Contour Design Showcase video 30/60 | iLounge

Reviews

1

Love this case, but the only downsides (besides lack of click wheel protection and the unnessecarily large opening at the bottom, neither of which are big deals), is the ability of the case to be scratched just as easily as the iPod. My other Contour design case (the clear one) is still mostly scratch free, but just being in my pocket (alone) this ones surface is marred like it had a very fine sandpaper on it, with 2 or 3 bigger scratches. Not suitable for watching video on anymore, but still a great case for just carrying the iPod. Hopefully they will fix the scratching problem ASAP (I've emailed them to let them know). Also notable, the headphone port opening is nice and big, no problem like their clear case with the tiny opening. I love the new door hinges too.

Posted by trioptimumonline on March 8, 2006 at 5:18 AM (PDT)

2

Jeremy, will the dock connecting AirClick remote work with this case?

Posted by Tenchi211 in California on March 8, 2006 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

3

Does the dock mounting iTrip work with this case?

Posted by Suspense on March 9, 2006 at 2:49 AM (PDT)

4

I got my 60GB iPod Video for Christmas and searched everywhere for the right case until the Contour Showcase came out for the iPod Viedo. I ordered it last week and received it by FedEx yesterday.

I am quite impressed with its design and workmanship. My iPod fits in it like a glove. There is absolutely no movement of the iPod. At the same time, however, you can easily open the case and take the iPod out without any hassle. The belt clip, which I actually use, is sturdy and does not appear to be able to come off by itself. It clips on the case and is held on tightly with a spring. Based upon prior reports, I am expecting the plastic case to get some scratches on it, but better the case than my iPod.

So far, I am quite pleased and would highly recommend this case, especially if you are looking for a case that will keep your iPod looking like an iPod.

Posted by ipodsuperfreak on March 9, 2006 at 2:10 PM (PDT)

5

I received my Contour case and what I did was took the piece of plastic that was covering the front of the case & placed it on the inside of the Contour case to provide click wheel protection. I also use the Macally PodWave speakers with the 5G iPod while using the Contour case as well as the Agent 18 case.

Posted by Audrey McGirt on March 9, 2006 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

6

Can the 30GB video iPod fit into the Universal Dock (without dock adapters), when it's still inside the Contour Design Showcase case?

Posted by johnboob on March 9, 2006 at 9:03 PM (PDT)

7

OK, so I can't vertically mount my iPod on the elliptical machine at the gym with this setup? Hmmmm....I'll pass...


Hard plastic cases should theoretically cause more scratches due to dirt getting trapped between a hard case and the iPod, right?

A soft case might not cause the iPod to scratch as much I would think by not putting as much pressure on the dirt specks?

In any case (pun?), I use those screen protectors from Fellowes called WriteRight and apply it to my 5g30g before using any case. Wheel control works fine, video too, and so do the buttons, even covered up by a mm of plastic...

Personally I like the Speck rubberized case with the white armband attachment. I dremelled the armband piece off and use it as a holder of the iPod in the rubbercase and put a sticky belt clip fob on it for use in the gym. Just cut a little from the bottom and it fits my DLO Home Dock (one for Home and one for Office) and fits into my DLO TransPod car adapter with modifications (dremel!). The rubber case is soft and may help protect my iPod from small drops...unlike hard cases...

To all those trying to fit accessories while keeping your iPod in a case, good luck...it's been my objective since I got my iPod...I've resorted to using a dremel on most accessories...my Speck-ized iPod now fits my Home Docks AND now my car TransPod.

Posted by yagrax on March 15, 2006 at 12:41 AM (PDT)

8

I just bought this case for my 60GB black iPod and I love it. It fits tightly on the the belt and loops arund it just enough to "lock" it into place.

Posted by mccaskil on March 15, 2006 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

9

After using this case for a bit over one week I have to say that I still like it very much and would recommend it. Because the case fits the iPod like a glove, there is little to no space between the iPod and the case. Therefore, I really doubt any specks of dust/dirt will get under the case and scratch the surface of the iPod. Also, while I have not had it very long, the outside of the case remains scratch free.

I do have one concern, however. CountourDesign reassured me when I purchased the case that the spring clip was redesigned and attaches very securely to the case. Nontheless, the clip has unexpectedly come off a few times while I tried pulling the iPod from my pocket. I don't use a belt, but I do clip the iPod to the outside of the pockets on my jeans. I called CountourDesign and complained. They indicated the spring might weak and defective. After arguing with them a bit, they agreed to send me a new clip. I will report later if this problem continues.

Posted by ipodsuperfreak on March 16, 2006 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

10

I have the 60GB case, does not fit in universal dock. 30GB case probably won't fit either because it is to wide and both cases should have the same width.

Posted by crazyd on March 20, 2006 at 1:28 PM (PDT)

11

Hey, I have the 4Generation showcase for my 5generation 30GB ipod and i LOVE it but the only problem is that its too big for my slim ipod so i started looking into this and im pretty sure im going to get it but i wanted someone who has already baught it to answer some questions for me before i order it

1: I the pictures provided it looks like theirs nothing covering the back(im sure this isnt the case, no pun intended) but i need to be sure.

And 2:On the 4generation case the plastic is raised up so that it doesnt scratch the surface but this looks like its a bit closer and I NEED to make sure its raised up at least a TINY bit or else i probly wont get it.

So if someone who owns one or has a friend who owns one or if youve just seen one and inspected one in person i dont care if you know the answer to my questions please tell me.

Posted by jesus/ipodfreak on March 25, 2006 at 11:57 AM (PDT)

12

I've had this case about 2 weeks, and have generally been quite impressed. I did some research on this site, others, and in the stores, and finally accepted the fact that each case is somewhat of a compromise, and this one simply met my needs the best.

My serious contendors were this case and the iSkin evo3. While the iskin offers more coverage, I wanted the dock and hold switch more accessible than that device offers, and the Showcase has nice wide openings for all the frequently accessed ports. Unfortunately, the click wheel is also exposed, although at least protected from surface scratching by being recessed in the case. I'll probably address that issue with some Power Support wheel film.

My primary use for my ipod is on the bus/train and on my desk at work, and the unit is often stuffed into a pocket or backpack as part of my commute. The case now shows several minor scuffs, scratches, and fingerprint smudges as part of this use, but I'm glad the case is taking the abuse instead. I think any rigid plastic case will show significant scratching, so the silicon style case may be a better choice for those concerned about case cosmetics.

Fit and finish on the unit is superb, the rubber edge bumper is a nice design, and the belt clip appears well-engineered, although I've used it very little. Unlike many hard cases I've seen, the flush hinges and clasps are unobtrusive and allow for a really sleek appearance. It does a good job of protecting the most important parts of the ipod while providing generous access for important ports. I use aftermarket headphones with a right angle plug and a SIK IMP line out connector while in my car, and both fit fine.

In summary, design, fit, and finish are excellent, but click wheel protection will require another purchase or selection of another case.

Posted by slimwindowshady on March 27, 2006 at 11:53 AM (PDT)

13

Well, I got the new belt clip from ContourDesign to replace the one I thought was defective. It fits a bit tighter than the one that come with the case. And, at least so far, it appears to be working great. It has not come off like the initial clip did when I tried to unclip it from my pocket. I feel much more secure with it on my hip and can now recommend it if you intend on using the belt clip.

In answer to jesus/superfreak's questions: (1) The clear case completely covers the back of the case. It's interesting you could not tell if there actually was a cover -- that's the whole point of the case! (2) As to whether there is space between the case and the surface of the iPod, I have the 60GB case not the 30GB. Nonetheless, I am going to assume they are made the same. There is VERY little to no space, as far as I can tell. But, because the iPod fits in the case so perfectly, it does not move one little bit. So, I think it is extremely unlikely the case will scratch the surface of the iPod.

Posted by ipodsuperfreak on March 27, 2006 at 11:58 AM (PDT)

14

I have had the Showcase 30 for less than 2 months and the hinge for my case failed! I was very pleased with the case right up until that point. I agree with other comments about the case's scratchability, it does detract from screen watchability. Otherwise, I thought it was a very good product.

Posted by Arthur Ross Jr on May 5, 2006 at 12:09 PM (PDT)

15

Here are my two cents: this is a very sleek, well engineered and finely executed case. I am a designer, and i think it's peerlessly beautiful, it really preserves the essence of the 5G iPod design, and offers great protection while still allowing nearly complete access/usability. However, I am a frequent belt clip user, and though I've had no problems with the clip dis-engaging, and it attaches/detaches to/from the case cleanly, as far as its functionality goes it sucks; very tedious to unhook from a pocket or waistband, and always a two-handed procedure. I use my iPod when i work out, walk, and just generally run around, and this is really a pain to deal with; my previous case had an "alligator"-style clip, which is a much better bet if you don't just park your 'Pod on your belt (presuming you are wearing one) for the duration. This one issue really detracts from my otherwise complete pleasure and satisfaction with using, and just plain looking at, this case...though i must add to the previous comments by noting that in less than a month's (careful) use, the face somewhat scratched up.

If Contour Design can revamp the belt clip to be more userfriendly and adaptable, the Showcase Video30 would be absolute genius.

Posted by silvercloud9 on May 9, 2006 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

16

Just received mine. I recently won a special edition Red Hot Chili Peppers iPod 5g 30gig from a local radio station, and decided I was not going to take any chances with it. After looking at nearly every review i could find, mainly here, on iLounge, I found this case. id fit the bill perfect because of its polycarbonate front and back, allowing me to proudly display the signature engravings of the Red Hot Chili Pepper's, while having the shock absorbing protection of the rubber surround. On top of that this case includes the handy belt clip which can be used almost anywhere. My only complaint about the case is the miniscule amount of machine oil that showed when my iPod was securly locked in tightly, but nothing a little soap and water wont fix. Well worth the premium price in my opinion.

Posted by ColonelPanic on May 17, 2006 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

17

This is an absolutely exceptional case. Probably the best that has ever been offered for iPod. I owned the Showcase for my first iPod (30 GB G4) and was so impressed that I didn't even consider another brand when I purchased my new G5 60GB Video iPod. The newer Showcase is even better (the biggest plus being the recessed dual-slide locking mechanism). Contour Design once again has hit the bullseye for beauty and functionality. AAA+++!

Posted by Ken727 on May 22, 2006 at 8:12 AM (PDT)

18

I picked up this case recently as a concession to reality. I wanted the durability and overall protection that my iSkin evo provides, but didn't want to wrestle my iPod from the iSkin every night when I dock it to my iHome and put it all back together again in the morning. The Showcase thus became my going-to-and-from-work case. It seals securely, provides great overall protection and opens easily.

I was as troubled as anyone about the lack of protection for the click wheel, so I added an iPoDonut, which fit perfectly with the click wheel openning of the Showcase (and, happily, works well even with the silicon click wheel protection membrane of the evo covering it).

I've given up on seeking the unified field theory-equivalent of iPod cases. The Showcase is perfect for going to and from work and supporting the iHome. The evo is my traveling case, allowing me to use my iTrip and providing complete protection (even for the dock, etc.).

The one accessory I'm waiting for (and which could make the Showcase my case of choice) is a mail-to-female extender for the dock that would, essentially, extend the docking port about an eighth of an inch below the iPod. Such a device would fit through the dock cutout of the Showcase and span the thickness of the Showcase and allow a contour-protected iPod to dock to an iHome (or whatever) and allow iTrips and other devices that form a long seam with the bottom of the iPod to work despite the thickness of the Contour or similar cases. Until then, I'll be a two case (at least two) user.

Posted by Mark_M on June 1, 2006 at 8:24 PM (PDT)

19

I have a 5g video iPod and I'm considering this case. However can anyone confirm if the bottom opening would allow either the Belkin or iTrip FM transmitters? I'd hate to make a dual purchase later to find out that the transmitter wouldn't work. Thanks.

Posted by jrakai on June 15, 2006 at 8:16 PM (PDT)

20

just got 60g version of this Case -- Beautifully built - Looks like it'll provide good protection. AND truly beautiful to the eyes (it in no way detracts from the look of the iPod), Fits like a glove, and doesn't add bulk.

I haven't tried (nor am I interested in) the belt clip - so I can't speak to that.

If they added detachable cord control, protection for the dock port the thing would be just about perfect. (thanks to the copious review here I was at least aware of these weaknesses before purchasing.)

I also think Mark M has the best suggestion I've seen anywhere... he wrote above;
"The one accessory I'm waiting for (and which could make the Showcase my case of choice) is a mail-to-female extender for the dock that would, essentially, extend the docking port about an eighth of an inch below the iPod..."

Hope all of the manufacturers rush to be first with his concept.

I also purchased a Marware Sidewinder will add my comments about that under appropriate topic

Must say I'd give both of these cases 4 1/2 stars, But each has differenct stregnths.
xandra

Posted by xandraC on July 12, 2006 at 8:40 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.