Apple iPod Socks | iLounge

Reviews

41

These socks are typical for Apple's spirit, a little whimsy now and again. Engineering types who fuss over maximum utility and other thrilling topics won't get it. They never have.

They are fun, and function well enough. I've ordered a pack because they are different and will help keep the scratches away. If i need to use the controls. I'll slip it out. Duh!

Why buy cheap looking suedo black phone cases, with a nasty poly-plastic controls window to use with a beautifully designed peace of kit. it's like buying a bolt-on body kit for a brand new BMW.

Posted by EWR in Norway on December 14, 2004 at 11:56 AM (PDT)

42

OK, to underline the silliness of comparing these to real socks meant for people's feet, how many times do the products with the word "glove" in the name get compared to real gloves meant for human hands?

For that matter, the word "jacket" is used a lot to describe iPod cases. How many of the ipodlounge reviews compare the price of the ipod jacket to the price of a windbreaker for a person?

Come on now. Let's be fair! Look at this list:

Groove Jacket
MARWARE Sportsuit Sleeve
iGlove
Power Support Crystal Jacket
DLo Jam Jacket
Power Support Silicone Jacket

There are more, but this sampling begs the question: Where in the reviews do you hold the manufacturer to a pricing comparison with articles of human clothing that have the same general names?

These are a great product for those of us who don't want our iPod in a case that hides its beauty, but want something to transport it in a pocket. Yes, they are a tad overpriced and I would prefer to be able to buy a two-pack instead of a rainbow multi-pack, but $5 per sock isn't an oppressive price.

Jeez. Some of you guys pay $300 for ear-buds! Paying $5 per iPod sock is pretty reasonable!

I think you're griping because they are an Apple idea, and a pretty good one, that other manufacturers just failed to market properly.

Apple should include one iPod Sock with every new iPod, though.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on December 17, 2004 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

43

do the apple ipod socks shrink in the wash?
do they develop holes?
they must lose shape at some point.

has anyone used one for a good length of time?

just interested...

had my own foofpod in my pocket for over 18 weeks now.

dirtymouse (Beta tester of the foofpod)
http://foofpod.com

Posted by dirtymouse in sydney on December 20, 2004 at 3:58 AM (PDT)

44

Curious about the usefulness of the iPod socks, I thought I'd try a cheaper way... I went to the toddler section of the store and bought some toddler socks!

The socks in question are Fisher Price Toddler Socks, which includes 8 PAIR for only $6.99 a pack. That's 16 socks! I chose shoe size 3-8 1/2 (or sock size 5-6 1/2.)

This isn't such a stupid idea! They protect the iPod very well, fit snugly and won't scratch or damage the iPod with their cottony goodness. They come in various colors: Purple, white, pink, orange, and blue. They look good, and they do the job.

Apple's got something here! If these Fisher Price toddler socks didn't have the bend in their shape to accomodate a foot, they'd be perfect. As it is, they're near-perfect. I can even operate the iPod through the sock!

If you want to give the iPod socks a try, but can't justify the Apple price, then run down to your local discout store and buy a pack of toddler socks! It's a great, cheap choice!

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on December 21, 2004 at 7:28 PM (PDT)

45

(Oops... Continued...)

These are not a replacement for actual iPod socks, since the real deal is cut and sewn in the shape of an iPod and these are in the shape of a baby's foot, but they are a "baby step" into trying the iPod socks.

I will definitely be buying some iPod socks now. If they improve upon the human socks for storing an iPod, they've got to be great!

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on December 21, 2004 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

46

My ipod is delighted with its cozy socks. It was shivering... now, if I only had a sweater for my ibook...

Posted by peainthepod on December 22, 2004 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

47

I think people are being a little overly critical of the iPod socks. As an industrial design student, i can tell you exactly what the design team was thinking when they designed the socks.

First off, the iPod is beautiful. I think we can all agree that it is without a doubt the best looking mp3 player ever made. However, 95% of iPod cases look like crap. I know you all might be proud of your case that lets you use the controls and screen, but they completley ruin the iPod asthetic. Personally, i think the best iPod case is the one apple supplied with my 2g iPod, it is stylish and while you cant use the controls (boohoo) it doesnt really bother me to slip it out of the case. What Apple's designers were thinking was to develop a case the doesnt take away from the asthetic, and can be used with any version of the iPod. When they are looked at from a design perspective, the iPod socks are an elegant yet whimsical solution to the problem of a universal ipod case.

I've also seen alot of people complain about the price...I think people are missing the point and the fact that its not one case for 30 bucks, its six. personally, I'm taking the grey and orange for myself, my friend will get the pink and baby blue (they will go well with her pink mini) and my roomate is gonna get the green and navy (ge's got a green mini).

so thats 2 cases for each of us, and its a pretty good deal.

Posted by dstreelm in Blacksburg, VA on December 23, 2004 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

48

I'm in the "I like them" camp here... I looked at pretty much all the 'proper' cases I could find, but rejected them all on the grounds that they were ugly or too bulky.

Then I got the socks for Christmas - and I think they're great - they protect the iPod without adding any real weight or size to it. I just slip it out of the sock to use it. Plus of course I've got spares for when I wear holes in them grin

Posted by miPrecioussss... on December 28, 2004 at 4:23 PM (PDT)

49

I'm in the "I like them" camp here... I looked at pretty much all the 'proper' cases I could find, but rejected them all on the grounds that they were ugly or too bulky.

Then I got the socks for Christmas - and I think they're great - they protect the iPod without adding any real weight or size to it. I just slip it out of the sock to use it. Plus of course I've got spares for when I wear holes in them grin

Posted by miPrecioussss... on December 28, 2004 at 4:23 PM (PDT)

50

What this shows is apple's dominance in the marketing catagory. They can put their logo on anything (including socks), charge many many times its value and people will still buy them. This is probally the best (or worst depending on your perspective) marketing ploy I have ever seen. Socks don't cost over 20 cents to make, and yet apple charges $30 for a pack of 5 - think of the amazing profit margin...98 percent?

Posted by booksacool1 on December 29, 2004 at 1:13 AM (PDT)

51

hmm... i know they fit all ipod models... but how well does it fit the mini? any chance of it falling out? and how thick are they really (what could they protect against)
i have inmotion speakers and a dock... no matter what anyone says the iSkin is a pain to get on and off.. i want something that will protect it really well but that comes off easily.. (marware sportsuit sleeve is a posibility) .. so any suggestions? there are so many options...

Posted by hobbes on December 29, 2004 at 11:05 AM (PDT)

52

I just bought a box today for several reasons: 1) I needed a case for my 20gb 2nd gen ipod (pretty hard to find these days),
2) I'm splitting the them up with a female friend who agreed to take the pink, orange and purple ones, and 3) now that Christmas is over, it looks like many people returned them to the Apple Store, because I bought them "Refreshed" for $19.95, thus reducing them to less than $4 each. I even joked with the woman behind the counter, asking if "refreshed" meant that they were just washed. I don't think she got it. Other slip cases that I have had leave long scratch lines in the face of the ipod; this is even more noticeable on the black face of the U2 ipod. These socks don't seem like they will do that. Anyway, I think they are just like most Apple products: simple, elegant and easy to use. For the cynical of you out there, lighten up! Don't buy them if you don't like them. And look at the bright side - if they were made by Microsoft, you would probably need a "patch" in a few months!

Posted by prmadison in Pennsylvania on December 29, 2004 at 12:57 PM (PDT)

53

Got mine today. I like them and thats all that matters

There are alot smaller then what i thought they would be

Posted by swherdman in Sydney on December 29, 2004 at 7:58 PM (PDT)

54

I don't know what all the fus about the socks is about. People, it's a fun novelty that'll die away in a month! Besides, it's not really meant to be a protective case. If I bought one, I'd use it to keep my iPod warm on cold days. Of course, with the preposterously high price tag, I would never buy it.

-Strongbad

P.S. I ain't hatin, I'm just spewing my worthless opinion raspberry.

Posted by Strong Bad in Denver on December 31, 2004 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

55

Apple jumps the shark with the iPod socks.

Posted by MeatRocket in Philly on January 2, 2005 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

56

I got mine already. I highly recommend them.

Posted by iMax in Palo Alto, CA on January 3, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

57

And no the mini doesnt fall out. They fit like gloves on the iPod models that I have tried so far (4G, mini).

Posted by iMax in Palo Alto, CA on January 3, 2005 at 7:26 AM (PDT)

58

OK I know Mac stuff is gay, and iPod stuff is even gayer. But this is beyond Homo, Apple should be investigated for ripping off cult members under the influence of Steve Jobs Homo hormones.

I will use my used dirty socks instead.

ashamed to be an owner of an iPod. Not Homo

Posted by HomoSapian on January 7, 2005 at 12:57 AM (PDT)

59

SOCKS ROCK! I poured over all the other cases on the market, read all the reviews, even bought a marware case, and promptly returned it because it was too bulky. The SOCKS are the only reasonable alternative - they don't add weight, they look good, and the have as much personality of the iPod itself, which no other case has.

Posted by mikepod on January 14, 2005 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

60

Why don't i take a dirty sock, sell it for 29 bucks, and call it an iPOD accessory?

Posted by vinny151 on January 29, 2005 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.