Belkin Auto Kit | iLounge

Reviews

61

Wanna know something else that's pretty cool?

You can get these for about $8.00 shipped on eBay!!!

Posted by PVR on February 25, 2005 at 8:45 PM (PDT)

62

Wanna know something else that's cool?

You can get these for about $8.00 shipped on eBay (U.S. only unfortunately)

Posted by PVR on February 25, 2005 at 8:46 PM (PDT)

63

WHere do u get the stand for the ipod that is in the pic?

Posted by NappyBoy001 in Houston on March 9, 2005 at 9:26 PM (PDT)

64

I had No Problems with this product. I had no need for a ground loop isolator. I bought this articular unit over others because the AUX jack is on power adaptor, thus requiring only one line from the Belkin unit to the iPod.

I used this in conjunction with a P.I.E. Auxilary input adaptor and a RCA to Mini Stereo Cable. The AUX Adaptor took about an hour to install in my 2004 Silverado and worked great right off the bat. I have had no issues with distortion caused by the Amp in the Belkin Unit. It sounds great an functions as advertised, much better than FM Modulation.
You could go with the iPod to car style adaptor if you want to control the iPod via the head unit or Steering Wheel mounted controls. Or if you want the song info displayed on the head unit. This will cost you about $50-$100 more though. This setup cost me $120 including shipping, AUX Adapter, Cables, Belkin Charger, and Piggyback Fuse Adapter.

Sounds great, and relatively easy install.

Posted by jjsonoma on March 23, 2005 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

65

now if the line out of the belkin is amplified, would that preclude use of this product with a dock? or would i be better off looking at adifferent mounting solution?

Posted by thegreatlanfrito on March 30, 2005 at 12:45 PM (PDT)

66

It takes a few minutes for it to start up but that's the only problem I really had.

Posted by mjmoonwalker on May 29, 2005 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

67

Disappointing in several ways. The volume knob seems to have no effect. When hooked up to the Sony Cassette adaptor there is a marked decrease in volume-requires very high volume levels on your car volume and when you forget that and switch to your radio--- WHAM! not half a as good as the Monster icarplay FM transmitter I replaced it with.

Posted by freddipod on October 27, 2005 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

68

freddipod -

I have been using the Belkin Auto Kit for several months with a Sony cassette adapter. I have found that sometimes the cassette doesn't go in properly or something, and the sound is very faint. Ejecting and reinserting the cassette usually fixes this, then the volume knob of the Auto Kit works. With the Auto Kit, I can set my car unit's volume to a normal level so that when I switch to the radio, I don't get blasted.

Posted by nancy g in Sunnyvale, CA on November 4, 2005 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

69

Please can anyone help??

I received the Belkin Auto Kit for christmas, along with a JVC CN-J240 Audio plug adapter to allow it to play through the stereo. The car we have is a Ford Focus, which has a CD player & radio but no cassette player. Following instructions, I connected the belkin to the cigarette lighter & iPod. I then connected the JVC adapter to the audio jack on the Belkin device, and connected the other end into the headphone jack on the iPod itself - and nothing happens!!! maybe im being really stoopid and have got it all wrong, does anyone know what the problem might be? thanks.

Posted by Charlotte2006 on December 26, 2005 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

70

I have owned the Belkin car charger for nearly two years now, and it is without a doubt, a rugged, well-built unit. In fact, it has spent several months of its lifetime on a giant RV traveling across the country with 4 other band members who also use it to charge their various generations of iPods. The best feature is the adjustable gain on the output which allows you to match the impedence of any car stereo's input. My Rating: A+.

Posted by muthguy on April 28, 2006 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 4 pages « First  <  2 3 4

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.