Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

81

Great case. I'm really impressed with it. I feel my I pod is safe now. Well worth the money.

Posted by JPhill316 on October 18, 2004 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

82

I bought a Showcase recently and while it certainly gets the job done I'm a little disappointed with it.

First off, I avoided buying rubber "skin" cases because I read lots of reviews about them being too grippy and tending to stick in your pocket. I went with the Showcase because I assumed it was hard plastic on the outside and grippy, cushiony rubber on the inside, but if anything it seems to be the inverse.

Second, the Contour doesn't come tailored to certain iPod sizes, so you get a one size fit all, rather bulky package intended for 40 gig 4Gs and a small foam ring to help slimmer iPods fit in the case snuggly. It turns my iPod from an attractive allbeit vulnerable slim pack to a clunky, awkward circa 1980s hand radio. It'd be nice if the Showcase came in fitted sizes.

Finally, one of the big selling points on the Showcase is that the clear plastic front and back let you "display" your iPod safely, but the fact of the matter is the clunkiness of the case and the dull-looking grippy rubber on the sides masks the attractive casing of the iPod.

It's great if you want to keep your iPod from getting scratched, but as a never-take-off case it's too unattractive, uncomfortable, and impractical.

Posted by Cadmus on October 20, 2004 at 9:26 PM (PDT)

83

Just picked up a Showcase 4G from the Cleveland Apple Store. They had them hidden behind other stock. Almost didn't find one. But they're there. Anyway, excellent case. Seems very rugged. I'll be using it mainly in the car to avoid scratches. It seems a bit big to use while exercising. It adds a more than a few ounces which I would probably pull down your shorts :-D If you want to exercise with your iPod I'd recommend inCase's Nylon Belt (http://www.goincase.com/prod_ipod/prod_iPod_belt.php).

Posted by Pete on October 22, 2004 at 5:35 AM (PDT)

84

Just thought you guys should know that Gaming Nexus is givin awy one of thes cases

Posted by Mike on October 29, 2004 at 12:27 PM (PDT)

85

I just ordered mine from the Aplle website & I love it! It completely covers the 4G & it's not bulky. The belt clip doesn't work to well with thicker belts, but that's o.k. Aplle is selling the white case for $29, while the black case goes for $20. I wonder why there's a difference???

Posted by saejanus in USA on December 7, 2004 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

86

Just received my Showcase Photo case for my iPod photo 60GB and it's nearly perfect after creating an exhausting online search for the ideal case.

PROS: displays iPod nicely without comprising the unit's good looks; clear front panel protects the iPod's screen while allowing a clear view to it; easily loads and unloads the iPod; rubberized outer edges are solid, yet thin enough to add minimal bulk to the iPod; secure closure clip is solid -- don't feel like there's much that's going to crack this baby open accidentally; soft edge cutout for click wheel allows for comfortable scrolling; installation of belt clip is optional and is very easy to take on and take off the case body; belt clip feels very solid; iPod sits very snugly and securely in the case.

CONS: belt clip is too cumbersome to put on belt; opening for dock connector is slightly too small to accommodate certain accessories (my SendStation Pocket Dock will not fit with the case on).

I am sure that the clear case front is going to get scratched up eventually, but better the case than my iPod!

Other cases I considered: Vaja i-Volution because it offers everything the Showcase does. Unfortunately, the 300% cost over the Showcase, combined with the long order time and pricey shipping costs, put me off.

Posted by ioff13 in Montclair, NJ on December 10, 2004 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

87

I just recieved the Contour Showcase along with my name Ipod 4G 40GB

This is a great case and i would highly recomend it to anyone.

The only problem i have with this case is the belt clip. It's easier to pull off your belt clip, then it is to put it on. it can take me up to 30seconds just to put it on becuase of it;s desig, while i can pull it off within 5 seconds usually. it should always be harder to take off, then put on. makes a safe clip. although i have to stop what im doing and use both hands to put it on, it is still a great case! you should buy it!

Posted by pumalife in arizona on December 17, 2004 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

88

Does anyone have a clue as to how much plastic would need to be removed from the top to allow an ITrip or ITalk to connect while remaining in the case? Has anyone tried modding the case to fit with the attachments?

Anyone know of a good metal or plastic case that WILL allow the use of ITrip in case?

Posted by Erucolindon on January 3, 2005 at 10:19 AM (PDT)

89

does this case scratch easily? does the foam insert do its job well? if you have a 20gb, does the case seem unnecessarily bulky?

Posted by podman527 on January 3, 2005 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

90

I found a site which sells the 4G Showcase for just $29 and there wasn't any tax or shipping costs where I live. I don't know if this will work for all but it is called Clubmac. I found it at bizrate.com so check it out you might get a good deal.

Posted by pageturner1988 on January 3, 2005 at 3:11 PM (PDT)

91

amazon also sells for cheap

Posted by podman527 on January 3, 2005 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

92

this case sounds good so far...even though it would be nice to have some other colors. i am looking for a case for my 20gb ipod and i don't use a dock. the main concern i have is that i need to be able to use my monster icarplay FM transmitter w/o taking the ipod out of the case...will this one work for that??? if not does anyone know of a good case i should look into???

Posted by rae-pae on January 9, 2005 at 9:36 AM (PDT)

93

I recently purchased a Showcase 4G and really dig it. The store I bought it from only had white at the time... shortly after, my homie got a black one... once I saw it, I instantly hated the white. Anyway, I decided to try and ruin it, just so I had a good excuse to buy the black one. I dipped it in some RIT dye (a little Golden Yellow, then some Scarlet, then Golden Yellow) and was shocked at how well this thing took to being dyed. I may get another whitey, just to play with some other colors... I see a light green Showcase in my near future.

If you try it, dip it only for a few minutes at first, the rubber sucks up the dye real quick. Also, the latch is real easy to take off (push the pin through with a paper clip), and that's what I'll do next time... the latch didn't take the dye much at all, just a little tint, which just looks kinda sloppy.

Anyway, here's a pic...

http://home.earthlink.net/~skipjimson/images/iPod/orangecase.jpg

Posted by skipjimson on January 11, 2005 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

94

Just thought I'd chip in from the UK. Picked mine up from Apple's new UK store in London. Must say I had my eye on several metal cases, but whilst at the Apple store I had the chance to 'physically' handle the case and fell for it hook line & sinker. I love the fact that it mounts horizontally and very securely, is easy to open and shut, feels very secure in the hand thanks to its rubber polymer casing and overall it just compliments my 4G 20G U2 iPod.

I notice there's even enough room in the back (under the shim) to place surplus earphone cable. If there's one gripe (and it's a small one), there should be some sort of detachable cover for the usb port.

The UK price is 29.99 uk pounds (about 60.00 usd and about 85.00 cd) so we're being shafted even without customs and shipments fees.

Posted by iZON in London on January 14, 2005 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

95

...Forgot to add, I bought the black one smile

Posted by iZON in London on January 14, 2005 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

96

I just ordered this case and read on apple discussion board that a person had problems with it scratching the ipod. Has anyone noticed this problem or is that person just smoking too much wacky weed?

Posted by Moshman in USA-CA on January 18, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

97

Well, let me tell ya, I am impressed. I ordered the showcase on Monday (1/18) afternoon, and it was on my doorstep Tuesday evening. So far, I like the case a lot. I may look into dying it (damn fine job, skipjimson) but it's fine for me naturally white. Strong case, doesn't add too much weight or bulk. I have the 20gig and it fits very snugly with the foam. Oh, did I mention it only cost $18? After shipping = $27 and some change. I got it from SpaceCenter systems and they did a great job.

Posted by StrobesAU on January 18, 2005 at 11:40 PM (PDT)

98

Devin Glew-Did you have to pay PST then? (Alberta doesn't have PST right?) Cause if not that would be really awesome!

To those in the Toronto area, carbon computing has them and the I-See as well all for $39.95. [url=http://www.carbonation.com]http://www.carbonation.com[/url] Though when I went yesterday they had to re-order more.

Posted by showrunner on January 19, 2005 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

99

will this crack easily.

Posted by kelkel010 in America on January 20, 2005 at 4:34 PM (PDT)

100

I have been searching for the best protection for my new U2 iPod and found that this review helped me decide. I purchased my Contour Showcase from the local Apple store this weekend, they finaly had the black one in stock. I am very pleased so far with the protection that this case provides and now I can truly start enjoying my U2 iPod. Previously handeling of the naked iPod, even with the utmost care, still somehow managed to cause small scratches on it which is most noticeable in bright lighting. In regard to the exposed click wheel, I have yet to find a good click wheel cover to use with the Showcase that is sold in a local store. Untill I do, I have left the plastic film that was already on the click wheel when the iPod arrived from the factory. It seems to be working fine though it does tend to wrinkle a little, but not enough to cause me to have to remove it yet.
I've decide to use that untill I can find something better.
I highly recommend the Showcase for reasons stated in the review.

Posted by Drebe73 in Florida on January 23, 2005 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 7 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.