Apple iPod Socks | iLounge

Reviews

21

If you could buy them for $5 individually, we wouldn't have made that comment, Nagromme. And calling these "custom designed" is akin to calling tube socks "custom designed" for feet.

Nagromme hasn't met an Apple product yet that (s)he felt didn't deserve adulatory praise.

Posted by Demosthenes on December 1, 2004 at 8:04 PM (PDT)

22

There is such a thing as viral marketing. We're beginning to check into it.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 1, 2004 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

23

Isnt heat an issue with these socks?

Posted by The Wozfather on December 1, 2004 at 8:40 PM (PDT)

24

They're custom designed in that they're not the same as already-existing human socks--and so pricing comparison to human socks doesn't make sense, any more than comparing Marware santa cases to non-iPod holiday stockings.

I agree that making people buy 6 will deter many people. But it still comes to $5 each which is not high among iPod cases at all.

Plus, even AS a set, having a daily color choice is a feature. Some want that feature, some don't. I don't! Apple would have more inventory headache if sold separately, but I agree it would make a better product for many buyers. Bundling IS a negative. The unit price on that bundle, however, seems LOW compared to others. That was my point.

As for praising Apple products, I've already said I wouldn't buy this one and linked to what I would :D And I've criticized Apple and their products in VERY harsh terms when I feel it's deserved. I will do so again. The OS X on G3 issue comes to mind. Apple lost that lawsuit and they SHOULD have. People who say Apple was in the right on that invariable don't understand the issue.

And thanks for Googling my name and sharing the link--a fairly childish form of trolling. You'll find from that search that I'm always discussing from a point of reason, whichever side I take, and that I will never flame people or try to paint them as one-sided when they are not. And yes, my position will more often be pro-Apple than not. I switched to Macs for a reason, like it or not, and that's actually a valid choice--one which I use reason, not blind attacks, to support.

Humorously enough, you can find me criticizing Apple on page one of your own Google search, for not updating their QTVR tools for OS X :D

Posted by Nagromme on December 1, 2004 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

25

This review takes these socks way too seriously. I think is absolutely wonderful that the designers at Apple came up with these silly socks. Who else could have made them?

During my recent visit at one of the Apple Stores I looked at the huge amount of iPod cases. They all sucked i.m.h.o. Ugly designs, ugly colours.

When Steve Jobs introduced these iPod socks I coudn't wait ordering them! And I did. Received them a few days ago and they look wonderful. A good choice of colors (reminds me of the Mac OS X label colors). Even the little iPod/Apple labels are designed in six different colors - every other company would have attached standard white labels I guess. Even the box Apple designed for the socks looks great.

It's the perfect gift. They're funny and give a basic protection to your iPod... when you want to navigate you just take the iPod out of its sock. iPods are designed to be touched - not to be covered in some case.

Worth every dollar!!

Found some great pictures on another site:homepage.mac.com/handig/ipodsocks

I guess they will turn into a collectors item soon.

Posted by encoder on December 2, 2004 at 1:33 AM (PDT)

26

I DID think these were a joke at first. Now I'm coming to terms with hooded sweatshirts for iPods! smile

Posted by Nagromme on December 2, 2004 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

27

Indeed, it is so clear what Apple is saying through these socks. People who buy an iPod only to cover it up in a ugly skin will never see how beautiful an iPod is. Like someone else said, most cases are over designed, they want to protect yet they don't protect the whole iPod because they want to use the iPod without pealing off the skin. An iPod needs to be protected when not in use, or when stuffed into your pockets (what most users do). You want to interact with the iPod? Take it out of its sock and SHOW it to everyone who wants to see it and remind yourself of how beautifully they designed the iPod. With this in mind these socks are perfect, they're fun and they come in attractive colours.

One more thing. Since there are so many cases, people might not know that you use an iPod, but the socks, if they catch on, will be as visible as the iPod itself. Keep up the hype ...

Posted by instantypo in Belgium on December 2, 2004 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

28

What I want to know is when are Apple going to release matching beanies? For those me and my iPod moments...

Posted by yujimbo in London on December 2, 2004 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

29

I got my iPod mini a month ago and took no time in buying a "mobile phone sock" for it. These mobile phone accessories are popular here in Thailand, and I found one that could fit my iPod (with slight stretching). I wanted a sock for my iPod because I wanted to protect it from scratching etc. and provide some shock absorption (which it needs; I've already put a dint in the bottom left corner by dropping or knocking it into something somehow). The texture of the fabric also gives you a good grip on your iPod.

If I want to skip songs, I just flick the Hold switch off and press on the corresponding side of the Clickwheel - through the sock - and it goes to the next song. Play/Pause also works through the sock. If I wanna do more than that, I just slip the iPod out of the sock.

I prefer it to the other "skins" etc. on the market. I don't want to feel like my iPod is always wearing a mask, hiding its true, stylish form. At least you can slip the sock on and off easily whenever you want, so you can admire your iPod's design every so often.

My makeshift "iPod sock" was sold for only twenty baht. That's like fifty US cents. Of course, it's got a tear in it now lol, but that's because I'm clumsy.

Posted by tanloveschris in Sisaket, Thailand on December 3, 2004 at 11:05 AM (PDT)

30

PS. I also have a small drawstring bag that I got free with a totally unrelated household product. If I exert a little force, I can change volume through the bag, whose fabric is much thinner than the sock's. But I usually put the iPod in the sock while in the bag, for maximum shock absorption lol. The drawstring just makes it easier to carry.

Posted by tanloveschris in Sisaket, Thailand on December 3, 2004 at 11:54 AM (PDT)

31

I'd also agree with the comment that the review seems to be a bit overly serious. The idea behind these is simple -- lots of people want a simple sleeve to toss their naked iPods into when they transport them to avoid getting them scrathed. They don't want a more protective skin or case because they don't have a need for it, and this is a simple solution.

I'm that person. As I'm not using my iPod in a more aggresive/dangerous environment, a skin or case doesn't fit my needs -- I just needed something to protect it from getting scrathed while in my bag. That said, I'd also agree with the comment that the Australian-made "foofpod" bags are nicer. Same concept, but sturdier material and more fabric choices (and at about $15, with shipping included from Australia, not a bad price).

Posted by JimmyJ on December 3, 2004 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

32

Sorry, I don't care if they're for an iPod or not. I consider my FEET more valuable than my iPod, and I WON'T pay $10 for a pair of socks for them!

However, if Apple makes a set out of Gore-Tex...

Posted by flatline response on December 3, 2004 at 11:02 PM (PDT)

33

they would be fine for people who dont change thier music or playlists much

Posted by snowboogiethunder on December 4, 2004 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

34

Thanks for the comments. Regarding whether the review was "serious," as I'm sure you already know, we take all product reviews seriously and wouldn't give a product a pass just because it carries the Apple name. To the contrary, we think that any product bearing Apple's name carries greater expectations of design and quality than the average product.

We've seen iPod cases from almost every manufacturer in the world, and few cases (save the people's socks we've seen labeled as iPod cases on eBay) are this simplistic. Even if they were being sold in Apple's own stores, I'd venture to guess that if Apple's name wasn't on them, no one here would be considering purchasing a six-set of socks for $30. Would you?

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 4, 2004 at 10:35 PM (PDT)

35

I guess I would have bought them if the design and the colours would have been the same... but then again I also buy $20 socks for my feet.

But I guess no other company would have made them.

The nice thing with the iPod Socks is they look like they belong to the iPod - same simple design-mentality (even without the iPod/Apple-label). Most other cases are trying to design a new iPod-look.

Posted by encoder on December 5, 2004 at 6:50 AM (PDT)

36

i like them, im definetley gonna get some...
xmas around the corner... 5 presents for mates with iPods..... :D

Dave

Posted by GTSDave in Australia, Melb on December 5, 2004 at 8:51 PM (PDT)

37

I saw the iPod Socks on Apple's website and said to my self, it's nothing but overpriced socks.I was recently was given iPod Socks by my mom.They are a convient slip-on case, but the only place to put your headphones is around the case, which detracts from the look of the case.

Posted by adidas10254 on December 7, 2004 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

38

these socks are just stupid! 29$ of stupidity smile

Posted by cabo on December 8, 2004 at 7:50 AM (PDT)

39

Cases need to be reviewed not to other cases but for their primary target market and use.

The socks are for people who keep their iPods in three places:

In a bag.
In a pocket.
In your hand.

The socks are perfect for these. And if you are charging or have it on a table you can use the sock as an "iPod mat."

For what it is these socks are perfect. And if you are complaining about the price just split a box with a friend allright?

Posted by minty on December 10, 2004 at 7:17 PM (PDT)

40

Just wondoring,when you're not using it for your iPod - Does it fit a foot?Although you are going to get a few stares.

Anyway ,product is pointless,aimless and a waste of money,it can be made at home or even just buy a nice colourful sock.

Just becuase the Apple Logo is no a tiny label on the side I do not find it a good enough reason to buy it.

(I wonder if it is comfortable....)

TheCritic

Posted by TheCritic in Mumbai,India. on December 14, 2004 at 2:53 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.