Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

1

Features, fun, cool, Apple profit.... all that aside.....I think the $ per gigabyte table is the most revealing...... It puts the shuffle in the same category as a Gucci key chain and is equivalent to the car dealers who focus on the monthly payment so you don't notice you are paying $30,000 for a $12,000 KIA.

Posted by miketex on January 17, 2005 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

2

Flash is inherintly more expensive, it only makes sense that it would cost more per gb.

Posted by OxideinSoul in London on January 17, 2005 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

3

personally, i don't see how a power user's rating could be so high. i am considering all the comments for use as a flash drive, BUT i think that a power user would skip straight to the 20G and possibly the mini, rendering the shuffle kinda useless.

Posted by Exvicious in Schaumburg, IL on January 17, 2005 at 2:00 PM (PDT)

4

Again quite suprised you missed the obvious idea that iPod shuffle could be a power-users SECOND iPod, for use in specific situations like the gym where the product practically screams: PERFECT. It seems both of your reviews were focused on the idea that the iPod shuffle would be a users only music player which while certainly the case for many is only part of the story.

While your reviews as always are very detailed with excellent photos this is the first iPod review here on iPodlounge that fails to even consider a major product feature (flash memory being light and shock proof) that has been longed for a discussed since the very first days of the 1G iPod.

Oh well.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

5

PS: while I am sure hundreds of thousands of people use the iPod mini or even iPod to workout the following statement in my humble opinion is laughable:

"Power users with cash will unquestionably find the iPod mini a better value, and almost equally suitable for all of their needs - it's almost equally workout-friendly and more resilient in case of an accident."

it only takes a few quick glances at major runners forums and the like to see the stories of iPods and iPod minis skipping after 20+ minutes, being heavy (even the mini) and being far more easily damaged in an accident as the result of the moving hard drive mechanism.

the failure to grasp that weight and size are MAJOR advantages to the iPod shuffle is a mistake.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 2:14 PM (PDT)

6

I think that the power user, if he gets this, will get one as an addition to an iPod. I was thinking about getting a USB flash drive for moving data back and forth between computers (as we all know, floppy disks are so passe). So I'll probably get one, if only because it's pretty cheap for a 1GB flash drive that can also play a couple of tunes if I'm bored.

Posted by Shreyas in Buffalo, NY on January 17, 2005 at 2:14 PM (PDT)

7

one more PS: i just took my iPod shuffle while playing and GASP i intentionally dropped it from SIX FEET UP on to carpet. No scratches and as I knew would be the case... no damage (something this light with no moving parts won't suffer). I don't DARE do that with my iPod.

I'll stop beating the horse now. grin Let's enjoy all our iPods, it sure is nice to have an ever expanding choice.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

8

As noted in the new users' review, the workout point is made explicitly at the bottom paragraph: we think the iPod mini's on balance a better product, even for workouts, as it's still very portable and far more resilient.

Over the course of all the comments and e-mails we've read, we have never heard a single person complain that the iPod mini is too heavy to work out with, or that it needed even more anti-shock protection. It's performed wonderfully during our own workouts. But then, maybe we and others on iPodlounge have been using it with the right accessories (Apple's/Speck's), not carrying it in our hands, and not subjecting it to the sorts of weird conditions that might seriously damage the device. The sorts of people who frequent major running forums might have different experiences.

However, we cannot consider iPod shuffle solely from that single "specific situation" perspective as "the gym" or "the runner's" iPod. If the entire world of $99 iPod buyers were considering the product only for this purpose, that might be fair, but Apple doesn't call it the "iPod sport" or limit its marketing solely to athletes. Rather, shuffle is a low-end digital music player made to meet the needs of millions of different people, athletes only one fraction of them. And even athletes will want to use the shuffle outside of the gym - what then?

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 17, 2005 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

9

Great review Jeremy. Very thorough and informative.

Posted by jpod999 in california on January 17, 2005 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

10

I am looking forward to trying one out soon...

Posted by neena in Montego Bay Jamaica on January 17, 2005 at 2:24 PM (PDT)

11

As someone else mentioned, for power users and as a 2nd IPOD for the gym...I'm tempted to just get it.

Question - Can you have an IPOD and IPOD SHUFFLE on one machine with one copy of ITUNES? Will it just come up as another device?

Posted by JayG in Long Island, NY on January 17, 2005 at 2:37 PM (PDT)

12

They're for different purposes. You're not buying a product that lets you take your whole library with you like you are when you buy a full-size iPod. You're buying something ultra small and convenient to provide music on short excursions. It'll play about 12 hours worth of music, and if you plan well, tha'ts going to be plenty for many uses.

It's Apples to oranges on the price per gigabyte. A stack of blank DVDs provides a really low price per gigabyte (around a quarter, on average), but it's not particularly convenient, now is it? Those price per gigabyte numbers are completely irrelevent.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on January 17, 2005 at 3:00 PM (PDT)

13

I think a great accessory that perhaps only Apple itself could implement would be an iPod-to-iPod-shuffle interface. Because many adopters of the 'Shuffle' will be hard-drive iPod users, they'd be much more likely to have their iPod than a laptop computer in a pinch. Thus, the possibility of some sort of iPod software update that allowed transferral of on-the-go playlists or allowed "Autofill" directly from an iPod, of course needing a special cable as well.

I'm not sure if 3rd party accessory manufacturers can pull of modifying the iPod's software interface, thus the accessory would have to come from Apple itself. Of course, customers would have to ignore this incestual, somewhat-disturbing iPod mating ritual. Think of the marketing opportunities, Apple!

Posted by ww on January 17, 2005 at 3:00 PM (PDT)

14

As a 15GB 3G owner, I can see picking up a Shuffle as a tiny, rugged secondary music device. It can easily withstand the abuses of weather and shock more easily than its big brothers. Also, when "out and about" I have even less need for a display. As a very experienced user, I can easily tailor 512MB worth of "good stuff" to enjoy without needed to look at the screen every time.

I see this as a great accessory for the active iPodder - not a replacement. I also see it as a good product for those less technical members of my family - my wife loves listening to the iPod, but is uninterested in navigating the 9000 tunes in our library. With a Shuffle, I can just give her something nice that changes every few days. Easy and suitable.

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on January 17, 2005 at 3:34 PM (PDT)

15

As an owner of a 20 gig 4th gen, the only thing to entice me about the shuffle is that it is small, and that it doesn't skip if I jog a lot.

I can understand why a new user would want one, but current users of other ipod models will easily conclude (if they don't buy the shuffle on impulse) that their ipods very easily do all the shuffle can do and more, and the lack of features most of us take for granted on our full size ipods will probably irritate no end upon extended use.

So at the end of the day, the shuffle to an existing user has one perk: it's small, but regular ipods aren't all that bulky to start with. I personally think it's excessive to have a regular ipod for "normal duties" and a shuffle for "the gym".

So Jeremy is certainly correct in saying that the shuffle is a stepping stone to full ipod ownership, but I think it should get a C, simply because the shuffle fails to provide existing users with enough benefit to warrant purchasing one.

Posted by Popjunkie in Singapore on January 17, 2005 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

16

I think that the issue is for power users, the iPod shuffle will be used for a specific purpose. I will use my new 1GB iPod shuffle for long distance trail running. A standard iPod is too heavy. I have run with the iPod mini daily since it was introduced, but it is still not well suited to rough terrain and bad weather. The iPod shuffle should be the ideal solution for this purpose.

dewarner

Posted by dewarner on January 17, 2005 at 5:11 PM (PDT)

17

i have my shuffle now and can easily say that the weight savings and size savings and shock proof savings are IMHO (and obviously some disagree) just HUGE over even a iPod mini for gym or sporting use. now if i could only have ONE iPod, clearly i would get a mini or normal 4G. but if you frequent the gym or play sports while listening to music and can afford having a second iPod... you can have your cake and eat it too. Also lets no kid ourselves the iPod shuffle is FAR more rugged than the mini despite the comments in the review, I can't BEGIN to see where Jeremy is coming from saying that.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 5:58 PM (PDT)

18

My one question that I have not yet seen addressed is:

Does the iPod Shuffle keep track of Play Count for your songs? Or is that another feature that got left out?

I'd also be interested in whether or not it keeps track of "last played" (date/time) but I'm assuming not since there appears to be no clock chip in the iPod Shuffle...

Posted by Brian M. in Portland, OR on January 17, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

19

My one question that I have not yet seen addressed is:

Does the iPod Shuffle keep track of Play Count for your songs? Or is that another feature that got left out?

I'd also be interested in whether or not it keeps track of "last played" (date/time) but I'm assuming not since there appears to be no clock chip in the iPod Shuffle...

Posted by Brian M. in Portland, OR on January 17, 2005 at 6:24 PM (PDT)

20

My one question that I have not yet seen addressed is:

Does the iPod Shuffle keep track of Play Count for your songs? Or is that another feature that got left out?

I'd also be interested in whether or not it keeps track of "last played" (date/time) but I'm assuming not since there appears to be no clock chip in the iPod Shuffle...

Posted by Brian M. in Portland, OR on January 17, 2005 at 6:32 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.