March 24, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

67

nope

Posted by ugagirl in athens, ga on March 24, 2005 at 1:46 PM (PDT)

68

Will the wall charger from my 30 gig ipod work for my mini?

Posted by porch13 in PHX, AZ USA on March 24, 2005 at 2:52 PM (PDT)

69

I just bought one and so far it works fine. I had no problem formatting it with my PC although I had to use my desktop instead of my laptop since the laptop had USB 1.1 ports. I did find I can transfer songs from iTunes with the 1.1 port but it takes alot longer than the 2.0 port on my desktop. After that I decided to go for a firewire cable for the laptop. It works well with iTunes. I had no problem adding songs or deleting songs. Originally I was going to get an iPod Shuffle but after looking at the Mini I felt it was a better buy for me.

Posted by jkoci on March 27, 2005 at 8:11 AM (PDT)

70

Hi im going to buy an ipod mini green 4gb but i dont get if i should get the 1st or 2nd gen. i mean i get that the colors are brighter n not pastel n i like that but on the clickwheel the writing like menu n the play symbol r those the color of the ipod mini or r they grey only on the 1st gen? So 2nd gen the color of the ipod ??? PLEASE reply on my messAge.. i really need suggesti0ons!

Posted by 3|!BaK3R in blah on March 28, 2005 at 7:08 PM (PDT)

71

Hmmmmm I got mine- but how do you know what kind of USB port you have?

Posted by Alíd on March 31, 2005 at 6:09 AM (PDT)

72

I havn't heard anyone talk about the green mini. I just ordered one, and I took a chance on green. Can anyone tell me their opinions on the color?

Posted by platformshoes in California on April 5, 2005 at 4:09 PM (PDT)

73

can u download tracks onto the 2nd generation without itunes and if so is it worthwhile?

Posted by curly on April 6, 2005 at 1:01 PM (PDT)

74

...and does iTunes recognize burned CD's or mix CD's? I have a TON of mixes, and I'm hoping they will all be uploaded.

Posted by platformshoes in California on April 7, 2005 at 5:40 PM (PDT)

75

!BaK3R : The 1st Gen Mini got 8 hours of battery life, the 2nd one got 18 hours. Just for that fact the 2nd gen Mini is a better deal.

Posted by Vacpower in Sept-Iles, Québec on April 10, 2005 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

76

I just bought my iPod Mini Green yesterday. It should be in by Monday!

Posted by thenameisfinger on April 14, 2005 at 11:39 PM (PDT)

77

how come when i charge my 4 gb mini threw my computer, it lasts like 3 hours? do i need a wall adapter or is my battery defective?

Posted by scarface86x on April 21, 2005 at 7:36 PM (PDT)

78

A warning about 2nd Gen iPod mini Batteries!

I got my Green 6gb mini about 3 weeks ago along with a USB wall charger and the dock. Last night, i plugged the ipod into the dock and used the USB wall charger to charge it. When I woke up in the morning the iPod was hot to the touch and it sayed it had 1/2 a battery left even though I left it on the charger overnight. I was in school about 3 hours when the iPod finnaly cooled down a little. Then it wouldnt turn on or show ANY icons. I called tech-support and they said my battery was installed icorrectly! I am in the proccess of getting it fixed by apple right now, but that means there are more faulty batteries out there. The tech-suppirt agent said that it didnt happen very offten, but if your mini overheats or has trouble keeping a charge, contact apple to see if your battery is installed wrong. Do it before your warrenty is over or you will have to pay $100+.

Posted by Rascal_King on April 22, 2005 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

79

Halving the size of the boxes is a really good move by Apple, though. They can ship twice the amount using the same amount of fuel (which you pay for when you buy it). I wouldn't be surprised if iPod boxes continue to get smaller with the price of gas these days.

This is the only way I know of to get a gold mini without getting ripped off on ebay.

Posted by jmaurand on April 29, 2005 at 7:23 PM (PDT)

80

I have a Mac clone running 9.2.2 with a third party USB card (pre 2.0) I manage to do most everything with my mini (charging, transfer) anyway. Just leave it plugged in overnight..

Sometimes system requirements are more slanted toward sales of new hardware.. smile

Posted by kayoteq on May 13, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.