Apple iPod nano Lanyard Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

The price seems no different from previous offerings, considering that the combination of the earbuds and the remote control used to sell for the same $40, if I remember correctly.

I won't be buying them; I don't often use the Apple buds I have, and don't really want a lanyard. But it's a nice design, and no worse of a value than the other accessories Apple sells.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on October 9, 2005 at 2:32 PM (PDT)

2

I don't have the lanyard headphones, nor an ipod nano for that matter, but I am interested in buying an ipod nano because of the lanyard headphones. I liked the idea of lanyard headphones on the suffle, but would not break down and buy it because it didn't have a LCD on it. Now that they have remedied that I'm more likely to break down and buy the nano, and the lanyard headphones.

Posted by craigatkinson on October 9, 2005 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

3

iLoung gave this item a B-. I'm curious as to what score they would have given it had they judged everything but the items price.

Posted by craigatkinson on October 9, 2005 at 4:02 PM (PDT)

4

generally, ilounge seems to give a good grade Apple because they are made from Apple. very simple answer. but it doesn't make any sense. I guess earbuds look like the same as stock buds. if it is so, it's not worthy. at least Apple was supposed to improve better headphone for this one. $39? if they give us better headphone with it, that will be fair price.

Posted by crazypod in St. Louis, MO on October 9, 2005 at 5:46 PM (PDT)

5

Matt: You're correct on pricing of the earbuds + remote. Two accessories in one box for $39.

Craig: Price is important, and we never omit it from consideration. If this had been more reasonably priced, probably a B+.

Crazypod: I suppose that depends on what you consider a "good" grade. Apple's stuff tends to be well-made and well-designed, consistently earning its products B-level ratings even if they're overpriced, and A-level ratings if the prices are appropriate to what's in the box.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 9, 2005 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

6

Seems like the nano would now be perfect for a 'snatch and run', which I suppose COULD be a blessing if confronted with a mugger who really wants that nano. Personally, I'd rather have a more secure means--if only in looks if not tenuious connection--of 'wringing' the nano around my neck.

As for pricing...well, I wouldn't buy it for MY nano, but then again I'm not into the iPod White bud thang (again, for security issues). Does seem a bit spendy for what one gets, I'll grant that, and kinda busy-looking with all those cords and wires, though no more than the Shuffle, I suppose.

Posted by flatline response on October 10, 2005 at 1:10 PM (PDT)

7

When you compare it to the plethora of iPod accessories out there (other headphones, cases etc.), it's somewhat inexpensive, but for basically another set of those white earbuds, I sure wouldn't pay $40 and I bet noone else would either.

Posted by Huskerz85 on October 10, 2005 at 7:53 PM (PDT)

8

Somebody kill me. I ordered the Nano the moment it became available online. I also got the Lanyard Headphones. After getting the Nano in under 2 weeks, I bought a Sennheiser which I love. But then, I forgot about the Lanyard I ordered which would arrive a month later. And it's now here... it is rather expensive... I forgot to cancel the order...! Am I happy with it? I guess... like I have any choice!

Posted by YOHAN14344 on October 13, 2005 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

9

Yohan14344 - you could always sell your least favourite to another Nano user. ^_^

It's actually more expensive here in Canada for this lanyard necklace $49 CDN which is roughly $40 USD (currency rate 1US = 1.18 CDN) not to mention the 15% additional tax we have to pay. *sigh*

Sadly, I do not own a Nano but do have Shuffle. If I did own one, and was annoyed with the included headphones, I probably would buy it on ebay or put it on my wishlist just for fun. I hope Apple makes this style available to the Shuffle because it would be more convenient for me. *hint hint* lol

The mophie seems okay but I would always prefer Apple's accessories. ^_^;

Posted by lollip0p on October 14, 2005 at 12:52 AM (PDT)

10

Nice earphones over-priced. But I bought two pairs for my two nano's, one white, one black. Apple is driving me crazy.

Posted by Coratian on November 3, 2005 at 9:11 AM (PDT)

11

I loved my nano, but it is GONE GONE GONE b/c of this stupid lanyard and my naive trust in Apple's design for security. My nano FELL OFF THIS stupid lanyard. You are falsely led to believe that it secures the nano through the dock connector. The times i had to release it to charge nano it was incredibly hard to squeeze the buttons to get it unattached to the dock connector. However, while SITTING on an airplane, yes JUST SITTING, and after turning it off for the landing, I lost my nano. It fell of this hunk of overpriced junk and now I'm left with Zero Nano! I'm not an anti-Apple or just-cuz-I hate apple I'll write something negative. I'm a careful consumer who is sad that their favorite little toy was kept by some idiot instead of them playing good samaritan and turning it in to the airline or airport. It only took 8 minutes before I realized it was gone, but b/c it is so light in weight, I didn't feel it missing. I would suggest not buying this.

Posted by flippergirl on December 19, 2005 at 7:18 PM (PDT)

12

Glippergirl, I'm sorry to hear of your loss, but I'm curious, what buttons did you squeeze to make the lanyard release? I just bought the lanyard, and can't find anything to make the lanyard disconnect gracefully, I just have to yank the thing out. I've attached the lanyard ONE time to my nano and removed it, and already see a substantial grove dug into the metal base on the inside lip of the nano where the lanyard's prongs slide. I examined the lanyard extensively to see if it had a release mechanism, but can't find anything. Pressing the sides doesn't help. The two booklets that I have don't mention anything about it. What am I missing?

Posted by EchoEcho on January 25, 2006 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

13

Ack.... My apologies for mangling your name Flippergirl...... where is the edit button.

Posted by EchoEcho on January 25, 2006 at 2:10 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.