Apple Computer iPod USB Power Adapter | iLounge

Reviews

1

Seems like a fairly needless review to me...

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on February 20, 2005 at 5:12 PM (PDT)

2

Uhm, Couldn't we have a review that talked about charging and the speed of charging with iPod photo, and iPod?

Posted by tomo_kun on February 20, 2005 at 5:36 PM (PDT)

3

Is there any way to recharge a 3G iPod using USB? That'd really be useful.......... since there are so many USB power-outs these days, but rarely a firewire one. wink

Posted by K Nakamura on February 20, 2005 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

4

As Apple's own pages note, the 4G iPod charges 100% in 4 hours. Not surprisingly, the USB Power Adapter took 3 hours and 40 minutes to recharge a fully drained 4G iPod. Nothing magical there.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 20, 2005 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

5

I suppose that if they ever were to upgrade the firmware of the iPod shuffle, then you would need one of these to complete the process?

Posted by Magic Rabbits in Aberdeen, Scotland on February 20, 2005 at 10:13 PM (PDT)

6

How is it possible that this usb charger works with a 3G ipod when usb charging from a computer is not possible? As K Nakamura suggests this would be infinately more useful.

Posted by andreh on February 21, 2005 at 2:47 AM (PDT)

7

mmm surely the cheapest option is to buy a USB mains powered hub for at least half the price and plug that into the mains for recharging your iPod shuffle on the road. It's slightly more bulky but most people can live with that and the price.

Posted by mac daddy in United Kingdom on February 21, 2005 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

8

usb charging from a computer is not possible

USB charging is possible. My 2-year-old Archos charges (slowly!) through its USB port when it's attached.

Posted by Demosthenes on February 21, 2005 at 6:19 AM (PDT)

9

I like the AirPort Express-as-charger plan smile

Posted by Nagromme on February 21, 2005 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

10

i bought a similar product for $4.50. its made by zip-linq. it also puts the shuffle flush with the wall instead of sticking out purpendicularly.

Posted by zip22 on February 21, 2005 at 10:11 AM (PDT)

11

It looks so big.

Apple should have made something smaller than the shuffle.

Posted by ALDI on February 21, 2005 at 9:28 PM (PDT)

12

I seem to be unable to charge my shuffle with this. When I plug the shuffle in to the power adaptor (and the power adaptor to a wall socket), the green light flashes for a couple of seconds and then I don't get any amber light to indicate charging. Is this normal?

Posted by malau in Singapore on February 22, 2005 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

13

Apple should make their items like this cheaper or add more feaures, like include a shuffle stand or cable, or even have a usb AND firewire duo version. just my 2cents.

Posted by Andrew Stewart in Newcastle, Australia on February 23, 2005 at 1:52 AM (PDT)

14

I had no idea the airport could charge it. pretty neato. can it play the music from the shuffle or load music to the shufle from the airport?

Posted by tumblingwall in u.s. on February 26, 2005 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

15

Would this work:

take a firewire charger that came with an original ipod and get an adapter to convert the opening from firewire to USB.

I had to go get an adapter or extender to be able to charge or connect my shuffle to the side of my monitor. There were lots of adapters there to transform a USB into an XXX.

So you would have the charger in the wall, an adapter out the back of that changing it from firewire to USB and then plug the shuffle into that.

I apologize for not being able to word my explanation better. I can picture it, I just can't describe it.

Posted by amc in Ohio on February 27, 2005 at 4:18 PM (PDT)

16

ALDI is very right, Apple should have made something more "Apple-like" somethig smaller, and at least less pricey!

Posted by Haino in Germany on March 11, 2005 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

17

Yeah AMC, I'm sure someone will release a suitable cheap converter at some point. It just needs the power pins routed from a USB male plug to a Firewire female socket.

Will be handy for those of us with a firewire adapter already.

Posted by charlie12 on March 18, 2005 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

18

wow I had no idea it did this; this is awesome. too bad it had the "do not disconnect" screen when it's plugged in, otherwise it might be possible to use the jack as an audio-out port. I heard that it's in the "do not disconnect" phase because it's in disk mode, though. I think it may be possible to find the iPod on the local network. If you can, who knows? Maybe you can load songs onto it or sync it while it's plugged into your airport express. That would really make airport express live up to its claim that you'll live wirelessly, 'cause I definitely have a white cord coming out of my iBook.

Posted by jmaurand on May 10, 2005 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

19

Can the USB 2.0 cable hook up to this and charge an 2G ipod mini?

Posted by jesus234 on June 21, 2005 at 7:17 PM (PDT)

20

If i bought this adapter from a uk website (eg amazon.co.uk) would it come with a uk plug. I know that if I bought it from America I would need a travel pack.

Any helped valued,
Thanks,
Matt.

Posted by martfun on June 25, 2005 at 3:08 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.