Contour Design iSee nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

So, exactly how big of a headphone jack will fit? I use Koss KSC-75 and KSC-50 that have the angled plug. Will this type of plug fit? Also, I didn't see any mention of the integrated cord clip in the review.

Posted by Railrider on November 2, 2005 at 9:14 PM (PDT)

2

I think iLounge totally missed the fact that you can use your headphone cable as a Lanyard using the clip on this case.

Finally a case comes out that keeps the beauty of the ipod, doesn't look like a child made it as with most of the other leather cases etc and iLounge give this a B rating....I really don't know...

Posted by Xerxes on November 3, 2005 at 2:38 AM (PDT)

3

Railrider,
I have used this case with the angled plugs on the Etymotics and Shure E2 with no problems.

Posted by Bob Levens in UK on November 3, 2005 at 3:46 AM (PDT)

4

Great point Xerxes,
I was really interested in this case and looking forward to see the review before making up my mind.
It makes no sense to rate the Apple Nano Tubes higher than this when they offer no screen protection at all and require a bigger $ outlay.
I think the clear case is the only thing that can truly show off the nano, skins just hide it under ghastly colour choices - the iskin duo having the worst.

Posted by snappy on November 3, 2005 at 11:34 AM (PDT)

5

Bob:
Thanks for confirming that about the angled headphones. I've ordered one of these cases, so I wanted to make sure.

Xerxes and Snappy:
Couldn't agree more. I think at the worst this case should have an A minus rating. I can't believe that the iSkin duo got a better rating. They might protect just about every millimeter but they look like absolute poop.

Also, I really could care less if the case will scratch: the whole point of it is to protect the jewel inside.

Posted by Railrider on November 3, 2005 at 9:00 PM (PDT)

6

i just bought the apple lanyard headphones and i wondered if i can use the isee nano case with them?

Posted by bensonpod7 on November 4, 2005 at 2:20 AM (PDT)

7

"Not compatible with larger headphone plugs." Can someone quantify this? How much space is there for a headphone plug? How far out from the nano does the case extend (thickness) at the headphone port? My Shure e3c plug has a 6 mm inner diameter (metal) with a 1 mm offet to the 9 mm outer diameter (plastic) and I hope that it would fit.

"Clear plastic housing is easy to scratch." Is it as easy to scratch as the nano? I have a polycarbonate case for my psp and it does not scratch as easily nor are the scratches as noticeable. According to their website, the iSee is also a polycarbonate case.

Will a crystal film-covered nano fit inside?

This is much, much better looking than the ho-hum iSkin Duo. If my headphone plug fits,
I'm sold on it!

Posted by kemphoto on November 4, 2005 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

8

I'm also interested if UE Super.fi 5 Pro plug will fit. It's angular and relatively big. Anybody knows?

Posted by klopus on November 7, 2005 at 9:14 AM (PDT)

9

How about grado sr60s? Hope they fit.

Also, has anyone seen powersupportusa's crystal nano jacket?

http://www.powersupportusa.com/products/ipod/nano_crystaljack.php

Its a very similar product, but it comes with a crystal film to protect the wheel and i also wanted to know if it had the same headphone port issues this thing has.

Posted by lakingengot99 on November 8, 2005 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

10

bensonpod7,

Have just got one of these...yes the apple lanyard earphones fit. A good case as far as i'm concerned. The click-wheel can look after itself.

Rob

Posted by m171757 on November 11, 2005 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

11

I can now answer to myslef - yes, UE super.fi 5 pro's headphone jack fits fine into this case.

In general I'm very happy with this case. It's very well designed, handy and black nano stunning looks bleed awesomely thru the case. Scroll wheel opening is deeply recessed so I'm not worrying much about wheel protection. Hey, it's a personal jukebox and not some jewel to be kept in a bank safe!

Actually, I'm very happy that nano's scroll wheel, hold button and bottom are open. Never could understand why for the cases like this Jeremy (main site reviewer) considers this as negatives. For me it's a huge positive!

I want a usable case and not titanium safe. I have my nano in a pocket at the gym and on the go and frequntly need to blindly hold/unhold to change volume, skip song, etc. At home I don't want to take the thing off of the case just to stick in a charger or sync cable.

Posted by klopus on November 12, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

12

m171757,

thanks for the tip Rob. i was just concerned that it wouldn't have fit and then i'll be throwing money away just like i do with most of my investments. Now i gotta find a stockist in the uk for this case. Cheers Mate!!!

Posted by bensonpod7 on November 17, 2005 at 4:15 AM (PDT)

13

how does this compare to the Agent 18 shield? (in terms of durability/abrasion and convenience?)

Posted by xxbabygirl01ox on November 26, 2005 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

14

I agree with the above posters when they mention that cases, like the Apple Nano Tubes w/o Screen Protection get better ratings then this case. In my opinion, cases that do not offer screen protection should receive an "F". They completely fail to protect the most important component of an iPod. The Screen.

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on December 11, 2005 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

15

just picked this case up at the apple store, and im loving it! i highly recommend it. if you are so anal that you have to have every square millimeter of your nano covered, then maybe you shouldnt look into this, but for those of us that look at the big picture, this is an awesome case.

Posted by ceejbay on December 20, 2005 at 7:29 PM (PDT)

16

iSee-nano is so much better than similar Crystal Jacket (http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/power-support-crystal-jacket-for-ipod-nano-ipod) which I also have. Really can't understand why Jeremy gave Crystal Jacket higher rating. Having all that wrapping film supplied is nice but compared to iSee-nano as a case Crystal is just not sturdy and secure enough and isn't that well made.

I'm talking about real active usage like at the gym where I use my iPod most. Where iSee-nano clip would stay secure on tye edge of my pants meager Crystal clip would move around. Worse on several occasions when I tugged cord a bit case just simply slipped out of the clip. Even worse after it felt on the mat (I'm lucky smile ) it was too much for wimpy Crystal to stay secure. It simply cracked open almost letting Nano out.

Nothing like this ever happened with iSee-nano. It's just plain simply better designed to stay secure, both clip and a case abd built like a tank. Additionally it seems to be made of tougher grade plastic and parts fit better without any slack that's so eveident with Crystal jacket. By contrast Crystal Jacket feels fragile and acts like that.

As I see only things going for Crystal are those bundled film strips (can be bought separately) and that it's a bit narrower. Latter can be viewed as a downside since a little extra width affords iSee-nano more protection without ruining Nano's awesome form factor.

On a side note I don't understand Jeremy's indiscriminate obssesion with false security. It's unreasonable to downgrade cases like iSee-nano for leaving opened hold switch and bottom connectors. Fully covering everything just gets in a way of function. It all depends upon intended usage patterns for the particulat rype of the case.

Posted by klopus on January 7, 2006 at 10:44 PM (PDT)

17

So, is the clip strong enough to Stay on my gym shorts and i am able to move freely?

Posted by Tender on January 10, 2006 at 6:39 PM (PDT)

18

errr..one more thing..How does the clip go on? does it go the same direction teh ipod stands. Because if you clip it onto yo ur pocket the headphone plug will be bending.

http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/1043/untitled1sd.jpg

So when its clipped onto your pants the headphones will bend like that rite? -__-

Posted by Tender on January 10, 2006 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

19

Tender: The iSee's belt clip orients the nano correctly, with the bottom facing up.

Posted by Nonsuch on January 12, 2006 at 2:21 PM (PDT)

20

I bought the Agent 18 first. I really like it, it's sturdy and sleek. But because it consists of 3 pieces (one is snapped on on the bottom of the iPod), and the lack of a belt-clip, I decided to buy the iSee-nano too. Mainly because I was afraid Agent 18's bottom piece would scratch the iPod (which hasn't occured (yet)) but also because I wanted to use my iPod in the gym (->beltclip). And a huge (cosmetic) con is that there are two vertical mold-lines on the frontcover of the Agent 18. They are especially noticeable if backlight's on but after a while I got used to it and actually forgot about them. After a couple times of snapping on and off the Agent 18, i conclude that they don't scratch the iPod.

After I had snapped the iSee-nano on, I was disappointed already. First, there are these "wet-spots", probably caused by some skin oil. I wiped both the nano and the iSee-nano case several times (with a guitar polish cloth) but those "wet-spots" wouldn't dissapear. Second, the iSee-nano feels cheaper and less protective than the Agent 18 case. Third, the belt-clip isn't very secure, it's just a piece of plastic you snap on. Notice it's not like XtremeMac Microshield's belt-clip, you don't push the clip to "open" it. Fourth, the iSee-nano has this cablegrip sticking out a little bit. Most people probably don't mind, I do. I like my case to be sleek and minimal. Also, I can't imagine using my headphones as a lanyard.

If you are cosidering to buy either the iSee-nano or the Agent 18 case plus you don't really need a belt-clip, I would recommend Agent 18 because it's more sturdy and sleek and there are no "wet-spots". More sturdy doesn't mean it adds more thickness to your iPod than the iSee-nano, there's no significant difference to me.

I got both cases a couple of days ago so I can't say anything about durability or abrasion, but I think scratches on the Agent 18 will be less noticeable because of the frosted surface.

I hope this review helpes and none of you will waste money on a second case like I did. (I also bought the iPod socks..ugh..I'm overprotective).

Posted by nanorookie on January 14, 2006 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.