Capdase Soft Jacket for 5G iPods | iLounge

Reviews

21

o

Posted by gibson10ma on January 25, 2006 at 10:24 PM (PDT)

22

Sorry if this gets posted twice, but it didn't seem to go throught the first time.

I just got the case for the 30GB in opaque black.  It shipped in six business days as stated on the site.  The package had about 6 hong kong stamps on it and a customs form on the back.  First impression - nice package.

Once I ripped that open, I pulled out the tube-packaging that the case comes in.  The tube is pretty cool and kind of fun to open.

The click wheel is covered in the silicone and it is smooth as silk.  I really like this because it is protected but still easy to use.  I’m honestly quite surprised at how good it feels and how smoothy it works.  I can’t comment on the hold switch or the belt clip since I won’t be using either of them.  I can’t see any reason why those screen protector stickers wouldn’t work with this case.  For the record, that company’s name is actually Power Support USA.  This thickness the case adds is very little, and you can certainly still slip it into a pocket easily.

I’ll cover the docking in the following pics section.  You’ll have to excuse the cases dustiness.  I had just pulled it out of my jacket pocket which is dust central.  Also the pictures are such closeups that they exaggerate its appearance.

Here’s me holding it:

[img=http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/8492/use2zs.jpg]


Here’s an extreme closeup of the front.

[img=http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/8711/extremecloseup9tt.jpg]

Here’s a picture of the back with the belt clip accessory removed.

[img=http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/2978/back8uq.jpg]

Here’s the bottom and the connector area:

[img=http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/7817/bottom2ew.jpg]

Here’s a closer look at the headphone jack area:

[img=http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/9629/headphonejack3dj.jpg]

Here’s a better look at the nub for attaching to the lanyard thing (which I will certainly never use).

[img=http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/1645/nub0kj.jpg]

And now . . . docking.

So, when I originally tried this with my universal dock it didn’t fit.  The dock is made to fit the ipod with no case, so the slight increase in thickness meant I just couldn’t squeeze it into the dock.  You can see this in the picture below:

[img=http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/3971/docknofit2ie.jpg]

HOWEVER, I was pretty pumped when I tried it without using the dock adapter that is included with the iPod.  I found that when I removed it there was plenty of room for the iPod to fit in.

This picture shows the iPod docked in the universal dock:

[img=http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/6114/universaldocknoadapter1hg.jpg]

You can see also from the pic above that the little ridge around the universal dock actually makes room for that silly nub.  Sweet.

You will notice; however, that the ipod’s back is no longer flush with the rear of the dock.  For me this isn’t a huge issue, but if you’re still reading my excessively mini-review, I’m sure you probably want to see it:

[img=http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/5426/universaldock24iz.jpg]

Overall I am very pleased with the purchase.  E-mail confirmation and delivery time was exactly as stated.  The tracking you get will confirm that the item has shipped, but because it’s international, you won’t get anything like a ups tracking number that will tell you exactly where your package is every step along the way.  I showed it to a coworker of mine and he has already ordered one.  The other two people I showed it to definitely expressed some WOW factor.  It’s great that it really protects the whole iPod while feeling good and looking cool.  I personally think the B+ rating is a little low for this case.  I recommend it to all.

Posted by gibson10ma on January 25, 2006 at 10:29 PM (PDT)

23

gibson,

Wow great review and great pics man! I look forward to receiving mine shortly.

Posted by ahsan on January 26, 2006 at 7:23 AM (PDT)

24

Thank you so much for the pictures and the review, I will now be getting one.

Posted by maxxgar on January 26, 2006 at 4:18 PM (PDT)

25

I just got mine today. I got some smudges on the screen protector and pulled it out, tried wiping it with a cotton cloth and now the screen is pretty scratched up. Any else have any comments on the screens scratching? This is kind of a bummer.

Posted by theguru1974 on February 11, 2006 at 1:58 PM (PDT)

26

My main gripe with it is that it picks up way too much dust. I haven't had a problem with scratches on the screen protector though, but I haven't tried wiping it with a cloth either.

Posted by ahsan on February 13, 2006 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

27

Anyone have pics of the frosted cases on a black iPod?

Posted by molala on February 19, 2006 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

28

I bought the lime green one for my black 30GB iPod and absolutely love it. The fitting is precise and you cant even tell there is a screen protector on due to the clarity. The scroll wheel is still 100% funcitonal and it actually has a very pleasing feel to the touch. Definitely rate this one an A+!

Posted by blbeacham83 on February 21, 2006 at 1:31 PM (PDT)

29

This is a very good case! I find that the click wheel actually works better with the case than without. I bought a frosted black for my black 60G (the one that looks brown in the photos). In real life it looks less brown than the pics - depending on the light. Hold switch is no problem to operate, just use your finger nail. For the price, I can't imagine you could do better.

Posted by gregj on February 27, 2006 at 8:47 PM (PDT)

30

does anyone have the white case...i've been wondering for cases in general that are partially translucent, can you see the engravings on the back of the ipod?

Posted by chanel on March 2, 2006 at 9:23 PM (PDT)

31

Just got a lime green case for my 60GB black iPod. Overall, it's a perfect fit, but the colour is a bit yellower than I expected. Also the screen cover came with some scratches, which is disappointing. I really wanted to use this with the belt clip, but since the silicone is so soft, the iPod does lean forward a bit whether the clip is vertically or horizontally positioned. On the plus side, the click wheel is indeed more pleasant to use while in the case.

This case is transluscent and I could read the "iPod" on the back, but not the serial number part so I doubt engravings would show through.

Posted by molala on March 23, 2006 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

32

Well, I got the case last night after ordering just 6 days ago. The service was excellent from their end!

I took off the belt clip and installed right away...simple and easy with no problems. I got the frosted black for my black iPod. Looks and feels great. Fit is excellent on the 30G version.

As others have said, the click wheel seems to work better with it in the case than without. I love that it adds a ridge so that my thumb doesn't slip off of it.

The only complaint I have is with the hold switch. I have been using the fingernail method as others have said and I'm already starting to see wear on the case in that area. Is anyone else seeing this problem? I'm thinking I might exacto out that little part around the hold switch. Thoughts?

Posted by edwardvena on April 26, 2006 at 7:45 AM (PDT)

33

I see my fingernail has also nicked the silicone at each end of the hold switch, if these tiny holes get any bigger I will probably cut around the switch as well.

Another positive customer service report - Vinko sent me a new screen cover when I emailed them about the scratches. They emailed same day, and the item arrived here in the UK about a week later. I wish all sellers were like them.

Posted by molala on May 7, 2006 at 9:13 AM (PDT)

34

Does any one know if there is a website that sells these besides the one listed because it isint working for me?

Posted by Scribble in Fort Collins on April 8, 2007 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.