Capdase Metal Case for iPod mini | iLounge

Reviews

1

That metal case almost seems too complicated. It would just be easier to have 1 good case. However, that checkered rubber sleeve looks sweet!

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on February 22, 2005 at 9:17 PM (PDT)

2

i don't like how it just bulks up the mini... its supposed to be small.

Posted by apple juice in USA on February 23, 2005 at 5:29 AM (PDT)

3

The diversity of the this manufacturer is to be commended as the mini cases are all different and all appear well done in both design and execution. My wife likes the Flip Top because of the shoulder strap. I do not own a mini and have no intentions of owning one, but if I did I would seriously consider the Metal Case model.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 23, 2005 at 12:02 PM (PDT)

4

I'm really interested in buying one, but the site itself doesn't seem to be selling it. Where can I find one?

Posted by insomnia on February 23, 2005 at 4:16 PM (PDT)

5

@insomnia

I've seen them on ebay... try looking up "capdase"

Posted by yadda in Canada on February 25, 2005 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

6

All Capdase products may be found at their only Authorized Online Reseller, "Vinko's Treasures" (http:shop.vinko.com).

Posted by Vinko Tsui in Hong Kong on February 26, 2005 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

7

how hard is it to get the ipod out of the case once put in?

and can you clean the case with brasso and/or some other cleaning solution?

Posted by NijilK in United Stated on February 27, 2005 at 4:04 PM (PDT)

8

That case looks hot.

I plan on buying an ipod mini soon, I'd definitely spring for this case if I had the money for it, but it'd cost me 26 bucks to buy and ship it over here. So I guess I'll just save up for it, because it definitely looks better than any other case I've seen.

Posted by ecnarf on March 1, 2005 at 4:37 PM (PDT)

9

Wow. It's like Fort Knox. I've dropped my mini twice, and yes it got a ding or two. But goodness, it's only 4Gb! It's not like most people are going to keep their minis for that long before upgrading! wink

Plus, it's inevitable: you only drop things when they're OUT of the cases.

Posted by Mush in Batavia, IA on March 5, 2005 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

10

I have to ask, does the smooth metal finish showcase your fingerprints in all their glory, like the real back of the 20gb iPod?

Posted by ecnarf on March 6, 2005 at 7:25 AM (PDT)

11

to ecnarf,
yes sadly, so u have to take a tissue or sumthin to wipe them off.
but that is one of the few flaws i found with it.

,nijil k

Posted by NijilK in United Stated on March 11, 2005 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

12

Augh, maybe I should have gone with the brushed steel model. Oh well, I'll see when it comes.

Posted by ecnarf on March 13, 2005 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

13

I was looking for a metal case for my mini that would allow the use of my iTrip, and thought the above review made this case look pretty good.

I ordered a case from Vinko's Treasures, and paid something like $23 shipped (from Hong Kong).

The case arrived, and was exactly as advertised. Really nice quality, poor quality belt clip (which was broken when I opened the package, by the way).

I emailed Vinko, who is sending me the replacement parts needed.

Best customer service I've ever experienced!!

Buy one of these cases! Best bang for the buck!

Posted by mzdrati on April 7, 2005 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

14

How does the included screen protector work with the Metal Case? (does it rest against the ipod's screen, leading to the possibility of scratches?

Posted by tricksyhobbit87 on April 16, 2005 at 1:39 PM (PDT)

15

i am alittle hesitant about ordering a case from Vinko's. I sure wish they would get a someone in Canada to carry them or alteast a place in North America. I will probably end up getting a case from them eventually.

Posted by KDUB82 on May 15, 2005 at 8:46 PM (PDT)

16

Dear Kdub82,

Why are you "hesitant"? We have 1000s of satisfied customers. You can read many of their feedback to us on eBay.

Please feel free to email us (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)) if you have any questions.

Regards,

Posted by Vinko Tsui in Hong Kong on May 27, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

17

This question is for the rest of the metal case owners.

I see that the metal case has somekind of connector at the back. If you take that off does the metal slips out? Because I'd like my ipod mini to be all flat when resting on the table.

And, I got a question for Vinko that you might not answer.

Is there any other suppliers of this metal case?

I mean you pay half the value of the case for SH,and that's crazy.
When you do lower the price, let me know.

Posted by disapointedmini on June 17, 2005 at 12:16 AM (PDT)

18

KDUB82 - I just purchased the leather case from a store in Toronto at the Pacific Mall.

Posted by hoya on June 17, 2005 at 4:06 PM (PDT)

19

Dear disapointedmini,

I believe you're referring to the "Belt Clip" and "Belt Clip Assembly". By removing these items you will not affect the overall functionality of the case. Of course you will not be able to use the clip function while it is removed.

I will answer your "... other suppliers..." question. We are the only Authorized Online Reseller of the Capdase product line. Due to our online business nature, we operate at a lower cost compared to a "brick-and-mortar" retail store. You will find that our "TCoP" (total-cost-of-purchase including shipping & handling) is very competitive.

As for the "SH" ("shipping & handling" for those who do not know what disapointedmini is referring to), you're paying for an insured Hong Kong Post's Registered Air Mail shipped directly from Hong Kong.

We sell our items on both our own store and on eBay. Therefore our prices have to be the same, although our cost are different.

One other thing you must notice when purchasing on eBay, that is to take, what we called, the "total cost of purchase" (TCoP) into account when comparing prices. That is the List Price + Shipping & Handling. This is because every sellers on eBay use the TCoP to calculate their profit. This is so that sellers has more flexibility on the List Price for competitive purpose. Some sellers conduct, what we consider under handed tactics, of having a very low List Price and a very high Shipping & Handling charge, so that they can appear higher in a buyer's search/scan. We do not do this sort of thing, but we have to distribute our desired Price among the List Price and Shipping & Handling to a certain extent for competitive purpose.

If you have any further questions please feel free to email us at (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)).

Regards,

Posted by Vinko Tsui in Hong Kong on June 17, 2005 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

20

Vinko...How much is the metal case including shipping and handling to the U.S.?

Posted by Lost_Delirious on July 19, 2005 at 4:46 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.