Contour Design Showcase | iLounge

Reviews

21

Just bought the showcase from John Lewis in the UK. Totally wicked cool!. I checked out all the cases available in the past couple of months and I am happy I waited to buy this one. It is a bargain at 30 (incl VAT). John Lewis is usually picky in what they choose to sell - so that is also a plus for whoever makes the Showcase.

Posted by Charles on December 24, 2003 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

22

I just got the contour showcase for christmas, no scratches, and since I'm a real clutz with my ipod and dropped it twice the same day. It held up like heck. great case. buy one today.

Posted by Martin on December 25, 2003 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

23

How does the iTrip fit on this baby?

Posted by Hammer on December 25, 2003 at 11:35 PM (PDT)

24

I enlarged the top hole with a cutter and the iTrip fits.

Posted by Xian on December 26, 2003 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

25

I just bought a Showcase yesterday. When I got it home and had a good look at it I noticed several deep scratches/cracks in the front glass. I took it back to the shop and exchanged it for another one. This one also had some scratches on the front. The saleswoman said that the glass easily cracks on this product. Has anyone else had this problem? I can't trust the case to protect my ipod if the front glass cracks so easily.

Posted by PJ on December 31, 2003 at 4:38 PM (PDT)

26

Sorry glass = plastic

Doh!

Posted by PJ on December 31, 2003 at 5:07 PM (PDT)

27

PJ, It doesn't break i dropped mine several times already and nothing happens to it. It does come with scratches but it'll get scracthed anyway, better the case than your ipod. Hope this helps.

Posted by Martin on January 2, 2004 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

28

I have had my Showcase for a few days. I wanted a case that would not restrict my use but protect as much as possible. The Showcase meets both of these.
I can connect to the enclosed iPod without any trouble. Ok, I can't pop it in my dock, but it is easy to remove if I want to. This is a small sacrifice.
However, this could be a potential weak point. While I see no evidence of weakness, it will be interesting to see how the white rubber that forms the hinge stands up to extensive opening/closing.
As I intend leaving my iPod in the case 99.9% of the time, this doesn't concern me personally, but I hope that Contour have tested this enough.

It doesn't add much bulk or weight to the ipod. The ipod sits on little rubber pads which protrude through the plastic inside the case, so while the iPod is held firmly,the case isn't acting as a skin. This means that slight knocks may not directly impact on your iPod.

I don't find the access to the buttons that much of a problem. Now I've got used to it, I hardly miss a key press. Also as the buttons are now recessed, I don't need to use the hold button.

The latch which holds the case shut seems secure-it doesn't "pop" open at the slightest touch. The belt clip actually covers the latch, and it seems impossible for the case to be opened in normal use while the belt clip is attached.
The belt clip is held on by a spring-loaded clip. This spring is quite strong, and although can be opened with reasonable applied force, it seems strong enough that it won't open if caught by your shirt/jacket/headphone lead etc.
It sits very comfortably in a horizontal postion on your belt. It feels a tight fit on my belt and needs some effort to get it off, but this may vary depending on what size/thickness your belt is.
I would have preferred the type of clip that actually closes over your belt. My XDA case belt-clip is great, as you have to push a button to release it from you belt. This really is my only gripe.
Being white rubber, of course its going to get dirty and marked. Mine is already looking grubby, but I don't mind. This means that the case is doing its job.

The best case for your ipod because it does what a case is meant to do,
and I only paid 29.95 over the counter at John Lewis.

Posted by rob on January 8, 2004 at 6:01 AM (PDT)

29

If i understand well, one size fits all. So, this mean that if i buy this case for my 10gb iPod, i must use a foam, and the result is a 10gb ipod with the size of a 40gb iPod. Am i right? Can somone who bought this case comment about that?

Posted by xav on January 8, 2004 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

30

yes, one size fits all. A foam pad sits in the case, and your iPod sits on top.

Posted by rob on January 9, 2004 at 2:58 AM (PDT)

31

it the case cumbersome for weight training and light cardio (elliptical, bikes)?

Posted by mistewacko on January 12, 2004 at 10:43 PM (PDT)

32

Not at all (in my opinion).
The horizontal position makes it more comfortable. Just make sure it fits snuglt on some kind of belt or similar.

Posted by rob on January 13, 2004 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

33

Is this case any good for jogging with? or does any one know of one that is, even if it is not as well dseigned ?

Posted by Hatti on January 14, 2004 at 6:52 AM (PDT)

34

this case , when i put it in my bad immediatley immerged with scratches all over, and i found the plastic to be very brittle, with cracks down in (possibly due to stress?) this is just my experience, maybe it is my wild lifestyle.......

Posted by ben smith on January 20, 2004 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

35

I just got my case yesterday and am going to try it out at the gym tonight with weightlifting and running for at least 30 mins.

As far as fit and finish, I think this thing is awesome!

Posted by Peter on January 22, 2004 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

36

Oh yeah, I picked these up at TheNerds.net for 28.04 plus 9.99 for shipping for a total of 38.03!

Posted by Peter on January 22, 2004 at 9:28 AM (PDT)

37

got mine with some small cracks at around the holes, but i'm not worried about that. case is totally neat, and the belt is really strong too! been using it while doing jump training (which requires a lot of jumping) and it's never slipped at all. looks beautiful.

Posted by awaitingtheday on February 8, 2004 at 10:09 AM (PDT)

38

I just got my Contour design case for my 40 GB ipod and I have been very pleased with it. I looked at a lot of cases before deciding on this one, here are the benefits of the Contour:

* Protects the ipod very well from drops, scratches and general use in the car
* Has a good clip-on attachment
* Clear front to show entire ipod
* Slim design

Thumbs up all around! The rubber can get a bit dirty from wear but you can easily clean it with a sponge and dishwashing liquid.

Posted by sfipod on February 20, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

39

anyone have any problems with this fitting in the car's cup holder?

thanks

Posted by badkitty on February 24, 2004 at 8:57 AM (PDT)

40

I'm wondering what ever possesses someone to ask such a lame and ridiculous question... Out of the zillions of cars on the planet, it must surely fit ONE, so go and buy THAT car to fit your Contour case.

It won't fit into the computer's CD/Cup Holder either. How inconsiderate of Contour, not to take that into account smile

Posted by Tuk on February 24, 2004 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.