Catherine’s Pita iPod Cozies | iLounge

Reviews

1

Regarding the "naturally deteriorating denim fringe": it's a bit hard to see, but it looks as if the edges are overlocked/serged. This is an acceptable way to finish raw edges, despite the raggedy look; it will fray a certain amount and then no more. A lot of commercial clothing is finished with serging, and is meant to go in a washer and dryer -- if it can stand that, it can stand being in your backpack.

I think that you should have the durability of handmade cases assessed by someone who sews, as these things aren't always obvious.

Posted by Ninotchka on December 9, 2004 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

2

I disagree with the concept of not judging Ipod cases by their appearance and design. This is an excellent opportunity for the Ipod Lounge to make its mark in both philosophy and attitude.

Posted by wickedbob on December 9, 2004 at 2:52 PM (PDT)

3

i would buy it if i had access to the click wheel...

Posted by snowboogiethunder on December 9, 2004 at 9:55 PM (PDT)

4

Ninotchka: The cases didn't appear to be either serged or overlocked; the fray was there, and loose. We didn't say a case would fall apart, only that its edges were likely to deteriorate over time. They wouldn't have rated the B if they had a likelihood of completely decomposing.

Wickedbob: Fashion cases are the only cases we're making an exception for - we're not going to convince someone that what they think is "cute" isn't.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 9, 2004 at 11:29 PM (PDT)

5

It IS serged (which is the same thing as overlocked). Yes, people should be aware that it will fray down to the serge line, as it is meant to.

It would be a sign of slightly higher quality if it were "pre-frayed" -- i.e., if all the loose thread had already been picked out, so that it reached you at maximum fray.

Posted by Ninotchka on December 10, 2004 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

6

Why don't i take a dirty sock, sell it for 25 bucks, and call it an iPOD accessory?

Posted by vinny151 on January 29, 2005 at 1:32 PM (PDT)

7

it is obviously not a dirty sock. that's apple's department, vinny151. these are actually pretty cool, if a little bit pricey.

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on February 6, 2005 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

8

They need to go one design further and make one with the clear, wheel and screen accessible front and the cute patch on the back. Then we'll talk.

As for the overall look of the thing, I think it's cool.

Posted by kingpause on February 11, 2005 at 8:34 AM (PDT)

9

Oops, I see on their site that they actually do have one with the clear front and a cute patch on back (though the clear part doesn't look nearly as neat and open as the one in the above picture).

Posted by kingpause on February 11, 2005 at 8:40 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.