BTI iPod Battery ii | iLounge

Reviews

41

Sorry for the double post, but I thought I'd bring you all up to speed. First off although my Showcase 4G isn't designed for the iPod Battery ii and vice versa, I discovered I can actually invert the clip on the batter which in effect inverts the battery to be worn upside down. The length of the cable is just long enough to reach the iPod still in the case with out any trouble. While this isn't exactly the aproach I was looking for, as it turns out it's the one that works for me at work as I am used to controlling my iPod on the side ways angle.

However here's the pleasant surprise. All 4 indicator lights were still glowing green after using the battery for at least 8 hours of my 9 hour shift. I took the iPod also fully charged to work and it didn't lose any charge what so ever. In fact I put it directly on it's dock when I got home and it showed it was fully charged. Also last night I had hooked my half drained iPod up to the iPod Battery only to wake up with my iPod fully charged! I'm certainly convinced this thing will power my iPod at least a couple days if not more. I love it!

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on October 19, 2004 at 9:38 PM (PDT)

42

I have the Battery ii and Showcase 4G and found a solution for attaching them together. I took the 10/15/20 clip which I didn't need and cut the curves sides off so that I was left with a flat plate to attach to the Battery ii. I use this as a spacer as the mounting posts of the battery hit the back of the Contour keeping it from lying flat but the plate rests on the raised ridges of the case. This keeps it stable and the little curvy part on the bottom of the plate keeps the iPod from slipping South. I secure them together by using velcro tape, the kind with the hooks on one side and the loops on the other. I feed this through the beltclip slots on the Contour case and wrap it around the Battery ii. Finally, I put the beltclip on the Battery ii. Done. Works for me.

Posted by ready505 on October 22, 2004 at 6:24 AM (PDT)

43

Ready505, sounds like you have a pretty solid solution here. What did you use to cut off the sides of the clip? The velcro tape sounds like a better solution than what I was thinking of using. The way I'm using my case and battery currently is working, but just looks plain awkward. Your solution seems like it would be so much better. smile

Just out of curiosity, have you pushed your batterie's limits yet? I've done some light testing. One night I just ran it straight, no extra options turned on. Didn't even knock off a light. The next night I turned on the base booster in the EQ with out any other options. Pretty much the same, no hit on the battery. Then I tried base booster and sound check. Still the same. The next thing I want to do really should put the battery through it's paces.. I'm going to run sound check, base booster and leave the backlight on. If I don't knock off a light on the indicator, I'll be shocked. smile Mind you through all my tests I haven't run my battery any less than 8 hours and this is all the while I'm using shuffle and choosing my music manually which means hitting on the hard drive more often.

I have noticed in my testing that in the first hour the first indicator light dims but comes right back nice and bright. I did start out the other night with the backlight on and that light just totaly disapeared. So I gave up on the backlight after 2 hours and it eventually came back nice and bright. I think I gave up too soon on the backlight test. Monday I'll run this thing with base booster, soundcheck and the backlight for no less than 8 hours and see what sort of impact it has on the indicator. I consider this to be the ultimate real world stress test on this battery. Can't wait to see what the indicator will show when I'm done. smile

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on October 23, 2004 at 9:58 AM (PDT)

44

Phoenixfury, I used a Stanley utility knife. I fully extended the blade and placed it against the curved side as a guide. Just pulled the knife several times, scoring the clip until it was almost cut through then I snapped the side off. Finish it off with some fine sandpaper to smooth off the edges. Just try to keep the flat part of the plate wide enough to ride on top of the back ridges of the Contour case, not between them.

Posted by ready505 on October 23, 2004 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

45

Love mine. Just got about 55 hours and a full batt charge on my 4G. Very happy.

[url=http://www.kellyfajack.com]http://www.kellyfajack.com[/url]

Posted by Mundog in Santa Monica on November 1, 2004 at 10:17 AM (PDT)

46

Does anyone know if this will work with a iskinned ipod?

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on November 23, 2004 at 7:17 PM (PDT)

47

unfortunately it does not fit with the iskin. i have a 3g 20, and i have an iskin. i took out the belt clip and tried to put the 40g cilp on my 20+skin, but it just doesnt fit. this is annoying, because the battery obviously doesn't offer any protection on the front (and i love my blue iskin!!). im wondering if there is a way to modify it so i can keep the skin on.

Posted by bluek in austin, tx on December 4, 2004 at 10:35 AM (PDT)

48

I have a 3G 20 and am trying to decide between the original BTI battery and Battery ii. Any views on the relative merits, especially regarding differences in size/weight? I realize the Battery has longer life and that one can charge a 3G directly from the original Battery but not from the Battery ii. That said, I would probably sacrifice the extra hours if the Battery ii is noticeably lighter/more portable.

Posted by Beekeeper on December 28, 2004 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

49

I just received my ipod battery II and it works like a charm....I was also wondering how I could protect the front of the ipod since it can't fit in the cradle with an iskin. Any sugestions would be appreciated.

Posted by hoopchick18 on January 5, 2005 at 4:41 AM (PDT)

50

Cheapest I've seen this is from Small Dog. It was $75. Now can anyone tell me if this can work with an Agent 18 mini shock case? Of course I never would have wanted this case but the review made it sound totally great, so it's the editor's fault for good writing!

Posted by DeniseK on January 5, 2005 at 12:40 PM (PDT)

51

In response to Beekeeper's question - I went through similar process trying to decide which battery to buy. I ended up getting the original. It is quite chunky, but I'm very happy with it. One factor that tipped the balance was the way in which the battery extends below the Docking connector. My view is that this gives a degree of protection against damage to the docking socket, whereas battery ii leaves this more exposed to being knocked.
One further point having now charged the battery several times. The battery life quoted from tests e.g. 70 hours, relates to continuous usage. I have no understanding of electronics so may be shot down on this, but I assume that there is some loss of capacity during time spent inactive, because using my ipod for an hour or two per day, the battery expires after about 40 - 50 hours of use. (3G 20gb) and would assume that this sort of reduction would apply to any LiON battery.

Posted by Vanwallman in Salisbury - England on January 6, 2005 at 5:52 AM (PDT)

52

going to italy in the summer il be buying one most likley

Posted by SaL . D in Ny on January 7, 2005 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

53

I just got a Battery ii. I am not happy. The plug on the charger (OK, so it's probably not called a plug -- the thing that goes from the charger to the device) fits so badly that it rarely connects enough to make the "charging" light go on. I was able, for a few brief seconds, to get the connector in position well enough to get the "charging" light to go on; however, as soon as I put the battery down, the connector fell out of the battery entirely. This fairly expensive device won't give me a whole lot of extended battery life if the blasted thing won't charge.

Is the charger for the Battery ii supposed to come with a black adapter in the first place? The cylindrical end on the charger cord itself is too fat to fit into the hole in the Battery ii. There's a black adapter that is apparently designed to solve the "too big for the hole" problem; however, this part doesn't fit, either. I wouldn't get all excited about an adapter being necessary if the thing worked, but it doesn't. When I pay $100 (OK, $74.88 from Amazon - free shipping - such a deal) for something that doesn't work from minute one, I get peeved.

Yes, I'm going to e-mail BTI about this, but I wanted to find out whether this was a common problem with these devices.

Posted by MLEM on February 11, 2005 at 8:35 PM (PDT)

54

Too much for an oversized iPod battery charger in my opinion.

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 26, 2005 at 12:27 PM (PDT)

55

I was trying to decide between BTI iPod Battery and the Tekkeon myPower Battery.

Is it me, or does the myPower seem better designed? The dock connector is integrated into the battery and you do not have the cord hanging down like it is on the iPod Battery? My main beef with my 4G (20GB) iPod is that I have to charge it just about every day. 32 hours from the myBattery seems like enough charge time to keep me going for a few days of commuting (about 45minutes each way).

Posted by MFW_iPod in SF CA on March 15, 2005 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

56

I was trying to decide between BTI iPod Battery and the Tekkeon myPower Battery.

Is it me, or does the myPower seem better designed. The dock connector is integrated into the battery and you do not have the cord hanging down like it is on the iPod Battery? My main beef with my 4G iPod is that I have to charge it just about every day. 32 hours seems like enough charge time to keep me going for a few days of commuting.

Posted by MFW_iPod in SF CA on March 16, 2005 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

57

This review states that the Battery ii will re-charge 4Gs. Does that include iPod Photos? The BTI website states prominently that it will NOT re-charge iPods.

This is a concern, because I want to use my Camera Connector and need access to the port on the iPod, so I can't just run the iPod off the Battery ii.

Any happy Photo/Battery ii users?

Posted by rudy2tone on April 22, 2005 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

58

Here is the response I received from BTI to my question above:

IPOD-B02 will NOT fit the iPod Photo 60GB.
IPOD-B02 will charge the battery of iPod mini, 4th generation and iPod Photo 30/40GB, but not the 3rd generation iPod.

Hope this helps others. I ended up purchasing the Solio solar charger.

Posted by rudy2tone on April 22, 2005 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

59

Okay, so I have this product and love it. I lost the belt clip and frantically ordered a new set (you can get the cradles/belt clip separately) because I'm traveling abroad and need it. Then I contacted BTI and they are replacing the belt clip for free, and the online store I ordered the belt clip/neck strap from will not take it back even though I haven't received it yet. SO: if anyone in the US would like to buy the belt clip/cradles from me for $15, I'd be happy to send it your way. You can buy the same thing for $25 and up on all other sites, so it's a good deal. Please contact me if you'd like to: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Thanks!

Posted by bluek in austin, tx on May 31, 2005 at 4:43 PM (PDT)

60

Anyone know if this works with the new 5G???

Posted by rji2goleez on November 30, 2005 at 2:31 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.