Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

121

[Compaq V2030, 4G.20GB, Mac mini]

I love my iPod, but when I saw the Shuffle, I just drooled. My CompUSA didn't have the 1GB, so I settled with the 512. The way I get and use music, I can cram almost 135 songs or about 9:30:00 of music on it. And I have used it in my car and at work. The 12 hour Battery life is not there. I charged it up and it is still playing after a 9 hour shift and shopping. My 4G.20GB is now my home stereo, and the Shuffle is my "walkman". Will work great for workouts, and I may just get another so I can just have a workout play list, and the other for my driving and shopping pleasure.

Posted by Bennu Phoenix in Colorado on February 19, 2005 at 8:39 AM (PDT)

122

I bought my Shuffle yesterday and I must say it has been the most excellent audio experience ive had since first opening my 3G 20gb ipod. 3000 songs in my library is more than enough to create playlists of 120 songs over and over again. Also, with these shuffle, working out has become far more enjoyable. Even with the tunebelt for my ipod it was kind of large to wear on my arm, but with the shuffle, its like hanging onto a pack of gum. I do have to say not supporting previous AC adapters or coming with some sort of cord is a drag as most computers USB ports dont stay powered when the computer is turned off (BTW if there is a way to keep them powered, please let me know). Another thing, with a little bit of thinking, its easy to find songs on your shuffle, since you can put your list in order again straight from shuffle mode, all it takes is arranging your songs alphabetically and then just jump around til you find something close to the song your looking for. My only other issue is the delay on accesories like the armband, which wont be out for another month or so. over all, the ipod shuffle is an excellent compliment to any ipod because of its portability, storage, and most definitely price.

Posted by B Sheller on February 19, 2005 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

123

There are many aspects of the Shuffle I really enjoy. My son has been through several MPs players and now currently has a U2 Ipod. He prefers to "borrow" my shuffle any time he is going out. the shuffle has been dropped many times. If the U2 was dropped and acciedntaly mistreated by my 15 yo son the cost per gig is still not close but if he dropped the U2 ipod it would be another $350 to replace it and that is still lot of money.

The shuffle is by no means perfect but it my house of a mini, U2, 30gig, 1Gig and a 512 shuffles, the shuffles have received a lot of use since their arrivals.

Posted by bruinsrme in Wister MA on February 20, 2005 at 7:31 AM (PDT)

124

This is actually exactly what I've been needing for a while now - very small size and weight, easy to waterproof, long battery life. I do adventure racing, and for training and racing when you're out on water and slogging through mud, there's finally a way to have music to get into a groove. (Especially since normal use with my 40gb is to play from the unrated list and rate songs... so I now have a large 5star list to autofill from.)

With the 20 hour extended pack I can reasonably expect to make it through most of a 36-hour race and all of any training days with music, no matter what the conditions. Happy camper!!

Posted by Tim C on February 21, 2005 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

125

So how does it SOUND? It is the one question no one seems to have answered and, in my mind, is possibly the most important. I love my iPod because it is arguably the best-sounding portable audio device out there. Does the iPod Shuffle carry on the Apple tradition of superior music playback quality?

Posted by danno in Atlanta, GA on February 21, 2005 at 12:17 PM (PDT)

126

i think it sounds amazing. such a small little music player and such loud and high quality sound. i love my shuffle sooooo much i took it into the emergency room with me the other day when i broke my arm in a hockey game. my doc was so amazed with it he went out to buy 1 later that night.

epod18

Posted by epod18 in Minnesota on February 22, 2005 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

127

p.s. for all those hockey players reading this, if somones going to cross-check don't try to stop the stick with your hand.
BAD experience.
:(
epod18

Posted by epod18 in Minnesota on February 22, 2005 at 9:02 AM (PDT)

128

p.p.s
don't forget your ipod shuffle for in the ER.

Posted by epod18 in Minnesota on February 22, 2005 at 9:04 AM (PDT)

129

The reason it doesn't have more features is that Apple doesn't want an expensive iPod Mini flash player. They went against the grain here and succeeded big time IMO.

To say that you would much prefer an iPod Mini basically justifies Apple's design here. People who want more get a Mini or regular iPod, people who want small and inexpensive will get a Shuffle. Many iPod owners will get a Shuffle to complement their iPods.

This thing is going to sell like hotcakes. That's all I have to say. It's not just because it's an "iPod", if so there would be major backlash already. Instead, stores cannot keep them in stock.

Posted by madmaxmedia in Los Angeles, CA on February 22, 2005 at 12:56 PM (PDT)

130

Last summer I looked high and low for a flashbased player of this caliber and price range...but could not come close. I own a 40gig 3rd gen ipod and I always get paranoid when I use it for things such as cutting grass or other outside duties. To be able to pay a mere $100 bucks for 512mb of music that won't skip and better yet..won't cost $400 to replace if ever broken is awesome. I jog on my treadmill with my ipod 40 and I have to set it on a table next to me to keep it from skipping. (mine may be wearing down cuz it takes more like 6 minutes to start skipping if I wear it jogging). So for this purpose alone I ordered a shuffle..then when summer comes I'll be able to use it when running, biking or the before mentioned yard duties. Definetly worth the $100 to me...most good cases for the regular ipod cost close to that!

Posted by delgriffith in Saginaw MI on February 23, 2005 at 6:29 AM (PDT)

131

Last summer I looked high and low for a flashbased player of this caliber and price range...but could not come close. I own a 40gig 3rd gen ipod and I always get paranoid when I use it for things such as cutting grass or other outside duties. To be able to pay a mere $100 bucks for 512mb of music that won't skip and better yet..won't cost $400 to replace if ever broken is awesome. I jog on my treadmill with my ipod 40 and I have to set it on a table next to me to keep it from skipping. (mine may be wearing down cuz it takes more like 6 minutes to start skipping if I wear it jogging). So for this purpose alone I ordered a shuffle..then when summer comes I'll be able to use it when running, biking or the before mentioned yard duties. Definetly worth the $100 to me...most good cases for the regular ipod cost close to that!

Posted by delgriffith in Saginaw MI on February 23, 2005 at 6:31 AM (PDT)

132

Last summer I looked high and low for a flashbased player of this caliber and price range...but could not come close. I own a 40gig 3rd gen ipod and I always get paranoid when I use it for things such as cutting grass or other outside duties. To be able to pay a mere $100 bucks for 512mb of music that won't skip and better yet..won't cost $400 to replace if ever broken is awesome. I jog on my treadmill with my ipod 40 and I have to set it on a table next to me to keep it from skipping. (mine may be wearing down cuz it takes more like 6 minutes to start skipping if I wear it jogging). So for this purpose alone I ordered a shuffle..then when summer comes I'll be able to use it when running, biking or the before mentioned yard duties. Definetly worth the $100 to me...most good cases for the regular ipod cost close to that!

Posted by delgriffith in Saginaw MI on February 23, 2005 at 6:34 AM (PDT)

133

Sorry aboout the triple post! Bad computer day!

Posted by delgriffith in Saginaw MI on February 23, 2005 at 6:40 AM (PDT)

134

I own a 3rd Gen 30 GB iPod and I bought a 1GB shuffle because my "full sized" iPod was seeming clunky when I went running or was working out. Besides, it fits in your pocket without seeming bulgdy and it was only $150. I bought a $20 2year warranty at Best Buy too and when it is about to go up I am going to "break" it on purpose and get it replaced...recommended by the computer sales-man there. *doing the devil horns with my hand and banging head to silent heavy metal

Posted by Brian65 in California on February 25, 2005 at 11:07 AM (PDT)

135

The review was nice, but lacked info for power users. It would have been nice if it posted about the speed of tranfering music and files between a PC and a shuffle. I read some comments about shuffle being too slow, so I was bit curious about that. Can someone post some benchmark results comparing it to other USB memorysticks or USB MP3 players?

Posted by vanquish on February 26, 2005 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

136

Does the shuffle need any drivers to be installed? I'm planning on using shuffle as a USB memory but I dont want to install drivers to a new PC each time. (I have to do my presentation, and Ill have to tranfer powerpoint files to a different PC)

Posted by vanquish on February 26, 2005 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

137

my friend tucker recently got a shuffle, it is sooo tiny, i think it is pretty cool, but......my pod is still better, he has to listen to what is on, like he cant say, " oh, i want to listen to The Shins, or Pinback, or Martin Wood Medeski," he has to listen to whatever the suffle plays. and i know that was the main point of it's release, but still sacraficing choice for size is rediculous

Posted by clifton062 in USA on March 6, 2005 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

138

my friend tucker recently got a shuffle, it is sooo tiny, i think it is pretty cool, but......my pod is still better, he has to listen to what is on, like he cant say, " oh, i want to listen to The Shins, or Pinback, or Martin Wood Medeski," he has to listen to whatever the suffle plays. and i know that was the main point of it's release, but still sacraficing choice for size is rediculous

Posted by clifton062 in USA on March 6, 2005 at 5:06 PM (PDT)

139

Vanquish, as far as I know, no drivers needed. I just tested with my Shuffle (which I use with iTunes on my Mac) and plugged into a PC running Win XP, and it worked fine. It's just like one of those USB "jumpdrives" or "flash drive" or whatever they are called.

As for speed of transfer.... well, I think that it all depends on if your computer has USB 1.1 or USB 2. If your computer only has USB1.1, well transfer will obviously be verrrrry sloowwwwwww and painful. On the Mac, USB2 is slower than firewire 400, but it's not all that bad considering that you aren't going to be transferring gigs and gigs of data at one time.

I think that the speed difference (if any) between a shuffle and another jumpdrive would be fairly negligible, considering the relatively small amount of data being transferred.

Posted by foobar on March 29, 2005 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

140

canyonblue737 has hit the nail on the head. While I love my older 10gb model, I have found the Shuffle to be the perfect compliment; perfect for work with it's light weight and mobility. Music management through iTunes is much simpler than I had feared and I can see exactly in my randomized playlist where I am in the list just by plugging in the Shuffle for a moment. Workout, workplace, travel, ????, the niche uses are endless. I'd have to think Jeremy is incorrect, too; Apple will sell more of these to experienced users than to new users.

Posted by DrWho in West Hills, CA on March 29, 2005 at 5:40 PM (PDT)

Page 7 of 8 pages « First  <  5 6 7 8 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.