Apple iPod shuffle New Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

41

Personally, I think that the iPod shuffle is a good product, dependent on your situation. for me, I do use it in a gym but use it while I travel more. For this reason, I think that an ipod mini or an ipod 4g 20gb is better for me. But for someone who is an athelete (or the like), the iPod shuffle would probably be better

Posted by Kiara in Virginia on January 25, 2005 at 10:26 AM (PDT)

42

Sounds as though Danyboy is in the same situation as me. I unfortunately found my iMac FlatPanel does not have USB 2.0 and the Autofill was really slow. No big deal. Pick the lists and walk away. I love this thing.

My wife has a 3G 20GB iPod which holds our whole library and we sync the calendar/address book which is nice on trips. I would occasionally borrow her iPod for work. Whenever I would use her iPod I'd select an "On the Go" playlist and then shuffle it throughout the day without looking at the screen.

The shuffle is perfect for my needs. I love that it just hangs around my neck and I can use the controls easily without looking at the unit. I find the earbud cord is a bit too long, but I'll get that silly cord wrap thing recommended here.

IMO the screen is not a necessity and it fits my needs perfectly. I'm sorry, Mavman, if you can't find 250 songs in your Library that you wouldn't mind listening to then you've limited your musical taste severely. This is now my own personal radio station with only the songs I want to hear popping up randomly as I move through my day.

Posted by fishert on January 25, 2005 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

43

i am a 3G 15gig ipod owner. i think the ipod shuffle is something to complete the ipod collection on case of things to want in a mp3 player. original ipod, people loved, but thought of it as too fragile, and you had to baby it whereever you took it, then the ipod mini came, not, because of the different casing you didn't feel like you needed to carry this puppy around using your fingertips when it didn't have a case. (i've seen people do it) and then there was the price, the cheapest bran new one you could get is the ipod mini price, and at that price you could chell out another 50 bucks and get more than quadruple the memory. (though i know ipod minis are more a fashion statement than anything else for most people) but now the ipod shuffle comes along. like most of the posts prior to me have said: it's not for everyone. but it's for the people that thought of the ipods are too fragile, too expensive, too complicated..ect... apple is getting every comtumer to buy thier products now who did not buy ipods prior for listed reasons. and at a great price none the less. and for the already ipod users, this is just ipods little brother, and if you have both you can use either for different occasions, if you are going somewhere and are worryed about getting your ipod stolen or broken, bring the shuffle instead, inconspictuous in your pocket, and what people can't see, they wont't steal. (though if you are worryed abut someone stealing your ipod, don't wear the white earphones, it's a dead give away)
overall ipod is ipod #5 in a great family tree.

(prior ipods being ipod, ipod mini, ipod U2 edition, and ipod photo)

Posted by ayedoubleyou in california on January 25, 2005 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

44

What are the power specs for the optional power adapter? Is it really the same as the iPod's (like the review said) with 12v output? Or is it 5v like standard USB?

Does anyone know what range of voltages the iPod Shuffle will handle? The iPod is pretty forgiving for anything from 6v to 18v (at least).

Posted by Joe Hendrickson in Canberra, Australia on January 26, 2005 at 9:18 PM (PDT)

45

Well, I've had my Shuffle for three weeks now and I'm still impressed by it's size and weight. I used it every day to go walking. My wife uses it in the evenings. I may get her one for Valentine's Day!

My only complaint is the time it's taking to get the case I ordered from Apple. I think they only made one case for the introduction.

Posted by MichaelZ on January 28, 2005 at 2:26 AM (PDT)

46

The Shuffle was my first iPod purchase. I am happy, but won't go bigger - just not for me. I only need a couple hundred songs for my portable player.

thanks apple!

Posted by Mega in California on January 28, 2005 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

47

I have had my Shuffle for 2 days and the mini for about 6 months. Though the mini is not as full featured as the mini I find the shuffle a great mobile music player. Currently the Shuffle has 239 songs the mini 750.

I took the Shuffle snow boarding today and I found it nearly invisible the entire day.

The device sounds great and easy to use even with gloves on.

The simplicity of the device is why I made the purchase. I could have purchased other brands devices but I like the apple interface and it usabilty. Apple also seems to be on top of their software. For instance the auto fill feature is great.

There somethings I do dislike about it. The smooth power switch makes it is difficult to turn on and off. I am not sure if there is a button hold feautre but if there is n't I would like to see that. I would like to see a clip like te ipods have.

Great device glad I have it

Posted by bruinsrme in Wister MA on January 29, 2005 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

48

It sounds like the shuffle is a nice addition for people who already own an iPod but want a smaller more activity friendly device. The Shuffle would be great to take along on ski trips etc. I would like to see an add-on device to allow Autofill from an iPod to a Shuffle. I can see myself taking both on an extended ski trip, using the Shuffle on the slopes and syncing it with the iPod at night.

Posted by Trix606 on January 30, 2005 at 5:57 AM (PDT)

49

The shuffle is good for people who are money-concious like myself and who don't really care what song you're playing. Also, good for those who don't have alot of songs like myself. The only feature that I despise about this unit, I have one myself and no other iPod, is that you must have a computer to charge it...And there is no direct adapter that you can buy to hook up to the power outlets...You must have the dock and the power adapter.

Posted by AsianAndrew in Toronto, Ontario on January 31, 2005 at 2:47 PM (PDT)

50

To jaisonline- Lots of devices dont have displays. The BOSE wave system is a no display system (except for the clock) only controlled by a remote. I just ordered my shuffle, and it looks incredible.

Posted by Almost Famous on January 31, 2005 at 5:29 PM (PDT)

51

Hello World!

I am from Taiwan and I am a tyro to ipod.

Ipod 4G 40gig is my ideal walkman but I can not afford it because I am a student and do not earn so much for my living.

Ipod series are really attractive and I will have one if I have enough money.

Now, ipod shuffle makes my dream come true earlier than I've expected.

I can afford ipod shuffle and I do not care that the functions of ipod shuffle are simple.

The capacity is big enough because I could carry on ten CDs with me.

I booked one around one week ago and I will get it around middle February. I can't wait!

The most important of all, I have my first ipod!

I believe ipod shuffle is very great for new comer and professional user and it depends on how you use it.

Despite of some shortcomings such as no screen, no recording function, no handy charger, and so on, ipod shuffle itself is really user-friendly and the buyer-friendly.

I'll post more aspects after I get it and use it for a while.

p.s. sorry for my poor English

Kai-Chi from Taiwan

Posted by Kai-Chi in Taiwan on February 1, 2005 at 4:00 AM (PDT)

52

I love Apple, and how they are an innovator on many levels, but the iPod Shuffle is not the first "Screenless MP3 player". Do any of you remeber the old Nike PSA things from about a year before the iPod waas released. They came in 64,128,256 and 512 I beleive. They were not that good though. Their button arrangement reminds me of the Shuffle.

Posted by BlackAndRediPod in Orland Park, Illinois on February 2, 2005 at 5:56 PM (PDT)

53

When your working out in a mode, the last thing you want is to be distracted by trying to look at a screen and looking for songs.
Shuffle is perfect for the gym. I just cant wait for the armband to come out.

Posted by Xav3D in California on February 3, 2005 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

54

i think the shuffle is very cool

Posted by daveari in New York on February 5, 2005 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

55

I have to retract my earlier negative "Shuffle" comments. Until you actually go to the Apple store and hold, touch and feel this own your own, you will miss-judge on first impressions just as I did. Now that I own one, after checking the "Shuffle" out hands-on at the store, I am sold. Yeah there is no screen, but if that really blows smoke up your butt then by all means spend a few dollars more and get a iPod Mini. If archiving your music is your main concern, then the Mini will be too small in capacity so then opt up to the 4G model that best suits your needs.

As a iPod owner I have a 3G 10gig, a Mini, a 4G 20gig and now a 512mb Shuffle. Basically I'm all around covered. Be it a quick few songs via the Shuffle. My 20gig resides at home for use. The 10gig stays in my car (i never listened to the radio anyways) and the mini at the office connected to my notebook.

Yes I agree, on your point of the simplicity of the shuffle at the gym. I just tried it last nite and today. In the past I would bring out the mini for this purpose, but the mini falls short in battery life in comparison to the shuffle. Also I bring the shuffle into the sauna without worries (no moving parts, no screen for heat & moisture to ruin) Sweet! In the past I would wrap the mini in a towel hoping that 15 - 20 mins of sauna time wouldn't ruin it forever.

I have yet to fill the shuffle up with music, just opting to migrate over a few of my fav's from iTunes selection, about 30 songs. I have yet to mess with the encoding, but after reading the above article I might be tempted to see how much can really be sqeezed in without sacrifacing sound quality.

On a final note; here is hoping that the same company that brought us the awesome iPoDonut glow-in-the-dark does something similar with the shuffle's controls. Something simple like that would cause me to empty somemore $$$ happily.

Don't judge the Shuffle until you try it!

Posted by milk3pod in chicago, il on February 7, 2005 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

56

Just wondering if a survey would be possible of the percent of 512mb vs 1gig purchasers. I'm just curious.

Posted by milk3pod in chicago, il on February 7, 2005 at 8:24 PM (PDT)

57

The lack of screen is not a problem I think... As it's called, you play shuffle... So let's be surprised, even if you know what you downloaded in your ipod shuffle...

Posted by mikbrand from paris, Fr in Paris on February 8, 2005 at 4:18 AM (PDT)

58

Can I connect the Shuffle to the Bose Sound Dock system? I am hoping that they offer a retro attachment to make this connection. Has anyone tried this or aware of anything Bose is doing to make this an option? Thanks

Posted by Bill The Thrill on February 9, 2005 at 12:07 PM (PDT)

59

I'd just like to say, I've gone about 2 years without an mp3 player. I sit on the bus for an hour each day next to screaming babies and annoying people. I haven't been able to convince my parents to spring for an mp3 player. When the shuffle came out they jumped at the idea of getting me one. I think its great for any user that is interested in low cost and simplicity.

^_^ no more headaches for me ^_^

Posted by Shroin in Canada on February 9, 2005 at 9:08 PM (PDT)

60

I'm waiting for someone to talk in more detail about the actual *operation* of the Shuffle.

One of the things that bothers me most about other flash MP3 players is the lack of "resume" -- start playing right where you were when you shut it off. Does the shuffle have this feature? It was some time before I found that pausing my 2G iPod (instead of turning it off directly) gave me this feature. But I've always been disappointed that plugging in the charger cord (unless I do it *while it's playing*) wipes the current playlist and I have to start all over again. This competes with shuffle mode, because battery life is still less than the total number of songs, so if you have to re-shuffle each time you turn the unit on, you're going to hear repeats.

Some might say this is a small point, but to me it's the most important point of shuffle mode. Everyone likes to credit Apple with genius interface, yet no one talks about it in detail!

Posted by creeble in San Francisco on February 10, 2005 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.