Contour Design Showcase | iLounge

Reviews

1

I did a massive amount of research before choosing the case that would protect my $500 investment -- and the Showcase was far and away the best option. Excellent protection, cool looks, and you retain the functionality of your iPod. Excellent.

I have to disagree with "The Bad" portion of the review, though -- the interior of the case *does* provide rubber "bumpers" so that your iPod never actually touches the plastic casing.

Dave S.

Posted by Dave Schaefer on November 11, 2003 at 4:43 AM (PDT)

2

I owned the iSee case, and emailed Contour Design about the design problem that would not allow popular accessories such as the iTrip to be attached. I wound up cutting out the top of the case so it would work.

I received my ShowCase last week, and it has the same design problem, but would be much more difficult to cut out.

Why Contour Design would take the time they did to bring this nicely made product to market without dealing with the design does not make sense. i just sent mine back.

Posted by Dudley Warner on November 11, 2003 at 4:44 AM (PDT)

3

I just ordered the new Showcase for my 3G 10gig. I appreciate the see-through design - unlike some of the other cases out there. Attaching an iTrip is a non-issue for me because I stopped using it due to the sporadic effectiveness of grabbing an FM frequency and its lo-fi sound quality. I find the Belkin FM transmitters sound better. However, since my Toyota Matrix XRS car stereo has an auxillary jack on the back, FM transmitters are no match.

Posted by Eddie on November 11, 2003 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

4

I'm hoping this'll be good case. i like the door action at the front. i had a speck flipstand and it scratched my new ipod the first time i slid the ipod into it. not good. stear well clear of that case.

Posted by andy h on November 11, 2003 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

5

I just ordered one and they are back-ordered until the 20th. Not a problem for me but just thought people should know... I am excited becuase it look like one heck of a product.!

Posted by Paul Rogers on November 12, 2003 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

6

I don't understand the foam you talked about? So there is a piece of foam that covers the whole back? That doesn't sound good. So this foam is just open to the outside world through that hole? Why not have little rubber stops like on the old iSee? Better yet why doesn't this company make these for each dang iPod instead?

Posted by OldSkool on November 12, 2003 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

7

Shame Contour aren't doing a version of the old isee case for the 3g ipods. this case is ok but still seems abit fussy.

Posted by Sam on November 13, 2003 at 1:17 AM (PDT)

8

the latch may be a mechanical wonder but it broke on the first day.

Posted by reuteler on November 13, 2003 at 11:21 AM (PDT)

9

This showcase is the 'bees knees'. The product is just awesome. I just can't believe how good it looks. I have posted before and seen pictures and have made remarks about the case looking good.
Ignore it all and go for the superlative.

My buddy just got his and I have stolen it from him. (I'll buy him a replacement from the Apple Store).

I have been working with high-tech plastics for a while. I believe I have an understanding of the engineering side that few people have on average.


This is extremely difficult engineering to accomplish. Period. They way they have been able to get white rubber and clear plastic to work together like this....This is tooling and workmanship. NO WONDER THEY HAVE TAKEN SO LONG TO MAKE THIS. ITs BLOODY HARD TO MAKE.

I can vouch just looking at this that this product must have been a '#####' to design, tool and manufacture. How can they afford to sell this at $40.00. They must be projecting a #### load in volume to make up for this low price.

Dudley Warner - forget the iTrip. Get the belkin product - it is better and it fits!

Reuteler - The latch broke. I tried all way to Sunday to yank it up and down and off. It stayed on. If I were you I would get a replacement. It must be one of a small batch which might have a weak latch....

To summarise
Contour well done! Great Showcase Period!
Well done on the web-site too (rest of it still sucks and slight improvement on the navigation).


1 UniMouse, 1 MiniPro, 1 RollerMouse, 3 iSee, 1 Showcase and counting. This company understands users....Great products but your website still sucks.

Posted by Jaldi on November 14, 2003 at 2:37 PM (PDT)

10

Jaldi designed the showcase then. wink

Posted by passin' thru on November 16, 2003 at 8:05 AM (PDT)

11

Great case. I was lured to Contour because of its iSee: durability and beauty because you could see the iPod so well. I was skeptical that the Showcase would look as good as the iPod without a case, but it really, really fits. They just go together incredibly well, and look beautiful.

And, it really does feel rugged and strong. Not that I've dropped it, but it sure seems like it can take an impact. The rubber material is much like the material on the longest lasting Walkman I ever bought some ten years ago, so I trust it. And I find it very easy to open and and close it, with no loss of stability in the process.

Overall, really well done. I only wish that there was a dock with the same functionality as Apple's dock that allows you to keep the iPod in the case and connect it to the dock (I love the dock! so I end up taking it out of the case when I'm at home.)

Posted by Brent on November 16, 2003 at 4:58 PM (PDT)

12

Here's my brother's 40 bucks worth on the Contour "Showcase"...
http://www.ipodlounge.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15544

Posted by Norith in Santa Rosa, CA on November 17, 2003 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

13

I haven't received my contour case yet (so I don't know if it's actually any good or not) but I have to disagree. I think the speck case is pretty horrible. I was very disappointed with it. The lid didn't close properly and it even scratched my ipod, and as for the dock - it's just a hunk of white plastic with an unsightly and uninspired speck logo on the front of it. I'd rather remove the ipod from whichever case and use apples dock as intended. Much better designed than some second rate third party version.

Posted by andy h on November 19, 2003 at 2:26 AM (PDT)

14

wow.. cool product. Its US$35 at apple store. yumm..

Posted by Mamamiya on November 19, 2003 at 3:48 AM (PDT)

15

Just got my Showcase. Was going to get the new case from XtremeMac since I had their original one for my 5GB iPod and really liked it. I ordered it in August but it was on backorder through October with no end in sight. By then I got my $20 discount for renewing .Mac so i canceled the order and applied the discount toward the same product from the Apple Store since I was waiting anyway. A few days later, I saw an article for the Showcase. It looked intriguing so I went to the Contour website to get more info. Unfortunately, the website had very little info and no good pics. I did a Google search on the Showcase and stumbled upon this site and the EXCELLENT review. After seeing all the AWESOME pictures in the review I was sold. Immediately called the Apple Store and ditched the XtremeMac case for the Showcase!

As I said it arrived today. Awesome look, fit, and overall workmanship. Thus far I am very pleased, though I am keeping an eye out to see if the latch will hold up over time. I definitely recommend this product!

OAW

Posted by OAW on November 20, 2003 at 5:04 PM (PDT)

16

Received my showcase also. Very impressed so far! Great fit. Has a nice feel and actually looks great on the ipod. Does feel like a quality product. One quibble. The rubber seems to get dirty very easily so it might look a bit grubby after a while. But I most definitely recommend the showcase too.

Posted by andy h on November 21, 2003 at 3:02 AM (PDT)

17

Jeezus chripes.....i cant press buttons with those tiny finger holes..anyone else having that problem?

Posted by Brock on December 6, 2003 at 7:03 PM (PDT)

18

Yes, but the Speck Flipstand case is worse, probably being designed by fine boned Asians. At least Contour's is better, but not perfect in that regard

Posted by Norith in Santa Rosa, CA on December 8, 2003 at 12:11 AM (PDT)

19

To Brock,

I agree the button's can be difficult to press with any case on the iPod. If it helps, I've found that the lighter you attempt to press the buttons the easier they will respond to touch, rather than pressing harder.

Posted by Dijon on December 8, 2003 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

20

Its just the ticket, and for a change an accessory that can be purchased over the counter in the uk (30)

It looks good, is robust & best of all looks like someone took the iPods aesthetics into account when designing it.

Well done!

Posted by PROvider on December 16, 2003 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.