Belkin Voice Recorder | iLounge

Reviews

41

Went up to a canyon nearby my city (Salt Lake City) today, first real snow fall of the year. Found hundreds of birds feasting on berries in the snow, the sound was amazing. Luckily I captured it on my iPod, perfect.

Posted by enfused on October 30, 2003 at 6:40 PM (PDT)

42

wait, you captured the snow falling or the birds eating? or both? how much snow and how big were the birds? were they eating wild berries or strawberries? please provide detailed specifications and exact dimensions on your out-of-house experience....
smilejig

Posted by jiggy on October 30, 2003 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

43

well, everyday is an out of house experience, i captured the birds talking to each other while eating wild berries.

Posted by enfused on October 31, 2003 at 10:11 AM (PDT)

44

I have the recorder and until there is a software update allowing for an input gain change or automatic limiter, this thing is kind of a piece of junk.

Normal speaking voice at 6 inches produces an incredible amount of very nasty distortion. And there's no level meter so you are on your own guessing whether you are speaking at the correct volume or not!

Any digital recorder needs these features as digital distortion is much much uglier than analog tape distortion!

Hopefully Apple will fix this in firmware 2.2

Posted by dude on November 3, 2003 at 6:57 PM (PDT)

45

uh oh bad news. this is the first time i've read about this problem and my unit arrives from america in about 2 weeks...maybe by then there will be a firmware update,,,are you currently using 2.1? assume so....

Posted by jiggy on November 3, 2003 at 7:39 PM (PDT)

46

That would be a nice feature, I like to use my recorder to get samples and dub it up. Some stuff from the field turns out to be trash and unusable when brought back to the studio. There should be a level meter while recording, then when you push the center button you have the ability to set the input volume.

Posted by enfused on November 3, 2003 at 7:46 PM (PDT)

47

Yeah, that's what I'm saying- very easy to use the scroll wheel to adjust level, but also an auto-level feature would be nice with a brickwall limiter, you know? It wouldn't sound good all the time, but at least it would be better than those crappy digital spikes!

And yes, jiggy, I'm using 2.1... that's the only firmware that works with the recorder.
Don't be sorry you bought it, it still is a cool addition to your iPod!

Posted by dude on November 4, 2003 at 12:03 AM (PDT)

48

Yeah, it's definately cool, what would be nice is an auto and manual limiter, and maybe a three band EQ, and a new mic input with an XLR. That would be sweet!

Posted by enfused on November 4, 2003 at 11:26 AM (PDT)

49

Just got my recorder. It records pretty well and the speaker can be used to listen to music as well if you dont want your headphones in your ear. It is smaller than i had expected. So far so good.

Posted by OLLIE on November 11, 2003 at 8:20 PM (PDT)

50

The voice memo is only that,even a moderately loud or close sound results in appalling distortion.Until an input level control is available this recorder is only useful for voice memos,forget abut live music or even speaking into it in an environment with ambient noise.They call it "voice memo" for a reason.

Posted by octavio on November 17, 2003 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

51

Well I have it and you sure can't sing near it

the distortion is unbelievable! Awfuk the feedback and the fact that you can'f adjust the gain means that any high note peaks out. and that is even from across the room. Belkin told me its not for music and they mean it! Basicly belkin does good UPS and cables but music is another thing and what we need is a microphone that is nmade by music people
This is a cheesy mike for anything but dictation
think of it as a hasbro pda mike.

Posted by Marla S Wilson on November 18, 2003 at 11:25 PM (PDT)

52

This Item is crap. It F@#$ up my ipod up.
Ever since I pluged this shet in, my ipod has never been tha same. It gets lock/frozen and there are problems in the playback. It sounds crapy too. FFF-

Posted by steve on November 21, 2003 at 10:21 PM (PDT)

53

just got the recorder for Japan trip. Bad quality, plus, the hard drive spins up for EVERYTHING that the voice recorder does (record, play, browse voice samples. I have not used it more thanthe first time for fear of running down the battery. Plus, the quality sucked.

Posted by charlu on November 28, 2003 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

54

Yeah, so far, this thing blows. I can't record a single sentence without it distorting -- painfully. The hard drive spin up is a joke. You have to wait a couple seconds after you hit record before you can actually begin. Belkin also threw in a crappy speaker for good measure. For the price they charge for this thing, Belkin should be ashamed.

Posted by The Man on November 28, 2003 at 10:48 PM (PDT)

55

THE WORST RECORDING DEVICE EVER MADE!!!
If this unit is not recalled then they can get away with
selling anything! Makes any answering machines ability to record seem world class!!! You CAN plug any mic in you want so don't let apple tell you otherwise.... (No compresson...No level ajustment...)
That makes sense? WHAT A SCAM

Posted by thom on November 29, 2003 at 2:21 AM (PDT)

56

My boyfriend's old Archos records miles better than this. When I record through my iPod it sounds like I am using a tin can. I hope someone brings out a better version soon so he stops making fun of my iPod.

Posted by heyhey on November 29, 2003 at 12:44 PM (PDT)

57

GriffinTech Is making a better one that features line in and is not as bulky.

Posted by iBookiPod on December 6, 2003 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

58

I knew what I was getting into, so I suppose my review would be that this is not as bad as I thought it would be. It's definitely functional. As a songwriter who travels a lot, this will get a lot of use.
I'm hoping that somebody else will come out with a better quality microphone, perhaps with a built-in limiter. That would decrease the distortion factor.
8 mHz mono isn't the best, but at least it's digital, and for now it's all we've got...

Posted by MarkLee on December 10, 2003 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

59

I don't know where they are buying this for 60 bucks but I just got one from the Apple Store in the Grove (Mall in Los Angeles Cali for all you out of state folk) for 19 bucks. At this price point, it is more than worth it. Quality is fine and I find it useful for what I intend to do with it. Just dont get too close to your source or the distortion is pretty bad. Not sure how omnidirectional it can be with the little tic tac hole leading to the mic. I constantly have to record memos, grocery lists, phone numbers etc and this is perfect for that.

Posted by pumi on December 23, 2003 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

60

For some sample threads from Apple's official Discussion Forums regarding the Belkin, here are some URLs, mostly of disapponted users:

?Disappointed in Belkin:"
http://discussions.info.apple.com/WebX?13@120.MucVarMpp13.5@.599b72aa/20

"Belkin clips harshly, and easily (hi volume)":
http://discussions.info.apple.com/WebX?14@120.MucVarMpp13.28136@.599d9f6f


There are more threads, mostly unhappy users, and some referencing ipodlounge forum posts of other problems.

Posted by Santaduck on December 24, 2003 at 12:14 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.