Dension ICELink 1.1 | iLounge

Reviews

41

Works fine. Huge improvement in quality and ease of use when compared to the iTrip

Posted by Julien on August 14, 2004 at 3:03 AM (PDT)

42

Bought the iceLink 1.1 about 2 months ago. Setup is a Kenwood receiver with Sirius satellite tuner. Ran into the same problems that the reviewer had (fails to recognize the iPod after I usually turn off my car). Thank goodness my satellite tuner is under my back seat so I can unplug the unit and plug it back in to make it work again.

Dension's customer support is absolutely the WORST. Be advised when dealing with them, they do not focus on making the customer happy and will leave you hanging if your product fails to work.

Posted by James on August 14, 2004 at 7:49 PM (PDT)

43

I really wish someone would talk about this in an 03 Accord. I know with the original it was a real pain to install. I cant get a feel for how this really works and this car example sticks... there is too much goong on in the car itself for me to feel like i understand how well the icelink is working and how it was intalled. I have looked at other intallations of icelink hardare and I dont want ot have to tear open my car to put anyhting in it for my ipod... does this little novelty solve that problem?

Posted by robbiesan in Arlingotn, VA on August 17, 2004 at 5:25 AM (PDT)

44

Has anyone heard of a device for the ipod being built by pioneer? It's supposed to have the functions of the ice link, and show the track information on the head unit. Someone at work told me about it.

I bought an Icelink for my 2005 Scion tC... So far it's great, I've had the 'getting stuck' problem, once or twice... other than that, it's good. I just feel like it was too expensive a solution and I rushed into it.

Posted by Luis on August 17, 2004 at 8:44 AM (PDT)

45

ok seriously does anyone know if this new hotness works well in 03 and 04 accords? I take it this is the new version of the ICELink... so do i still have to tear apart my console to install it or does it have an easier installation?! somepne help this poor innocent novice!

Posted by robbiesan in Arlingotn, VA on August 17, 2004 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

46

robbiesan,
Cotact Dension directly. I emailed them about my toyota and the very next day they responded.

Posted by Jeff Furse on August 17, 2004 at 11:59 AM (PDT)

47

I just put one in my 2004 Ford F-150 with a cheapo replacement Sony head unit. This thing is fantastic! Sound is better than expected, installation was easy, and it looks very trick. I highly recommend this product.

Posted by halbritton on August 18, 2004 at 11:33 AM (PDT)

48

These guys haver the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. They are unresponsive to emails, and I had to file a dispute with my credit card company. They shipped an order that I cancelled, send the wrong mount, and they will not respond to my request for an RMA. It's a longer and very painful story so far. And it ain't over yet.

Avoid like the plague! What goes around, comes around.

For just about $50-60 bucks more, you can get a new Alpine radios with there upcoming device that offers on screen dosplay of tracks etc.

Save your money, be patient, and get a product from a reputable company like Alpine via Crutchfiled.

I truly feel sorry for anyone else who has had trouble with these folks.

I am left furious...

Peace.

Posted by KAH on August 22, 2004 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

49

I have a 2004 Expedition with built in 6 CD changer in the head unit. Don't feel like pulling it out and installing a third party unit. What would be best for me? The Aux-Pod sounds interesting. Thanks in advance for any help.

Posted by flatwater in Ohio on August 23, 2004 at 5:12 AM (PDT)

50

Dension seems to think they have a corner on the market and their CS is the worst I've experienced (except for a direct mail computer manufacturer). I've had control problems since I first installed the ICElink 1.1, but they were resolved (not by Dension BTW) when I updated my iPod's firmware. I hate that I'm always compelled to buy the "state of the art" I should have waited for their to be some competition.

BTW, mine is installed in a 2004 Audi TT w/ OEM non-Bose Concert II H/U

Posted by grant on August 23, 2004 at 5:37 AM (PDT)

51

I had an icelink installed in my Toyota Sequoia and I had problems with it at first, but it was an issue that the installer caused. The adaptor cable was not secured properly and it was a pain to figure out. Fortunately I was able to access the cables by only removing glove box. Now it works as advertised. I will agree that their customer service is somewhat mediocre.

Posted by sw on August 23, 2004 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

52

Initially i had no problems with the unit. It was professionally installed and worked fine. After using it for about one month the volume became limited and odd background noises developed. I contacted Dension and they were completely unhelpful. Do not count on them for any customer service. When the unit works its great but if you have a problem watch out!

Posted by Jonathan Bloom on August 25, 2004 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

53

"but they were resolved (not by Dension BTW) when I updated my iPod's firmware"

How about reading the docs before griping?

Posted by LMH on August 27, 2004 at 1:57 AM (PDT)

54

I have the IceLink 1.1 mounted in an Audi S4 and it works perfectly. The problems the reviewer found are not present on the Audi.

The IceLink definitely needs play list control and ID3 tag info would be nice as well.

Posted by bfly on September 1, 2004 at 6:01 AM (PDT)

55

Has anyone tried the Ice-Link with a Toyota Corolla '04 factory unit? With all the complaints here, I think I'm going to go with PAC's AUX-POD.

Posted by Richard on September 4, 2004 at 2:35 PM (PDT)

56

Does anyone know the pin puts for the 8 pin Din on the end of the icelink V1.1 cradle..I accidently pulled it off when installing..any help would be appreciated!!!

Posted by dave on September 7, 2004 at 3:03 AM (PDT)

57

I have a 2001 Golf (single-DIN factory radio) and a 4G iPod on the way. I'm mainly interested in iPod controllability from the radio, especially the pause feature. (My phone kit is connected to the stereo, and puases CDs when on the phone.) How well does the iceLink work? The responses from VW owners have so far been highly varied.

Posted by Helicon Twist on September 8, 2004 at 1:48 PM (PDT)

58

i installed it in my 2003 jetta and it works fine without any problems, the display on my headunit can't display any info other than track and cd #s , so it works great for me.

Posted by pepejoe on September 16, 2004 at 7:27 PM (PDT)

59

I still haven't found out how to keep my xm radio and still keep my ipod connect on my 04 honda accord. The vehicle came with factory xm radio. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Posted by joe chavez on September 29, 2004 at 6:05 PM (PDT)

60

I have a Renault Clio with Panasonic (aftermarket) CD player... will the ICElink work for me?

Posted by denise on October 4, 2004 at 1:47 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.