Apple iPod photo Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

21

Misc. replies:

* Video clips from camera: you can store ANYTHING on an iPod. Whether the Belkin media reader knows enough to transfer non-images is another matter, if that's what you mean. I don't use my iPod that way so I don't know.

* Searching: No keyword interface, just albums--or if you synch a folder (instead of iTunes 4), then you get subfolders for organization. One level deep. (Any 3rdd-level sub-subfolders don't appear--but the photos in them still show up in the parent menu, luckily.)

* "Wrong album" photo bug: I've never seen that, but you could try throwing out the iPod Photo Cache from your computer's HD and make iTunes build it fresh. Just a thought.

* Re backlight: yes, it's really not a good screen without it. But set it to 10 seconds or whatever time you like--then you get your bright screen AND your battery life. Unless you are playing with the controls constantly, in which case no iPod (or any player) will get close to the maximum.

* Screen: I like the screen much better than my 1.5-year-old camera's. (Probably cameras have gotten even better recently.) BUT dark photos look better seen slightly from the left. Annoying, I agree--but try that when viewing a dark photo.

Posted by Nagromme on December 6, 2004 at 7:21 PM (PDT)

22

Hi,
I am planning to buy an iPod photo...just a quick question....can it store all types of files...eg. word, pdf, xcel and powerpoint files. Also can you use it for a pwerpoint slideshow with text only????

Posted by ABJ on December 18, 2004 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

23

A while back I purchased an inexpensive NTSC (composite or S-Video) to ADC converter to allow me to use my PS2 with a computer monitor. It cost about $50 from Best Buy.

Today I tried it with my iPod photo using the provided composite video cable and it worked just fine. So, it should also work fine when plugged into an LCD display with only VGA inputs.

ABJ: The iPod photo, when used in disk mode, can store ANY file that can be stored on your HD. It can only display JPEG files that have been processed by iTunes. In order to load a Power Point presentation onto the iPod photo, you have to convert it to JPEGs from within Power Point (there is an option to export to JPEG).

And, yes, it will display Power Point slides that are text only, once they have been processed as above. You need to be sure to leave a little extra space at the margins (i.e. allow for "TV-safe" margins) to be sure none of your text gets cut off--not a significant problem---I have slides with lots of text on them and none got truncated.

Posted by mpet on December 31, 2004 at 7:40 AM (PDT)

24

hi,

i might get the photo ipod. but i was wondering if it has an intergrated camera?

i need to no thanks reply back

Posted by navz in uk on January 27, 2005 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

25

A word on video....

OK, it seems unlikely that apple will add video capability to the ipod photo, as they'll want to launch a whole new model for that.

But, for them to say that video is not wanted by the consumer - what BOLLOCKS! To add photo support because us consumers are all out there in consumer land snapping away with our digital cameras is to be commended. But to deny the fact that we're all shooting video with our video cameras is ridiculous!

If Apple was convinced that it's customers weren't interested in video then why does it bundle imovie and iDVD with every computer it sells?!?!?!?

The whining about "but where would our customers get content for an ipod video? there's no downloadable content that we can offer them..." WE'LL MAKE IT OURSELVES YOU DICKS!

You understand that we have the need for editing software and give it to us free but god forbid you should give us somewhere portable to play it! It seems so logical - film your kid brothers bar mitzvah or whatever, edit it in imovie then stick it on your ipod! With the video out capability of the ipod photo you could then plug that in to your neighbours TV and show 'em why Spielberg had better watch out!

The nonsense about content aquisition and copyright shouldn't stop the creativity of Apple's consumers extending to portable video. If copyright is such an issue then where do they stand on us putting jpegs that we've saved from a google image search or ripped off a webpage? My ipod photo is full of pics of Milla Jovovich that i pinched off of the internet - that surely has the same content aquisition issues as people potentially putting downloaded video clips on their ipods.

My VHS VCR can tape TV programmes - why can't i watch my DVDs on my ipod? Legally i'm allowed to make back up copies...

I can only conclude that Apple haven't/won't let us play video on our ipod photos because they either haven't worked out how to make it work or they're planning a 6th generation ipod video to be released seperately.

Posted by Glassy on February 11, 2005 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

26

I live in a location overlooking one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Seattle... AKA "The Emerald City" or "The Jet City" I Love God, My friends, family and my two cats Tomita and Hobbs. Some of my passions, are music baseball and technology

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 10:41 AM (PDT)

27

Please disregard my last post. I copy and pasted the wrong info in. What is posted is actually my bio info for the regristration on this site. I appologize for the confusion.

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 11:30 AM (PDT)

28

I already own the U2 i-Pod and I love it. I use it for walking around when I am lounging or lounging around in my favorite Starbucks. I also use it as my source of music through my regular stereo. My CD player is now in mothballs and My CD's are nothing more than back up disks.

I like to work out and although I had the arm band for the larger i-Pod, I still felt that it was a little bulky. I purchased the 512 MB i- Pod shuffle just for working out or running. It is light and the perfet workout accessory. I created a seperate i-shuffle play list that I have on i-tunes. When I plug it into my USB port it syncs up that specific playlist with my i-Pod shuffle. I have all the songs that I like to work out to.

Infact, I can have both my i-Pod and i-Pod shuffle pluged in at the same time.

It is sleek lite, user friendly and the sound quality is equal to my regular i-Pod. It is great to have a small unit that I can just grab and throw around my neck when I go work out.

It is a nice companion to my i-Pod family.

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

29

Is this photo a must have if you have a mini and shuffle? I oln y have about 500 photo's so....

Posted by robertll on February 13, 2005 at 2:34 PM (PDT)

30

only* sorry

Posted by robertll on February 13, 2005 at 2:34 PM (PDT)

31

How do get into the disgnostic mode?

Posted by Vinod in Singapore on February 16, 2005 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

32

I have owned my 60g ipod photo since November.

I found the review well done and covered all the bases. Nonetheless, the longer I use my ipod photo the more I disagree with the review statement: “a nice (album art), if not strictly useful new feature.?

I have a large music collection and a bad memory. I find the album art to be one of the best features. I cannot tell you the number of times that a long forgotten song is heard and the album art reminds me of the rest of the album. The album art provides a much better reference than just the album name.

There seems to be a 200 line limit in Calendar. Anything more than 200 lines does not download from iCal to the ipod. Is there a workaround (I now put larger iCal files in Notes).

Posted by pds on February 17, 2005 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

33

I am going to purchase the iPod photo in the next few days, because I seem to have a use for it. As a visual art student, I have several art history classes every year. Each of these classes require students to memorize and recognize approximately 300 paintings. Having such an amazing device as the iPod photo will allow me to import the artworks I am supposed to study, and run them in slideshow so I can name the artist, title, date, period, medium, etc. So I can basically use it as a study tool wherever I am. To me, the iPod photo seems like a wonderfully useful tool. My question is, what are the other practical uses for the iPod photo? Or is everyone just buying it because of the color screen and the extended battery life?

A7

Posted by A7 in Toronto on February 17, 2005 at 11:20 AM (PDT)

34

I own and installed the Ipod Shuffle iTunes cd.
Do I need to install the Ipod Photo CD again to receive the capability of transfering photos

Posted by silverwin on February 27, 2005 at 1:05 AM (PDT)

35

To A7,
I have a similar story mate. I need to memorize hundreds of fossils (what they look like and their names) and was considering getting the iPod Photo to help me learn them. But then I went and played with one in the shop and discovered that there's no easy way of testing yourself as to the name of the fossil (or painting in your case) since you can't see info about the individual photo. One could, I guess, make an image file with text about the previous image file but that seems like a lot of work when you have as many images as I have. Or one could make hundreds of different playlists but that seems dumb too. So, I'm waiting a while till Apple makes my life easier (hopefully) ; )

Posted by Orbo in Oslo on March 3, 2005 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

36

Hello everyone. Well, I recently bought a 60GB IPOD photo, and let me tell you.....I LOVE IT!! As a music lover (I collect cd's, and have over 1,200 right now), the massive storage allows me to put in some of my favorite songs from all my albums into a small convenient device. While I am not really into taking photos, I still have a number of photos taken from my digital camera, and because there's so much space to spare, I put some photos in it as well. The 60GB IPOD may be really expensive, as I had to save for a month for $645.00 ($599.00 + $45.00 tax) If you are a harcore music collector like me however, then the price shouldn't stop you from getting this product. Music is my passion, and my life, and the fact that thousands of songs could be stored in such a small device is awesome!! Before my IPOD, I had to drive to school bringing some of my cd's, but this IPOD allows you to bring almost yourt whole music catalog...and that's why IPOD's are so wonderful. Overall, this product recieves a big A++++ from me, and I'm sure that everyone else who owns any IPOD will agree. IPOD's ROCK!!!

Posted by Andrew B. on March 7, 2005 at 4:56 PM (PDT)

37

I bought one to replace my aging gen-1 5gb ipod whose second battery is dying and returned it a week later for the following reasons:

a) Interface: The UI that works for navigating through 1000 songs doesn't work for navigating through 10000 songs. Apple needs to either let a user pick a letter and wheelsort through or come up with a more efficient way of sorting through 10000 songs. I cannot begin to imagine how other mp3 players deal with large collections if the click wheel failed me on this one.

b) Display: The display is unusable/unreadable without the backlight, so you need it on most of the time. From my perspective the ipod photo is meant to be looked at and not be stored inside a pocket like the shuffle. It's the anti-shuffle. The backlight eats up the battery life, so the 15 hours are more like 6...

c) Photo options: In my opinion a photo viewer should allow you to zoom in, especially if you have opted to get the entire images onto the ipod. Also, making slideshows-on-the go wouldn't be bad either. There are lots of things that my camera can do that the ipod photo should be able to do at that pricepoint.

d) Useability: If you have set it to autosync (which is why I wanted it, so that I could have my entire music and photo libraries with me at all times) it took forever everytime I connected it to my PC. It also required two restores followed by multi-hour reloadings of everything when it kept losing my album art.

e) Bulk: The 60GB is way too bulky. I couldn't find a case that worked with it and I found that I opted to leave it at home or in the car, which made me wonder what was the point of it vs a computer.

So, I ended up with an ipod mini 6GB which is portable, the right size, doesn't scratch or smudge, is usable and has a battery life that so far has been unbelievable for half the investment! grin

Posted by ipoda4iam on March 9, 2005 at 9:34 AM (PDT)

38

I guess everyone has their own perspective on thing.
Which bring me to my next question, Ipod Photo has no case? Ive been looking everywhere for one. Im guessing they will have ones out when the new photos come out. I personally have a 40GB and love it! The color beats all the other Ipods, no doubt about it.

Posted by silverwin on March 10, 2005 at 11:38 PM (PDT)

39

I bought my ipod photo 30GB a few weeks ago. Have a couple of questions that hopefully someone can help me out with:

1) I've loaded only 6 photos so far and already noticed a bug. When clicking on one thumbnail, a totally different photo comes out. And sometimes in scrolling from one pic to another (this has happened more than once), it gets "stuck" and i can only scroll through 3 of the 6 photos i have in my ipod. I have to go back to the previous menu and click on a thumbnail again to be able to view all of the 6 photos. If this problem is happening with only 6 photos, I'm worried it may get worse when I transfer thousands of photos into my ipod. Has this happened to anyone else, or should I get my ipod serviced??

2) The center button on my ipod has become kinda loose (shifts slightly from left to right everytime I click on it). Is this common?

Posted by scotts on March 21, 2005 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

40

An excellent review -- and great attention to detail. I just got my iPod photo last weekend and for the most part, I love it. I love sharing photos with friends, having a colour display, and 60 GB capacity is just awesome - and I have even written some shell scripts to backup my important files to the iPod after my Mac has auto-mounted it.

On the down side, Apple still have not fixed the problem of being able to share between a PC and a Mac (I'm a PC user who is slowly migrating to a Mac), and to me this equates to a semi-broken product. The box should not read "60 GB PC + MAC," as this is false advertising.

Posted by HK David in Hong Kong on March 21, 2005 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.