Apple iPod touch (8GB/16GB/32GB) | iLounge

Reviews

21

The extra storage capacity comment was in reference to having 8GB just like the iPhone or the additional 8GB in the 16GB iPod touch. Nothing was suggested or implied about being able to use memory cards or other media to increase the storage capability.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on September 6, 2007 at 7:06 PM (PDT)

22

The "extra storage" capacity is a reference to how the iPod touch has a higher storage capacity than the iPhone.

Posted by mattt. on September 6, 2007 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

23

Ha, didn't see the comment above me..

Posted by mattt. on September 6, 2007 at 7:34 PM (PDT)

24

What is the little grey peice in the back top left-hand corner?

Posted by KaChVi on September 6, 2007 at 8:17 PM (PDT)

25

ehh, it works for me. I'll keep my 60 gig ipod for my music in the car and at home, but on the go I'll carry around the touch cause it's bad a$$ and I've been sucked into the Ipod brain washing black hole because Apple has a stranglehold on the teenager's mind, WHEN CAN I AFFORD MY MACBOOK, WHEN? WHEN!?!

Posted by auburnguy in ga on September 6, 2007 at 8:45 PM (PDT)

26

lol i can really sympathise with your position auburnguy....for someone who's generally reasonable and rational (I think), I'm shocking when it comes to iPods and apple gadgets....my girlfriend suggested that as I already own two iPods and am a poor student, perhaps there would be better things to spend my hard earned on....I really don't like the fact that it's only 16GB for now, but just look at it....so very cool....maybe I can hold out until January and hopefully they'll upgrade to 32GB then...optimistic I know.

Posted by Nuke666 in Melbourne, Austalia on September 6, 2007 at 10:50 PM (PDT)

27

the dock and the headphones port are the same as the 5 generation ipod?

Posted by gonzalo on September 7, 2007 at 2:50 AM (PDT)

28

I was at first not going to get the touch, given that my library is much bigger than 16 GB, but then my library is also bigger than 32 GB, and that doesn't count video and such, so even a 32 GB iPod touch would be too small. In the end there's just too much compelling about the thing that I've decided I'm willing to do some music shuffling back and forth. I put in my pre-order for a 16 GB model. I'd have to shuffle even with a 32 GB touch, so I figured I'd jump in now anyway. A 64 GB touch seems a long way off and by then I might even need more capacity than that since I'm a dedicated emusic subscriber. I don't think we'll ever see a hard drive based iPod touch, so there's no point in waiting for that.

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on September 7, 2007 at 11:12 AM (PDT)

29

"Truth be told though, I full well expect them to merge the iPod-touch and iPhone and just go back to calling it the iPod again. I see this as a similar situation to the iPod-photo thing. I think future models will have the ability to work as a phone if you want to pick up that feature.
Seriously. The line between iPod and iPhone is starting to get a bit hazy."

I don't think that'll happen until the deal with AT&T ends and people are allowed to choose to put their current cell phone plans on the iPhone. I don't know if that situation could every be realized, but until it does, it's doubtful the two lines will merge.

When the iPhone does expand to enough storage capaciy to suit my needs, I'll probably get one.

Posted by manders4000 on September 8, 2007 at 10:29 AM (PDT)

30

I have a Western Digital World Book HDD at home on my network. It contains all my files (music, photos,video,etc.) and I can access all of them from any computer I choose that has internet access. I am wondering if I would be able to do this with an ipod Touch? This would make its' storage size irrelivent. It would also make this one great product but I wonder if Apple will make it so you can only download files from ITMS and lock out any other way to download files.

Posted by gear on September 8, 2007 at 1:49 PM (PDT)

31

For me, the biggest disappointment with the Touch is no external speaker. The iPhone has one and while the speaker sucked for music, it was great for watching video in bed and not needing headphones. But the Touch appears speakerless. I'm not sure what Apple's aversion to external speakers is, especially on their video units.

Posted by Dale Reeck on September 8, 2007 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

32

I was NOT going to get an iPod touch. I was in the "16 GB is too small" crowd... and then I saw one.

Long story made short: I bought it.

Now, I had an 8 GB nano before this, so to me 16GB is a nice upgrade. I can't complain at all. And once you mess with the interface, the old way seems clunky.

My advice? DO NOT USE AN IPOD TOUCH if you want to maintain your "I won't buy one" stance!!! It's too nice to resist!

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on September 14, 2007 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

33

*sigh* maybe next year

Posted by Toleran on September 16, 2007 at 5:15 PM (PDT)

34

Can ANYONE think of a reason why they used an inferior screen? I mean...I just don't get it. I really, really don't.

Wilder, I played with one and my only thought was "No way am I spending this much for this little."

Excellent review, BTW. Very nicely done, Jeremy.

Posted by malren on September 16, 2007 at 5:36 PM (PDT)

35

OK, that cuts it. When iLounge gives this thing a limited recommendation, I'm done even considering it. Hope this thing gets better with age, but til then I'll enjoy my tiny little video nano.

Posted by Mystic Tuna on September 16, 2007 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

36

Well, this review just cemented my thoughts on this latest generations release. The only decent product was the nano. Apple has removed themselves from the normal everyday user and will only redeem themselves their products can be used the way normal people use them, not the way Jobs and his minions use them.

Posted by sjhilbel in West Michigan on September 16, 2007 at 7:30 PM (PDT)

37

Well, I've come to regret my purchase. The screen has the well-known "negative black" problem, and it makes some videos unwatchable.

I'm considering whether I want to go with an iPod classic, or wait and get an updated iPod touch.

We shall see.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on September 16, 2007 at 7:51 PM (PDT)

38

im a bit confused here, and please corect me if im wrong, how many songs can anyone listen to in a day? also, how many movies or videos can anyone watch in a day? i dont believe "storing" every song and movie you have is the idea with the ipod touch. this is a device that can transport a great deal of media for you to listen to or watch when you would like. its not possible for anyone to listen to 80gb of music in a year let alone a few days or weeks. store your music and movies on your home computer, load any of them you would like to watch or listen to in a given time and off you go. i have a 2gb ipod nano first gen and i have no problem with the amount of songs it can hold at one time. an 8gb touch is more than perfect for me. just a thought.

Posted by mscmkr on September 16, 2007 at 9:03 PM (PDT)

39

I totally understand, Wilder K Wight, poster of comment 32. You said: " My advice? DO NOT USE AN IPOD TOUCH if you want to maintain your "I won't buy one" stance!!! It's too nice to resist!" I agree.

That said, there are legitimate problems, like the lack of a speaker, and the 14.1 GB actual storage space of even the largest Touch currently available.

This is a comprehensive review that supports its B- rating convincingly, but I wonder whether more emphasis should have been put on the interface. To me, the device seems pretty revolutionary merely because of the interface and the thinness. The iPhone is certainly more decked out, but comes with a mandatory $60 a month price tag, and you have to go with AT&T. Plus, could the reviews address what kind of radiation you get from using the iPhone? In ten years, when far more people develop brain cancer because of using cell phones, we'll wonder why iLounge didn't warn us, and recommend the iPod Touch as a safer alternative.

Posted by james000 on September 16, 2007 at 9:40 PM (PDT)

40

Regarding the screen, I believe as do others around the Internet that later model iPhones have the same screen or a very similar one. My iPhone has such a screen -- blacks are inverted. I have a "7" screen.

As I noted elsewhere, a good test video is "Someone to Love" by Fountains of Wayne, which you can watch for free via the YouTube application. Fast forward to the last 30-40 seconds -- you'll know immediately.

Posted by technolawyer3 on September 16, 2007 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.