Dension ICELink 1.1 | iLounge

Reviews

61

Update... I installed this in my 2001 VW Golf. I am extremely dissatisfied with the various "bugs" in the ice:Link, expecially given the $219 price tag. Controllability is flaky, iPod does not pause when radio enters "phone" mode, max. gain setting is less than original CD changer. Worst of all, I have the same need to "reboot" the ice:Link as reported in the review.

I contacted Dension a week ago, and still have not received a reply.

The 2nd unit I ordered, for another VW, was completely shot; the radio refused to recognize the ice:Link. I'm also waiting for the RMA from Dension to exchange it.

So add one more knock against the product and service. Do you hear us, Dension?!?

Posted by Helicon Twist on October 5, 2004 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

62

I didn't read these comments before I bought mine. I actually went to their office to see it demo'd first and met their sales rep Tom Guargliardo. He was polite and answered all my questions. After I installed it, I had some issues with the BMW stereo resetting itself to Euro specs amongst other things and he replied back quickly with answers.

Very positive experience for a product that is working as advertised.

Posted by g_bruin on October 12, 2004 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

63

The Ice-Link works great in my 2001 BMW 540. I love the thing and have not listened to the radio in my car since I installed the ice-link about 2 months ago. I had to remove the cd changer but who cares about listening to 6 cds when you have 20 gigs of music. Although, it would be nice to have the track names show on my BMW Nav/Radio screen. I am extremely happy with the ice-link and would recommend it to anyone.

Posted by Brandon on October 14, 2004 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

64

I'm searching online for the best price on iceLink. I was surprised to find a version 1.2 advertised on WeLoveMacs.com when every other site advertises version 1.1. Anybody know if this is a mistake/typo or a real version upgrade?

http://www.welovemacs.com/i11audir.html

Scott Russell
Memphis, TN

Posted by Scott Russell on October 20, 2004 at 5:41 AM (PDT)

65

I'd also like to know about the round iPod holder that comes with the iceLink package. In some pictures it appears to be made of a dark black plastic with "Denison" printed in white. Other pictures depict it as a lighter-colored & less smooth plastic with no printed text on it. Which is the current version?

Posted by Scott Russell on October 20, 2004 at 5:44 AM (PDT)

66

Brandon: I too have a 2001 540i. I just bought a 40gb Ipod and would like to know if you hired someone to install the Ice-link? Thanks

Posted by Doug H in Bellevue on November 7, 2004 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

67

Acura Integra drivers beware of ICElink 1.1 kits. After two attempts with two different kits (the first one shipped was incorrect), I'm returning my ICELink kit for a refund. The first kit shipped had the wrong connector type for my stereo. 2000 Acura Integras support Alpine changers with a 8-pin DIN connector. So I had to send the kit back and they sent me the kit for older Acuras. The 8-pin DIN connector plugged into the stereo, but after reconnecting the car's battery, the radio didn't detect the ICELink unit.

So after tearing my car apart twice to attempt the install, I'm fed up and am returning the unit.

Also be aware that they do not respond to emails or voicemail. So, be persistent in calling until you get a live body.

Posted by tbg in Minneapolis on November 13, 2004 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

68

for some of us who are comfortable driving around in a car that costs less than $16,000US, there are more creative ways of eliminating the car-charger wires and running quality sound through your stereo.

DIY solution in a 2003 Saturn ION QC:

1. replace stock head unit with reasonably priced aftermarket head unit, which features auxiliary audio input in the back (i found an Alpine model on sale at Good Guys for $160 w/ free installation).

2. buy audio patch cable, Belkin car charger, and a generic replacement 12v power socket from Radio Shack (includes in-line wire tap and fuse)

3. carefully tear up the center console around the shift knob, while grinning like a maniac. easily locate the line which goes to the factory power socket, and splice the Radio Shack socket into it. find a good solid frame bolt for the ground (important!) and rout the audio cable from the Belkin charger to the back of your shiny new head unit.

4. hook up your iPod and make sure it works, and adjust the charger's volume control to an ideal level, because you won't be changing it again.

5. move the iPod back to it's safe house.

6. use a whole lot of black electrical tape to secure the whole assembly together and make it look real professional. tuck the whole mess snugly down next to the brightly-colored jumble of wires just to the side of the shifter assembly there.

7. while replacing the console cover, be sure to leave about 4-6 inches of the dock connector hanging out of that seam in the console behind the cupholders (the other person who bough one of these cars, if you're reading this, you know what i mean).

8. fit Belkin TuneDok beautifully and snugly into driver's side cupholder, run dock connecter through guides, and voila!

a surprisingly elegant solution for somebody who likes tearing things apart, and it puts my iPod right next to my gear-shifting hand, where it's most convenient for song-shifting (because i'm too lazy to reach all the way up to the head unit to change the song). and there are no glowing green probe-shaped items to prompt suspicious questions from my family. AND it doesn't use any power outlets, which are at a premium in compact cars.

no firmware issues; it works flawlessly. although i wouldn't mind replacing my TuneDok with one of those nifty drop-in cradles that come with the ICELink. wonder if i can just buy that.

Posted by cheesyBob in California on March 1, 2005 at 6:46 AM (PDT)

69

I got this in August for my 2000 Celica. Overall it works pretty well. The sound is the best I've heard for an iPod in my car. It beats any FM transmitter or tape adapter I've used.

The ability to control my iPod from my head unit is very convenient. I have my iPod cradle directly next to my stereo so it is easy to read.

There are a couple glitches though. While the audio always works properly, the playback control doesn't always. Sometimes I need to initiate it by pressing the back button first, then I can press forwards and everything works again. Sometimes it also doesn't automatically start and stop the iPod like it should when the unit is turned on and off. Also the sound level is a bit low in comparison to the radio or CD on my car.

In general though, I am very happy with this purchase. It is the best iPod solution that I know of for my car that allows me to use my existing car stereo, which I really like.

Posted by waffffffle on March 5, 2005 at 9:41 PM (PDT)

70

Just wanted to echo the poor customer service experience that others have posted about Dension. Worst customer service you can imagine. Do not do business with these crooks.

Posted by eryas on March 28, 2005 at 4:16 PM (PDT)

71

I had the install done in my 2003 Honda Accord a week about two weeks ago and am very pleased. It is great to be able to access the Ipod in the car. I think the input is better than the CD changer in the car. I've actually had to reduce the bass setting by a notch as it was a bit much. I used a Griffen FM modulator before which was horrible both in functionality and sound output.

There are two downsides but I'd install one again in a flash. The first is that you do not have much ability to select music. You can set up playlists and that helps but if I want to listed to some Lamb I'm am SOL. Having said that, if you are willing to give up the interface to the controls in the headunit and the steering wheel the Link can be set up to use the Ipod interface.

I'm kind of a shuffle guy anyway and the ability to use the built in controls is awesome. You can also get the shuffle to go to albums - assuming you have downloaded other songs from that album - by simply taking the headunit off "random."

The second bummer is that the headunit display on my Honday will not show the song info. If this is important to you makc sure your headunit will do that before buying.

I have had no functional issues at all. It will only initiate play on the Ipod if I have the AUX mode engaged.

While not cheap - with installation I've paid about $325 - it's a wonderful thing. Unless you want to buy a new BMW or MB there is no better way to get gread Ipod sound in your car that I've found.

Posted by Iggy the Ipod on November 7, 2005 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

72

STAY AWAY!!!! DO NOT BUY!!!!

Have to agree with everyone else that says they have poor customer service, b/c it is the worst. Had problems with my Ice Link Plus only playing out of the right channel and getting a lot of engine noise sometimes. Email support was a joke (did absolutely nothing). Phone support wouln't help because I no longer had my receipt. Even wrote a letter to the CEO, and they told me that they would stand to lose a great deal of money if they replaced all of the defective units!!! This company makes crap and has crap customer service. STAY AWAY!!!!

Posted by jamesr242 on January 24, 2006 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 4 pages « First  <  2 3 4

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.