Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

81

I used to think that a screen was a necessity. I also felt like I NEEDED to be able to carry ALL of my music and audio programs... Until Apple reminded me that I wasn't simplifying my life with all of my playing on the computer and getting music and scrolling around wasting battery life, etc. I was complicating my life and time. After all, I just want to listen to the music I love and know so well. So, I am excited to one day get a Shuffle, and make my listening to music a little more sipmle and reduce the weight in my front left pocket! Thinking about this has helped me realize how little I actually use my screen. Plus, being a long distance runner, I would MUCH RATHER carry the shuffle instead of my 4G 20gb iPod. It is just a little too big and its not really a necessity to navigate while I am focusing on the ground beneath my feet and my time/heart rate.

Posted by starperformer in Fort Worth, TX on January 24, 2005 at 12:49 PM (PDT)

82

The iPod shuffle can be used as a Flash drive, yes?

For other iPods, it seems to be necessary to completely erase everything on it to use it as an external harddrive for data. Is the same true for the iPod shuffle? Or can it have data and music on it at the same time.

Posted by bayyar on January 24, 2005 at 1:50 PM (PDT)

83

I would really like to buy but i find some interesting point. I use itunes becuase of my iPod and becuase i like it a lot. This flash player is great because it plays aac. I noticed how apple conveniently left out the arm band. When you factor in the arm band if you are going to run with it you now have to pay 180 for the i gig model the same as some competitors. Funny how that worked out.

Posted by thebraden in 85283 on January 24, 2005 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

84

You know what would be quite cool and revealing, is if you guys also calculated the price per GB it would be for other players. A few hard drive based mp3 players, and a few flahs drives. I would love to see how the others compare.

Posted by M Bargo in Chicago, IL on January 24, 2005 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

85

if you guys also calculated the price per GB it would be for other players

Amazon was having a close-out on the old Archos V2 20GB - I got it for $70 after rebate. I added an 80GB drive for $70 and sold the 20Gb for $30.

Total cost: $110.
Total cost/GB: $1.38/GB

Perfect for the car! I may upgrade it to a 100GB and flog the 80GB soon...

Posted by Demosthenes on January 24, 2005 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

86

Biggest complaint: updating songs from iTunes is SLOW SLOW SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Danyboy on January 25, 2005 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

87

I like the crazil_philly comment about it being interchangable between mac and Widows OS's. This is a big plus for iPod owners. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is Apple's branding. I see the term halo effect used frequently for iTunes and iPod users buying macs but I think this fits into a traditional branding campaign. Not only has iTunes demonstrated itself as a legitimate music sales force but now is a host program for another peripheral (for the more mature computer user smile). Apple has done a great job in showing people how easy their products are to use. For my 2 cents, I have a 60gb and am going to get a 1gb shuffle.

Posted by GiPhoto on January 27, 2005 at 5:22 AM (PDT)

88

I love my iPod shuffle. It's a great supplement to my other iPods because of the simple fact that I can take it where my other iPods fear to travel. Exercising, shoveling snow :(, mowing the grass, you get the idea.

Posted by Jimmy333 on January 27, 2005 at 5:47 PM (PDT)

89

One thing that I don't see mentioned is Apple's branding campaign. The iPod shuffle seems to be another feeder like the iPod and iTunes into its other products. I have seen a lot of people call this the halo effect but I think it has grown into a full branding campaign. They are probably counting on first time users to be impressed by iTunes ease of use and do as many others have and make the switch. Not to mention for those of us with an iPod already, buying another

Posted by GiPhoto on January 27, 2005 at 6:56 PM (PDT)

90

This is a totally mechanical question. The switch at the back of the Shuffle is impossible to move if you don't have fingernails. Too bad I cut them on the day my Shuffle arrived. Anyone else have an issue with this?

Posted by mawmayo on January 28, 2005 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

91

Nice try apple... still not perfect and the internal battery, that's a problem in my opinion. New shuffle is nice'n'compact just not every travel friendly, me i'm lazy carrying any charger is too much.

Much prefer the Samsung alternative. Smaller, more flexible and better sound.

http://www.samsung.com/he/products/mp3player/mp3player/yp_t6z.asp
YP-T6Z

Posted by Stylecode in Hell on January 29, 2005 at 12:02 AM (PDT)

92

Just out of curiosity if the shuffle had included a remote port like on every other model would they be able to use this to create an advanced remote w/ screen similar to the average MD player that can just clip onto a shirt? I'd pay and extra AUD$50 for it!

Posted by DeadDial in Australia on January 29, 2005 at 3:15 AM (PDT)

93

AIFF (Audio Interchange File Format) is not proprietary. Apple may have helped create it, but it's a standard format.

Posted by Xenex in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia on January 29, 2005 at 2:40 PM (PDT)

94

"Features, fun, cool, Apple profit.... all that aside.....I think the $ per gigabyte table is the most revealing...... It puts the shuffle in the same category as a Gucci key chain ..."

Actually, it's not much more than a comparably-sized flash memory stick that doesn't play songs. A Sandisk cruiser 512MB drive lists for $115, but sells for just under $50. 1GB pen drives cost $70-$100.

Posted by gslusher in Eugene, OR on January 30, 2005 at 4:18 AM (PDT)

95

I was wondering and i dont think its been answered. How does the Shuffle work as a pen drive?

I have an old Creative MuVo 64mb and i need a very big upgrade, and this Shuffle seems to be great one, im used to no display ( i honestly dont see how much a 1 line display will help anyway)

I wanted to know if this Shuffle will act more or less like my MuVo, i liked using my as a pen drive to store documents and stuff for school. Will i nee Itunes anytime i want to put mp3's on the thing? or any data? can i put documents on it?

thanks in advanced

Posted by VicRattlehead on January 30, 2005 at 11:11 PM (PDT)

96

After a couple of days with my 1GB (I know I said elsewhere that I wouldn't buy one, but after half-jokingly signing up on the waiting list at the Apple Store, when they called a week later and said that one was available...I couldn't resist the urge), I've come to the conclusion that there's NOTHING 'power user' about the Shuffle, at least in how I understand the term. This device is not much more than an extremely simple gadget that allows a person to listen to music without any real regards to personal control and customization.

Not that this is necessarily a bad thing; I often set my HD iPods on shuffle when I use them, even though the algorithm for determining true 'randomness' on the iPod seems to be tepid at best. The Shuffle is merely a simplified extension of the philosophy. I'll likely use the 1GB for those times its lightness and compactness are needed or desired, but I still wish it had a screen and a real menu system (AND USB 2.0, at the very least); that would've truly made the thing a knockout. As it is, it's only a marginal value leader, IMO, cheap 1GB flashmem capacity notwithstanding.

Posted by flatline response on January 31, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

97

when i first bought my 4g 20gig ipod, i thought it was just amazing. i was so impressed by my new toy... i used it all day long. now - few weeks later - things changed. Though i had my whole music collection in one hand, i didn't know what to listen to. my ipod led me to exagerate listening to music... i got fed up and had regrets about my 300€ 'investment'. the problem was that i just had started to think to much about 'which song play next'. 20gig choice might've been too much to handle. despite i really love ipod design and quality, i sold mine on ebay. actually, i got regrets about that... #### happens! it was pretty hard to let my ipod go.

now i think, the new ipod shuffle just fits me perfectly. the whole concept is great. the shuffle function is just more like what music is all about. and i really don't need 20gig.


PS nobody really needs an ipod wink

Posted by gaillard in Germany / Europe on February 2, 2005 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

98

As an iPod Mini owner and just having picked up a 1 GB Shuffle I feel the two devices complement each other extremely well. I picked up the shuffle to replace my Rio S30 which I wear when I go cycling (something I'd never do with my mini accidents happen ie. broken collar bones) and to use as a flash drive for work. I’ll say for heavy activity it’s great, the lack of a screen is a non-issue when you busy doing other things. The shuffle is like listen to the radio only commercial free and you pick the play list. I think a lot of people will be drawn to the simplicity of the shuffle along with the perceived durability compared to large iPods depending on their needs. I’ll continue to use the Mini at home and longer trips. The shuffle will be in my pocket when I go to work in the morning and on the weekend when I go out riding.

Posted by Jason Lindsay on February 5, 2005 at 10:12 PM (PDT)

99

I'm curious as to the percent of 512mb vs 1gig Shuffle owners.

Posted by milk3pod in chicago, il on February 7, 2005 at 9:33 PM (PDT)

100

"As a workaround, you can tweak your songs' equalization in iTunes, but don't expect to change those settings without using a computer."

Is this new to the Shuffle?

Of all the reviews I've read this is the first I've heard that it's possible to change EQ settings on individual songs in iTunes and have them reflected on (any) iPod.

It's something I've always wanted on my 3G iPod, but was always told it couldn't be done.

Posted by TheTSArt on February 8, 2005 at 10:40 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 8 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.