Core Cases Aluminum Case for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

Never thought I'd buy an aluminium case for my nano, but looking at the sheer thinness of the design, I've just gone and ordered one (just under $30 shipped to the UK - not bad when you consider they'll probably sell for £20+ over here). They look thinner than my current Contour iSee, which is shortly due to be consigned to the scrap heap due to the "wet spot" issues! The Core Case combined with the Power Support Crystal film should be a fantastic combination....

Posted by Piarco75 on November 22, 2005 at 3:26 AM (PDT)

2

Jeremy-

2 things. Could you comment on the quality of the screen protector? Does it interfere at all with reading the screen, viewing pictures, or anything like that?

Also - I understand how it is important to cover as much of the nano as possible, but I've noticed that you are upset whenever a case exposes the hold switch. I use my hold switch more than some other buttons, and consider an exposed hold switch a necessity, not a drawback. Considering a case with an exposed click wheel, how else can one prevent accidental input and still control the pod?

Posted by supideo5 on November 22, 2005 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

3

Gotta be honest... I have had my nano for only a month and have had 2 other cases...which didn't meet my expectations at all. I ordered my nano case from core cases, received it in 2 days and love it! I was pleased to see your overall good rating of the nano case. I am in agreement with most things you have said, except your assessment of the hold button (which I think is needed) and the exposed click wheel (again, I think is needed). Anyway...I appreciate your service and reviews...I use your site often!
Happy Turkey Day!

Posted by DurangoWindJams on November 22, 2005 at 12:05 PM (PDT)

4

I can understand pointing out the holes for the hold switch and dock connector, but I don't get why that affects the review grade. I agree with the comments above that access to the hold switch is essential and I want access to the dock connector, too.

I currently have an A-1 Keychain case, but I'm considering this case instead for that very reason. I don't like having to pop open the case every time I start or stop using the iPod. I also don't like having to take it completely out of the case in order to plug it into the dock cable on my car.

This case seems to be ideal, except that I'm not that crazy about the color selection.

Posted by sarandipt on November 22, 2005 at 7:41 PM (PDT)

5

I echo supideo5, Jeremy - whats the quality of the screen protector like etc....

Posted by Piarco75 on November 23, 2005 at 7:48 AM (PDT)

6

Got mine today, the screen protector is clear, no distortion or flaws. Everything looks as it should. The belt clip is by far the most solid I've seen for a nano. My one complaint is the lanyard is on the short side. I'd give it an A- because I like my dock connector exposed. As far as the company, they have gone above and beyond the service I'd expect for spending $20. Go for it, it's a good case.

Posted by mimyc on November 23, 2005 at 11:40 PM (PDT)

7

Cheers mimyc, thats exactly what I wanted to hear! I'm also one of those folks who likes their ports exposed and the hold button accessible - means I never have to remove the nano. If the screen protector is as good as you say, I'd think that the case merits a higher score as well. I'll be using it with a Power Support Crystal film (installed last night) and I think it'll give me the exactly level of protection I want.

Posted by Piarco75 on November 24, 2005 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

8

these look awesome! I think i might just get one. I was planning on getting a leather one but since none of them seem too great.. though the belkin carabiner and vaja ones do look nice... these cases I will definately consider!

Posted by ask on November 24, 2005 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

9

Nice case and good value for money - very solid.

However, have to point out that the belt-clip is designed very badly. The rest of the case easily slides off the belt clip when it is clipped onto something. Mine slipped off today while I was out and about - luckily the headphones were still in the headphone jack, so instead of the Nano smahing onto the ground, it dangerously dangled from the headphones.

Posted by Miss June on November 26, 2005 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

10

Any buyers have thougts on the finish of this case? Does it seem like the color will scratch off easily? Will the surface wear quickly?

To Miss June: Can't you can attach the clip in the other direction so that gravity would work for you in keeping the cover on?

Posted by sarandipt on November 28, 2005 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

11

Like many others, I was just looking for a case that looks as good as my black nano. I spent countless hours on the web looking for something that wasn't pink, or had flowers on it, or was made out of rawhide, or looked like saran wrap. When I finally came across the Core Case about a week ago, I ordered it.

It just arrived today and I love it. For one, it LOOKS GOOD! I have no idea who's buying all of these ugly friggin cases that come out every week but it's not me! I wanted a smooth black case to match my smooth black nano. I don't know why that's so hard for people (manufacturers) to understand!

Anyway, the screen protector is very clear. It comes with some plastic skin attached to both side of the screen to keep it clean. Peel it off and the screen looks great. The case is easy to open (but "clips" so that it doesn't open accidentally). It's the perfect size, has a small layer of protective padding on the inside so your nano isn't touching metal.

As for the belt clip. It works great. It's easy to remove if you don't need it. A poster above mentioned that his case slid off the belt clip. If you attach it correct, this shouldn't happen. There are two slots through which the belt clip base slides. It's a little tricky to get it to slide through both and if you only slide it through the one I can see how the case could slide off the clip. But, if you press from the inside of the case as you're sliding the belt clip on, you can easily get it to slide through both slots. If you've done that correctly, I don't see it sliding off at all.

I like the openings for the hold switch and connector. If I had to come up with a single gripe, it would be lack of click wheel protection. A small strip of film would be ideal.

I'm thinking about ordering the silver one, too.

All in all I commend Core Cases for coming out with a case that not only protects your nano but LOOKS GOOD doing it.

Grade: A

Posted by Loth on November 28, 2005 at 11:12 AM (PDT)

12

To those who have this case two questions...
Is there enough space on the bottom to connect the Belkin Car Kit? It is a little thicker than the standard dock connector. Also any problems with larger headphone plugs (Shure E3s etc.) I bought a metal case off of Ebay and it turned out to need mods with a dremel to get these to fit.

Thx-

Posted by kaitak98 on November 28, 2005 at 10:16 PM (PDT)

13

sarandipt - the finish looks and feels excellent - nothing but quality. I'm confident that it will stay pristine - unless you wash it all the keys in your house wink
kaitak98 - one of the other great things about this case is that the dock and headphone ports are flush with the bottom of the case - so virtually anything with a dock connecter can be used. You should have no problems at all with your car kit or your headphone jack. My Stealth's have a massive headphone jack, and they fit fantastically, with clear space between the plastic of the jack and the case. I'll be putting some pics on my mini review in the cases section so you can see what I mean.
Loth - I agree with everything you say! This is my third case (iSkin Duo, Contour iSee) and is the best of the bunch. I've got a Power Support Crystal Jacket on the way, but honestly can't see myself using it now! I'll be ordering the orange case when they release it - looks good on black.
I would give this case a definate A-/A... its just that good!

Posted by Piarco75 on November 29, 2005 at 4:48 AM (PDT)

14

I just got my case today in the mail and ave to say it is the best case I've seen so far for the nano. It looks a lot nicer than the photos above. Very smooth and refined. It looks nice on the nano - as if the nano should have been designed with a metal case to start. Perfect.

Finally, I don't like that iLounge downgrades cases for leaving the bottom ports exposed. I don't buy cases that cover the ports because I don't want to take the cases off twice a day when I synch my nano with my computer.

Posted by adamhusak on December 2, 2005 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

15

Just got my case yesterday...very happy with it. To answer my own questions from above the Belkin kit and my Shure E3s fit fine. As Picaro said the connectors are essentially flush with the bottom of the case so almost anything should fit. Fit and finish very good. The color on the silver one is cast into the metal so scratches shouldn't show.

It does add a little bulk with the two piece design, especially on the top but not as much as the other metal cases that have hinges on the side.

As long as the screen cover holds up my case search is over...I only wish I had found Core Case before that POS I got on Ebay. Same price, totally different result.

Tom

Posted by kaitak98 on December 4, 2005 at 8:45 PM (PDT)

16

One final note, I agree with adamhusak that leaving the ports available is no reason to mark down a case. I use my Nano in the car with a clamp style cell phone/pda holder and the Belkin kit so a case that didn't let me get to the dock connector would be useless. Better to point out what ports are exposed and let the user decide what fits their needs.

Posted by kaitak98 on December 4, 2005 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

17

Just gonna throw in my 2¢ and agree with the last few posts that, yeah, exposed ports shouldn't affect a case score... At least not unless the case brags about "total protection" or water resistance or something.

I just ordered an orange one to cover the white 4GB I'm getting for Christmas. Am I the only person buying orange for visibility, not for fashionability?

Hey... Orange, white & grey = iLounge colors. Cool!

Posted by SPThom on December 14, 2005 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

18

Got my case today (got the nano a bit early too) and I like it. Because of the sliding design, the amount of bulk it adds to the nano is negligible, but it feels a lot sturdier/less fragile than the bare nano.

The cut-out for the hold switch doesn't bother me at all. I do wish there were a rubber insert for the dock connector or something, but that may be as much Apple's responsibility as it'd be Core Cases'.

My one concern is that the sliding motion required to put the case on seems to leave faint vertical streaks (scratches?) on the screen. Again, this might be an Apple issue--all that rubs it is the inner case padding, something that a screen should be tough enough to resist--but just the same, Core might've taken it into account when they designed the case.

iLounge's B+ rating is pretty close. My verdict: A-

Posted by SPThom on December 18, 2005 at 1:18 AM (PDT)

19

I haven't received my case yet but I already think highly of Core Cases because of the customer service I received when I placed my order. My nano is currently case-less so I'm too afraid to use it and they offered to FedEx it to me so I receive it sooner! I hope all my research on nano cases ends with this one.

Posted by ASHLEE1979 on December 20, 2005 at 1:35 PM (PDT)

20

I wanted a case that:

Keep the nano looking like a nano,

Did not add weight and size,

Protected the nano against scratch and bending.

I got two of these cases today and they fit the bill perfectly. First when installed the nano still looks great. The case add very little in size and weight. And last the anodized aluminum is strong and yet padded. I would give this case an A.

I now can carry my nano on the lanyard headphones and know it is secure yet still feel that I have a great looking, light, MP3 player.

Posted by jcoverton on December 20, 2005 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.