Belkin Auto Kit | iLounge

Reviews

21

Thank you for your suggestions. I am willing to try anything!!

Posted by Andrea on October 16, 2003 at 4:09 PM (PDT)

22

If you use a logjam kit to connect your ipod thru your cd changer port does that mean that you can no longer use your cd changer?

Posted by phishrmn21 on October 22, 2003 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

23

Does anyone know the voltage and maximum current or power requirements for the charger? I want to mount it behind my dash with a fuse protected switch to turn it on and off.

Posted by Will on October 23, 2003 at 8:58 AM (PDT)

24

i have an 02 audi, tried the fm transmitter, and its horrible. What is the best way to get the clearest playback for my car. Would it be through an a/v input. If so whats the best way to achieve this. thnks

Posted by jim on November 14, 2003 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

25

Just bought one of these Belkin auto kits and got a Aux adpater for my factory volvo head unit. When I plug the mini jack into the Belkin I lose alot of sound quality(Mids and Bass), but if I plug right into the ipod, it sounds great...any advice. There is a HUGE sound difference from the 2. Plugging into the Belkin, is really unexceptable to my ear.

Don't want to spend money on the ground loop patch if this really does clear it up 100%.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Posted by Yo Han on November 17, 2003 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

26

oh...by the way. The Aux adapter I purchased that plugged rt into my headunit's CD changer input and has RCA outputs was made by GlitzSafe, they make them for alot of factory headunits. Ran bout 80-90 bucks. Cleanest connection you can make, and took all of about 5 minites to install. You do need to tap a hot wire tho.

Only place i found to have these in stock is below if anyone is interested.

http://shop.store.yahoo.com/xmfanstore/blauxad.html

Posted by Yo Han on November 17, 2003 at 5:40 PM (PDT)

27

this unit has crappy output that can yield distortion even out of it's line out. better alternatives would be the SiK cable or the Monster iCharger for Dock iPod.

Posted by Mediahound on December 30, 2003 at 7:41 PM (PDT)

28

So this Belkin unit does not use the actual line-out of the dock connector?

That's crazy! What is the point? (or am I wrong?)

I imagine this would give better sound quality as it uses the line out, this should reduce any buzzing/interference.

http://store.sik.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=SS&Product_Code=03-1004

Rich

Posted by Rich on February 16, 2004 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

29

Hi guys. I have a quick question. Where are you getting these ipod holders that are shaped like a snake? Also wher can i get the aux cd converter for a nissan maxima bose headunit?

Posted by John on March 6, 2004 at 10:55 PM (PDT)

30

I bought one of these the day I bought my iPod. I love the thing. Works great (even thought I do have a slight hum when I hit 4k RPM). I'm going to get that Radio Shack GLI next chance I get. Otherwise, EVERYTHING is crystal clear coming out of my iPod into my car's stereo system.

I did the same thing the reviewer did too.. I didn't realize I had the volume cranked on the adapter, and I nearly lost my hearing! It sounded clear, but it was L-O-U-D!.

I've got my iPod attached to my Alpine CVA-1005 based NAV system (through the AUX-1 input) in my Acura RSX Type-S. My system consists of the aforementioned head unit, 4x Infinity 625 reference speakers, 2x JBL tweeters, 1x 10" JBL W6 subwoofer, and an Alpine 5-channel amp. I also have a Belkin TuneDock that I modified to hold my iPod while it's in my 3G iVod case.

To answer Jiggy's question, just plug in the remote control. It doesn't matter if you have headphones attached to the remote or not. It'll work just the same. I use mine every day during my commute to work, and it works every time. I clip it to my seat belt for easy access.

Posted by Ballistyx on April 29, 2004 at 8:04 PM (PDT)

31

This is the exact thing I wanted. The Belkin Auto Kit is so great because it by-passes all that iPod circutry while the dock output allows for high-fidelity audio while syncing the iPod. I'm buying a car mounter that's is in the pictures. Hopefully it will work the way I want it to. I bought the RadioShack GLI straight up and it has worked great. After dealing with messey FM Transmittors and fake line-in solutions, this is the very thing every iPod owner should buy. 5 out of 5 stars.

Posted by Ryan on May 9, 2004 at 11:45 AM (PDT)

32

I've owned the Belkin adapter for a while now too, and love the quality of construction. So far, I'm stuck getting it hooked up via "line in" to my car stereo though. I have a 2001 Mitusbishi Montero Sport, and I've struck out trying to find anyone making adapters that add a line input to Mistubishi car stereos.

I currently use an iTrip FM transmitter, and my experience has been, it's *no substitute* for directly connecting up an iPod to a stereo. On the other hand, you can make it work somewhat acceptably well if you do a couple things. First, lower your car's antenna, if that's an option! If you reduce the ability of your stereo to receive FM stations, it will do much better with the weak signal coming from the iTrip. Second, in most vehicles, I find the iTrip works best if you can get the iPod placed right next to or beneath the stereo head unit. Cars with "pockets" below the stereo are perfect for this. Put your iPod in the pocket.

Also, I haven't tried this yet, but I found a post on another message base one time where a guy claims the iTrip can be "boosted" to work much better if you cut an appropriately sized piece of wire hanger and attach it to the iTrip. (He had it all figured out, but I believe it was optimally around 18" of wire to 21" of wire, depending on how far up the FM dial you planned to broadcast at.) I still intend to try this sometime, just for the sake of experimentation. If it really works, that means there might be a market for a "clip-on" plastic covered antenna with a slider of some sort on it to change the length of it to the proper, optimal lengths for the frequency ranges you're using! Might be a little unweildly, but I could picture a way to make something like this look decent and compliment the iPod/iTrip combo.

Posted by Tom Wyrick on May 16, 2004 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

33

I have two of these for my two vehicles and use them to connect DIRECTLY to the power amp in the car - the first has already broken one of it's plastic lugs that holds it into the cigarette lighter - rendering it useless - the second keeps falling out!! + the volume control is hard to access as it is on the same side as the audio out socket - NOT RECOMMENDED which is a pity because the sound quality is good.

Posted by Matthew Weinreb on May 22, 2004 at 1:34 AM (PDT)

34

I use mine with a P.I.E. adapter going into the OEM Honda head unit in my '02 Civic Si. There's a bit of noise when the head's volume is at about 75%, but I can always use the Belkin's volume control to get the signal well above the noise and turn the stereo back down to halfway. Pretty clean that way, and still plenty loud.

No ground loop isolator needed, and the PIE adapter's ground wire isn't attached to anything, either.

Posted by BarracksSi on May 31, 2004 at 11:34 PM (PDT)

35

Oh yeah --

Nope, I won't be able to use a CD changer at the same time. Why bother, though?

Posted by BarracksSi on May 31, 2004 at 11:35 PM (PDT)

36

Hey, I bought the necessary hardware to hook this up to my deck through the aux connector. Whenever I turn it on, I get no right channel. I can switch to a cd or back to the fm radio and I get full sound. It's only when the iPod is on through the aux input that I lose the right channel. Any suggestions?

has anyone ran into this problem?

Posted by Jacob on June 6, 2004 at 2:25 PM (PDT)

37

I've been using this kit since January and it works just fine. Until recently I found the dock connector is not the standard round-corner, as I am unable to connect it to the new Xtremity iPod Case (they are round opening on the base). Does anyone knows where can I replace the Belkin square connector? I am wondering if any kind of adapter is available in the market.

Posted by hosaileigh on June 9, 2004 at 5:26 PM (PDT)

38

Need Help Badly..

just purchased the 3g 15gb and would like to play it in the car as well. I have a '03 gs300 lexus with the cd player in the glove compartment. i am interested in purchasing the belkin auto kit, but not sure if i'll be able to use it. i thought you just had to connect the power cord and cassette adapter to the ipod and then to the lighter and tape player of the car. i don't understand the whole running lines thing. Do i have to take the car to an audio store and have them wire it to accommodate the ipod. As you can see i don't know a thing about cars, other than driving. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Posted by jene11428 on June 15, 2004 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

39

has anyone ever cut one of these open, i'd like to hard wire it into my car but still keep the fuctionality of the line out. just wondering if it's possible.

Posted by Elliot on June 15, 2004 at 6:29 PM (PDT)

40

jene11428: No, no professional installation is needed. The Belkin unit has a single cord that runs from the lighter socket to the iPod's dock. To to plug that connects to the lighter, you just plug in your cassette adapter and pop the cassette into the tape player.

I picked up the Belkin today, and so far, so good -- although it plugs in TIGHT to my socket. I almost pulled the console apart when unplugging it! Also, it just -barely- fits my dock connector with my iskin on, and it now has a stamp on the top side of the dock connector, so you can more easily find the right orientation for the plug.

Posted by schussat on June 19, 2004 at 2:16 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.