BTI The iPod Battery | iLounge

Reviews

41

it slips out if I try connecting it with the ipod on. No scratches or anything but it should be secure with the connection I guess

Posted by Earl on June 30, 2004 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

42

BTI's Ipod battery will not affect the Ipod's internal battery, it will byspass it!

-AG

Posted by AG on July 1, 2004 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

43

Jay- Yes

Posted by daq on July 1, 2004 at 5:31 PM (PDT)

44

Why cant someone make a battery replacement for the iPod, a better quality battery that gives about 12 hours of runtime, there must be batteries out there that would work, many players now are boasting huge battery times, the zentouch will have a 24hr battery and its the same size as the ipod.

Posted by Rich on July 4, 2004 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

45

i'm in the hospitl a lot and my best music is an entire cd mp3 file cant be split into smaller sections so the entire 80 megs is being uncompressed. my ipod bastteries are very low after 4 hrr. i know the batts would last longer if i could split the files.
i want 2 buy this now but its very hard for me 2 see it visually. how bulky is it and maybe i should wauit 4 one that recharges the ipod batteries too but i sure like the sound of this one. hell i'm ordering it. and buy another if a new one emerges.

Posted by RTShaw on July 14, 2004 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

46

I just emailed BTI with the following questions:
1. How long does this need on the initial charge?

2. Subsequent charges take how long?

Let's see what they say...and how long it takes to get back to me.

Posted by CasRad on July 15, 2004 at 12:25 PM (PDT)

47

I just checked email and within 6 hours BTI has already replied... their response in >><<

1. How long does this need on the initial charge?
>>10 hrs<<

2. Subsequent charges take how long?
>>3 hours<<


Posted by CasRad on July 15, 2004 at 5:02 PM (PDT)

48

Thanks for all the positive feedback (and constructive critisism) on BTI's iPod Battery. Sorry for the delay with answers - I will be posting more answers tomorrow.

BTI will not be offering a battery solution for the 1st gen. or 2nd gen. iPods with FireWire power connections (sorry).

I have a Speck Skin and my iPod will not fit into the cradle if the Skin is used - the fit is too tight. The plastic cradles were designed to match up with each iPod (10, 20, 40, etc. and the Mini).

Check out [url=http://www.batterytech.com]http://www.batterytech.com[/url] to see a list of the US locations who carry the iPod. You can also call BTI at (626) 336-6878 or email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) to locate an international dealer/retailer. One of the national US retail computer/CE chains will be rolling out the iPod Battery in August. Details to follow soon. Feel free to ask your local iPod dealer to carry BTI's iPod Battery - we are always looking for good reseller/retail partners!

BTI worked with Apple during the R&D phase of this battery and they requested that the battery NOT charge the iPod's internal battery. The iPod Battery sends power directly to the iPod...if the internal battery is dead - the Battery will still power your iPod.

I will post the charging information tomorrow but my iPod Battery carried a charge out of the package and it took less than 6 hours to completely charge it the first time. (I haven't had to charge it a 2nd time as it still holds a charge).

Trying to be 'unbiased' but this battery is pretty solid!

Stay tuned...

Dave Sarazen
Battery Technology, Inc.






Posted by Dave Sarazen on July 15, 2004 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

49

Charging information for the BTI iPod Battery.

The initial charge (out of the box) should be between 2.5 to 5 hours. Subsequent charges will take less than 3 hours for a complete charge.

Posted by Dave Sarazen on July 16, 2004 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

50

What's the DC IN voltage requirement?

Posted by Joe Hendrickson in Canberra, Australia on July 28, 2004 at 7:08 AM (PDT)

51

Does anyone know if they are going to start making these compatable with the new iPod w/Click Wheel?

Posted by eamiller in Oregon on July 30, 2004 at 2:57 PM (PDT)

52

I am within 24-48 hours of making a decision on the Belkin pack vs this battery (leaving for college soon!) being that they are the the major competiting products.

Here is my problem:

On one hand, the BTI battery is awesome in that it lasts... almost too long smile and it completley covers the back, possibly making it easier to put in a pocket. However that could be a draw back (beside price, which is resonable imho). It is quite large and have people had success using it in their pocket for normal usage?

Across the ring in the blue trunks is the Belkin battery. I like the ability to use batteries and the price, however it seems.... strange looking. Wouldn't the ackward shape (and inability to fit on cases) make it potentially worse to carry in a pocket?

Thanks for any help.

PS- I highly suggest anyone who works with these batteries to make a better internal Ipod battery or more sleek external battery. There is a HUGE market for it-- say giving the ipod 15-20 hours of battery life. That's solve a lot of problems for those who need a compromise!

Posted by DJS on July 31, 2004 at 10:08 PM (PDT)

53

In response to:
Does anyone know if they are going to start making these compatable with the new iPod w/Click Wheel?

By eamiller on Jul 30, 04 4:57 pm


I managed to get my hands (and some pictures) on one of these batteries. It wasn't made by BTI, the brand was something Tek Gear. Anyway the person that was showing it to me told me that a new battery was being developed for the new 4th generation iPods that would probably be out in the next month or two. I would think that they'd make it available before the holiday season. Since the 4th generation iPods have the better battery life, the need for additional charging power seems to be a little less, but a great add on none the less.

Once I get more info, I'll be sure to follow up.

Posted by nyjazzguy on August 1, 2004 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

54

Sorry about taking so long, but I finally managed to get a hold my new iPod battery. I feel a little silly because I decided to choose something that I've never really heard of, but now that I'm using it, I'm excited. This site really helped me with all the info - I think I've been all over reading up on this stuff. It turns out the battery is an [url=http://www.partsolver.com/landing/ipod/index.asp]
ATG brand[/url], which I'm guessing is a copy of this BTI. I've had it about a week and besides the size - its great knowing I can wakeup in the morning - get dressed and not worry if i left my iPod charging.

Posted by nyjazzguy on September 30, 2004 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

55

will the BTI battery case allow me to use my Itrip?

Posted by dave on October 10, 2004 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

56

Unless I've missed it, neither this review nor the BTI page describes the weight of the battery nor the AC in voltage requirement. Anyone know either of these details?

Posted by charmii on November 14, 2004 at 6:12 PM (PDT)

57

My concern is that: 1) it's huge and 2) what happens when the proprietary rechargeable battery dies (all rechargeables die after 300-500 charges).

Posted by K Nakamura on January 26, 2005 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

58

Anyone know if this battery is compatible with teh 5G 30GB video iPod? Thanks in advance.

Posted by Roger Clemente on April 15, 2006 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.