Belkin TuneDok | iLounge

Reviews

1

expensive, cheap and does nto work as you can see...
by a cellular phone holder, it's way cheaper and works better.

Posted by 5th Raider on November 26, 2003 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

2

Thanks for the thorough review. One small correction though: two of the cups are made from rubber, only one is made from hard plastic. The large cup fits perfectly in the cupholder of my New Beetle. According to the manual, the half-height hard plastic cup is designed for cup holders like the VW Jetta's and Golf's.

Posted by Bademeister on November 26, 2003 at 10:44 PM (PDT)

3

Any opinions on the new iTrip? I am seeing people who love it...and people who say it is terrible....

Posted by Andy on November 27, 2003 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

4

It looks like you can't use a power adapter with this holder

Posted by dastein in Houston on November 28, 2003 at 2:45 PM (PDT)

5

Yes, you can. There is an opening around the dock connector allowing access for a power adapter like the Belkin AutoKit.

Posted by Bademeister on November 29, 2003 at 12:23 AM (PDT)

6

ipod does not fit if it has a jam jacket. you'll have to remove the jam jacket first (and you all know how hard to remove that). i hope this helps.

Posted by ipodnewbie on December 1, 2003 at 12:24 AM (PDT)

7

I don't care for; where this works in the wife's Beetle; not that we are happy with the Beetle cup holders any way. In my nissan pick-up I love the cup holders .... for cups, but the tunedok sucks here also. For me in the truck it is easer to drop my pod in the center console. There is a power outlet in there, the TuneCast Mobile FM Transmitter from Belkin works great from there until the (tunecast) batteries get low then I hang over the side with the lid down over the wire.

For dastein yes you can use the power adaptor with the tuneDok

Posted by Dennis Lee on December 8, 2003 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

8

A little velcro a little cell phone mount and there you are any where on the dash

Posted by Wayne M. Grenon on December 12, 2003 at 6:34 PM (PDT)

9

The best thing to do is get one of XtremeMac's cases with the belt hooks, and then get one of their mounting slots. Affix next to steering wheel. Add an iTrip. The ultimate iPod car solution!

Posted by Jeff on January 6, 2004 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

10

I bought this to try it out. If your iPod is in a case, it probably won't fit in the "dok." I'll most likely return it because I like to keep my iPod in a case to protect it during normal use.

Posted by Herb in NC, USA on March 15, 2004 at 3:00 PM (PDT)

11

How secure is that Sucction cup? Most sucction cups don't stick to winds to hold down shades, never mind my $600 best friend

Posted by Websnap on May 4, 2004 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

12

"Windows" - sorry

Posted by Websnap on May 4, 2004 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

13

The suction cup is really secure. Since the iPod's back is mirror-smooth, it simply won't budge. Too take it out, you stick your fingertip over the top of the iPod, break the suction cup's seal, and lift it out.

It fits nicely into the cupholder of my '02 Civic Si. I use a Timbuk2 case when I'm carrying around my iPod, so that's less of a problem than a stretchy "skin". I also have the Belkin Auto Kit plugged through the slot in the TuneDock. If I want to, I can also stick the receiver for the NaviPod infrared remote (or another remote) on top. Plus, I can take it out and hide it pretty easily.

I just don't like extra arms & clips tacked all over the interior of my car. That all looks, well, tacky, and it's more inviting for thieves (bad enough that I drive an Si already). I might find a way to mount an Apple dock, too, but this is working nicely.

Posted by BarracksSi on May 31, 2004 at 11:27 PM (PDT)

14

Great product from Belkin folks. Say what you will god & bad. I have a minivan with more factory and aftermarket cupholders than I jnow what to do with. Anyway, The aftermarket minivan console's cup holder snugly fit the Belkin's cup insert without protruding out from the cupholder. Loks sharp an keeps the wires from tangling.

Posted by vinylrules in USA on August 21, 2004 at 5:42 AM (PDT)

15

Somethign the reviewer missed-- you can get additional height by turning the cup upside down so it sticks out of the cup holder like a hill (this works perfectly in the wide cup holder of my 1999 Cherokee). The thread holes in the cup are designed to work this way and I get an extra 2-3 inches of height.

Posted by napstimpy on September 17, 2004 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

16

Tunedock works really well. Fits perfectly in the cupholder of my 2001 AUDI A4. One nice thing is that, when I don't want to use it, I can remove it and store it easily in my glove compartment.

Posted by gman12 on September 28, 2004 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

17

the ultimate car solution for my '03 saturn ion qc:

1. replace stock stereo with reasonably priced aftermarket stereo, which features and auxiliary audio input in the back (found an alpine model on sale at good guys for $160 w/ free installation).

2. buy audio patch cable, belkin car charger, and a generic replacement 12v power socket from Radio Shack (includes in-line wire tap and fuse)

3. carefully tear up the center console around the shift knob, while grinning like a maniac. easily locate the line which goes to the factory power socket, splice radio shack plug into it. find a good solid frame bolt for the ground (important!) and rout the audio cable from the belkin charger to the back of your shiny new stereo.

4. hook up your iPod and make sure it works, and adjust the charger's volume control to an ideal level, because you won't be changing it again.

5. move the iPod back to it's safe house.

6. use a whole lot of black electrical tape to secure the whole assembly together and make it look real professional. tuck the whole mess snugly down next to the rest of the brightly-colored jumble of wires.

7. while replacing the console cover, be sure to leave about 4-6 inches of the dock connector hanging out of that seam in the console behind the cupholders (the other person who bough one of these cars, if you're reading this, you know what i mean).

8. fit tunedok beautifully and snugly into driver's side cupholder, run dock connecter through guides, and voila!

a surprisingly elegant solution for somebody who likes tearing things apart. and it puts my iPod right next to my gear-shifting hand, where it's most convenient for song-shifting. and there are no glowing green probe-shaped items to prompt suspicious questions from my family. AND it doesn't use any power outlets, which are at a premium in compact cars.

if anybody is curious and wants pictures of the finished product, email me.

Posted by cheesyBob in California on March 1, 2005 at 6:12 AM (PDT)

18

sorry, my email is .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by cheesyBob in California on March 1, 2005 at 6:16 AM (PDT)

19

In my 2002 VW Cabrio, the cup holders are too close to the dash and the shift to be a perfect fit. But, after I did a little tweaking (like, removing the ashtray since I have an iTrip), I got it to work.

Posted by Likelife on May 29, 2005 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

20

Heres a tip: When I bought mine, the plastic bases were too small for my cup holders, but when I read the instructions to help find a solution, I notice you could flip the cub base for a desk stand. So I did that but instead of putting it on a desk, I put it in my cup holder and it fit perfectly and works great!

Posted by greatmilenko04 on June 13, 2005 at 6:00 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.