Apple iPod touch (8GB/16GB/32GB) | iLounge

Reviews

1

So close. So very close. I can understand the need to stick with flash memory, but sixteen gigs is just not enough for me. If they can make the jump to thirty-two next year, I'm in. (a bluetooth syncing feature would be nice, too. I'm sooooo sick of those damn white docks. Actually...I'm just sick of iPod docks multiplying like cockroaches..)
Truth be told though, I full well expect them to merge the iPod-touch and iPhone and just go back to calling it the iPod again. I see this as a similar situation to the iPod-photo thing. I think future models will have the ability to work as a phone if you want to pick up that feature.
Seriously. The line between iPod and iPhone is starting to get a bit hazy.

Posted by MirandaKali in D.C. on September 5, 2007 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

2

What about lyrics???

Posted by misaelt in Mexico on September 5, 2007 at 1:41 PM (PDT)

3

My heart fell when I saw that it was available in 8 and 16 gb. Literally fell. Then I thought...OOO...maybe this is actually going to be the 'new iphone', and they'd introduce a *thicker* HDD ipod touch.

But, alas...

Posted by OnlyShawn on September 5, 2007 at 2:43 PM (PDT)

4

Two major things they could improve on the iPod Touch:

1)It needs at least 30 Gb of memory (mentioned before), 2) Text messaging - my kids never "talk" on their cellphones unless I call them. They only text message their friends.

Posted by groll on September 5, 2007 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

5

Ya i was paying attention to engadgets live blog of the whole event and when they first said "sorry folks no wide screen ipod" my heart sank, and then I refreshed the screen and there it was the thing I had waited for but in 8 and 16gb SIZES??? wtf Honestly I have upgraded my iPod every time a new one has been released mostly because its followed my trend in the amount of music I have but this is disappointing 16 gb isn't even 1/4 of my music and having a slow cover flow Classic Ipod isn't very appealing either...a very confusing day for the life of an iPod fanboy.

Posted by Benballa in Vermont on September 5, 2007 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

6

Agreed OnlyShawn. A real bummer since my current iPod is home to about 45Gb of music and another 10 or 15Gb of video. I want this form-factor/interface so bad, but it does me absolutely no good in less than 80 Gb. I was already planning how to convince my wife to get me this for Christmas when I realized it wouldn't be available in my size.

Posted by caldjeff on September 5, 2007 at 3:15 PM (PDT)

7

misaelt...you should check out corripio, if you're on a mac, for lyrics.

Posted by OnlyShawn on September 5, 2007 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

8

One (important) question:

Can the iPod touch actually edit the Calendar and/or Contacts … or is it a view-only-device?

Posted by parlour on September 5, 2007 at 3:29 PM (PDT)

9

I totally agree with you guys, 16GB though a great size for some things, is just a deal-breaker for me, to be honest, the absolute lowest I could see myself going is 32GB. So, maybe next year. And what's the deal with no bluetooth? You have wifi in there, why no bluetooth, see ya next year apple, guess I'm going to have to keep my 80GB til then, I was really hoping to trade-up.

Posted by ~ruindpzzle in san diego, CA on September 5, 2007 at 3:31 PM (PDT)

10

i don't really understand the disappointment. i have around 70GB of audio and 30GB of video, but i'm constantly frustrated by navigating the huge list of artists and albums this music generates on my iPod.

Is anyone really going to listen to a month's worth of music while away from their home computer?

Posted by JoshSpazJosh on September 5, 2007 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

11

Jeremy, you write there are two new features in the iPod Touch - video out ot a TV and the ability to add storage. If that is true, that would be big! However, the iPod Touch specs do not mention any of this. Could you please tell us more? Thanks.

Posted by THX1965 on September 5, 2007 at 4:28 PM (PDT)

12

As soon as the iphone came out I knew something like this was in the pipeline. I personally don`t need a new DAP but I look at this as a more of a PDA with media talents. As far as buying one? I`m in! with all those iphone homebrew apps, and hacks (osx unix terminal app, etc) I can/will defenitely find this useful outside of it`s regular media functions (remote shell login without firing up my MBP is cool all in itself) think of it this way...... Newton reborn!

Posted by drmacenstein on September 5, 2007 at 4:59 PM (PDT)

13

The point is not listening to a month's worth of music, but having everything available to you - if you happen to fancy listening to a particular album when you're out (as I sometimes do after hearing something on shuffle) you're stuck.

I was really hoping for 80-100 Gb for the Touch - will have to stick with my Mini now till Apple see sense.

Posted by Phil B on September 6, 2007 at 3:42 AM (PDT)

14

josh...phil nailed it. Problem is, I don't know what sort of situation I'm going to be in. If i'm at work, at my desk, I'd like to listen to full random, having every single song available. If I'm going to have to be out of the office, I want to be able to listen to some podcasts, maybe even a specific podcast that i've heard before.

Then there's audiobooks....

16gb just doesn't give me the flexibility that I appreciate, which is why i've only ever had a full size ipod. Many people, apparently, are fine with a nano, but I'll never own one as a primary player. And, for the price and the size, the touch would have to be a primary player. I'll drop $150 on a nano if I keep up with this new running thing I'm doing, but never the premium price for the larger touch.

Posted by OnlyShawn on September 6, 2007 at 4:24 AM (PDT)

15

OnlyShawn, thanks for the advice. I should have asked: Does the new iPod touch display the lyrics for the song playing? For me, it's a major selling point.

Posted by misaelt in Mexico on September 6, 2007 at 3:34 PM (PDT)

16

There is NO WAY that the iPod touch has "the option of extra storage capacity". If so, how? where? No where on the Apple site does it mention being expandable. Nor is there a place for expansion when you view the iPod touch in 360. I wish it WAS though! Being only 16GB is a deal breaker for me. I was hoping to replace my 60GB iPod with the touch, but this would be a downgrade. C'mon Apple, put a friggin hard drive in it! I don't care if it's thicker!

Posted by jasonkessel on September 6, 2007 at 4:30 PM (PDT)

17

This idea that 16GB is too little I think marks us ipod users a bit jaded. My 1G ipod 5GB, My 3G 10 GB. Even back then I had over 60 GB of music on my computer but I was able to cope with the small storage capacity. The disappointing thing to me about is the premium price for the 16 GB, ouch! but alas I did go to the Apple web store and placed my order. I guess I will really have to get creative with my smart play list.

Posted by sleepy2 on September 6, 2007 at 5:16 PM (PDT)

18

Going back to the idea of add on storage for an iTouch. Maybe our friends out there making all of the hacks could figure out a way to use the dock connector to maybe piggyback on an external hard drive or maybe another iPod. How about it guys up for the challenge?

Posted by sleepy2 on September 6, 2007 at 5:29 PM (PDT)

19

can anyone please respond to the option of extra storage capacity mentioned on the review??? and how about the posibility of streaming music to an airport express base station? that would be more than enough for me to purchase this sucker. oh and what about writing an email? is this able? i think the rest is pretty much clear to all of us. please respond asap!

Posted by brutus_83 on September 6, 2007 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

20

anyone know if the ipodT can stream music over your wireless network to your home stereo or powered speakers (AirPort Express Base Station with AirTunes)?????

Posted by brutus_83 on September 6, 2007 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.