DLO Jam Jacket 4G | iLounge

Reviews

1

a close friend got this case. its a piece of crap. the built in screen protector RIPPED in a couple days. its really ANNOYING to get on and off. plus, i think it looks gay.

BAD purchase!

Posted by ispank on November 16, 2004 at 2:25 PM (PDT)

2

bought this case when I got my 20g. the build in screen protector attracted all kinds of lint, hair and other crap. I replaced it with a similiar jacket by Speck without the annoying screen protector. I like it much better. I'm returning the Jam Jacket.

Posted by riverrat in Iowa on November 17, 2004 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

3

Does anybody know if the Jam jacket will get in the way if I try to use a dock? I would like to know before I buy a dock for my iPod because I already have the Jam Jacket.

Posted by wickedsteve on November 22, 2004 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

4

The Jam Jacket will get in the way of a dock. Probably only the flip-bottom type silicone cases will work with a dock.

I didn't like the screen protector either, so I cut it out with a new X-acto. Much better.

Posted by macbot3000 on December 16, 2004 at 8:15 AM (PDT)

5

oy, well i will stand up for this, i love it! yea at first it sort of sucked, it attracted lint and stuff and the scratch screen thing had bubbles and looked ick! but after about 2 weeks it stops attracting such things and the bubbles have left and i cant tell there is a protective cover over the screen! its perfect so easy! and its already saved my screen from one big fat scratch which i am sure glad its on the cover versus the ipod!
as for the no click wheel cover~almost no other skin has one, but i cut a circle from protective covers that are ment for LCD type of things watches, pdas, etc and it works wonderfully!
plus i like how its not slippery and gives a good assurance that its not going to be damaged!

Posted by CA devilgirl on December 31, 2004 at 1:16 AM (PDT)

6

I ordered a JamJacket for my 4G and 1G iPod for a totaly of ~$60CAD and was _not_ warned about brokerage CODs on this package which would end up costing me nearly $80CAD. Needless to say, I turned down the package.

The sad part was this could have all been avoided. I had written the folks at Everything iPod about finding a Canadian distributor before hand but they didn't reply. When placing the order they didn't bother to mention that brokerage CODs might be incurred (When one pays S&H, that's all they expect to pay unless otherwise noted).

On the upside, I found that the people manning the phones at Everything iPod are friend as are the folks at UPS. The people at Everything were friendly and didn't lose their temper with me at all making the experience rather smooth in the end.

In conclusion: shop else where if you're an international customer.

Posted by JamesH on January 5, 2005 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

7

Bought the 4G Jam Jacket for my new iPod at the local Best Buy for 19.99 + tax. My daughter has had the 3G version for some time and it has held up very well.

If you want clickwheel protection, leave on the clear protector that the iPod ships with. Still not sure whether or not I'll keep the cover's screen protector or cut it out with a razor blade. I'll give it more time before I decide.

Otherwise, I'm quite pleased with the cover. It seems very sturdy, and my daughter's iPod still looks new when taken out of her case.

Also, my iTrip fits perfectly with the cover on, and the cover keeps the iPod from sliding around when driving like Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Hard to go wrong if you're interested in this style of cover.

Posted by coltsfan18 on January 7, 2005 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

8

I wasn't sure whether to get this case, but after reading the first review here, it sounds like the obvious choice.

"Looks gay"-- hard to imagine higher praise for the DLO case's intelligent style!

Posted by str8butnotnarrow on January 8, 2005 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

9

Yea, I was a bit surprised someone would include something like that in a legitimate review, seems like it's pretty clear that would cut your respectability sharply, but oh well.

Posted by nosferotu on January 12, 2005 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

10

The screen protector attracts to much lint and crud, and combined with the "wet look" underneath, it makes the display look terrible.

One plus is that the silicone is very thin, not like the iSkin or other rubber cases. So, the 20GB iPod feels almost as thin without it.

Not recommended - I returned mine in favor of an Agent 18, which added thickness, but increased pleasure. grin

Posted by HassPod in Washington DC on February 1, 2005 at 5:52 AM (PDT)

11

I bought this cover a day after i got my ipod and i was very pleased with it the first month or so.

The display, as discussed looks horrible after its been in your pocket a few times. I do not consider myself a heavy user of my ipod so it is safe to say that this will happen with everyone. My screen is so foggy with particles and lint that the screen has to be lit to even see the display. I have thought about cutting it off but the screen is the portion i want protected the most.

Other than that i think the cover is great. The grip is fantastic as i have no worries that it will slip out of my pocket, off the car seat, etc...; Also, the cover fits the ipod effectively.

Therefore, i would recomend this cover to anyone that wants minimal extra space added to thier ipod size, and does not care about greatly diminished screen clarity.

Posted by jcan411 on February 15, 2005 at 11:29 AM (PDT)

12

its ok i cut the screen protector out the first day because it got tons of dust on it other than that its ok

Posted by nickster9224 on April 6, 2005 at 12:37 PM (PDT)

13

I just bought one of the clear ones today from Best Buy for $19.99 plus tax. I felt like this was a rip-off for such a cheap piece of silicone.

PROS: Protects the entire iPod, except wheel and button, from scratches. Good grip, won't slip. Fits snug.

CONS: Silicone screen collects a lot of dust and dirt easily. Screen is a lot harder to see. Case is hard to get on and off. Case smells bad.

In the end, I was just looking for a simple case that was not bulky and provided some protection for my iPod. I went to Best Buy and this is what they had. I probably should have done more research on the Internet to find the best case out there. However, I feel this is satisfactory. Still can't believe it cost $19.99, but I guess I'm paying more for the protection of my investment than for the raw material of the product.

Anyone else notice the horrible smell of this case?

Posted by tdb41 on April 24, 2005 at 10:42 PM (PDT)

14

this case was lacking in some vital areas, to put it nicely. one thing i did notice was that this case was much nicer-feeling than any of the other silicone cases, and isnt [too] sticky. the noticible problem is the screen protector, which gets streched out quickly then is very hard to see through. it looks like those clarnex commercials when i take it off and can see my screen. more importantly, this case left impossible-to-remove smudges on my brand new ipod's body and metal back, which are 10X more unsightly than scratches. in review: there are better options out there.

Posted by ahpplejuc on May 24, 2005 at 3:37 PM (PDT)

15

i bought this case the day i got my ipod it worked fine at first then crap strarted collecting behind the screen protector which makes air bubbles which are really annoying when your looking at the screen-besides that it doesnt protect at all when i took it off there are scratches all over it- over all your better off wraping the ipod with the 20 bucks you would pay for this

Posted by aaaaaa on June 11, 2005 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

16

Lots of people complained about the screen cover getting all linty. Which is very true, it does get quite nasty. I found myself rinsing the whole case frequently the first couple days i got it. But i didn't want to cut out the screen cover, because that's why i got the thing in the first place. Instead i just put clear packing tape on both sides of it. Which is basically nothing different than buying the screen covers from other companies. I just chose the do-it-yourself way i guess. But it took care of both problems. Having it on the inside got rid of the bubbles, and having it on the outside ended the lint problem. Now i am in love with it. I love the fact that i can set it just about anywhere and rest assured that it's not gonna slip around.

Posted by iamreprogramed on June 19, 2005 at 10:02 PM (PDT)

17

I've now had this case and my ipod for 4 months - I bought them together. Aside from the screen protector, this case was good and I was very satisfied. However when I removed the case recently I discovered that the ipod, kept in the case always, was scratched everywhere. The reason why I bought this case was because I thought that it would protect it from scratches but it failed to do so. I am very upset with this product as my ipod does not look nice anymore.

Posted by RachelSMax on June 21, 2005 at 8:50 PM (PDT)

18

I got my iPod and my jam jacket at a best buy together. I was satisfied how it fit good and protected even from falls. But I have to complaints. One it gave my iPod alot of blemishes. Second the screen protector hass too many bubbles and got cut like one inch on the side after about 3 months but my iPod has no scrathes on the screen just like 5 small blemishes on the chrome(i believe) metal back i would give it a B+.

Posted by Blade782 on August 14, 2005 at 10:13 AM (PDT)

19

I just bought a DLO Jam Jacket today from Best Buy for $14.99. I purchased the clear one, because I got tired of the Electric Blue iSkin Case I bought for my iPod 1 year ago. As soon as I took my brand new 4G iPod out of the box, I wrapped it up in PDA Screen Protectors that I bought from a 98 cent store (the back, the front, the click wheel, the screen, everything covered in screen protectors). The Blue iSkin cased didn't work well with my iTrip, and the Blue color got old.
The screen protector built into the jam jacket seems sticky and does give a wet look at first, but after awhile it's not so sticky and the wet look dissapears. I was able to use the hard plastic screen protector included with my iSkin with the DLO JAM JACKET. Worked perfectly.

Get the PDA Screen Protectors and wrap up your ipod completely in them before you put it in any case.

I recommend the DLO JAM JACKET. The clear one is attractive and doesn't change the look of the ipod. And by the way, do yourself a favor, and buy some screen protectors. Even if you have to pay $20.00 for them, they are worth it for the protection of your iPod. Use the screen protectors in conjuction with any case you buy. Don't just cover the screen with them. Cover the entire iPod.

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on December 11, 2005 at 5:55 PM (PDT)

20

I'm really surprised this case got a B+ recommended rating. I too, purchased the jacket at Best Buy. I have a 60gig and it was a major struggle to get the case to fit. It took atleast 4 or 5 minutes to work it onto my ipod. The screen does look like crap, but I didn't really care because I didn't buy an ipod to look at the screen. It collected lint and all that stuff, blah blah blah.

The things that really bothered me about this case is how difficult it is to put on and off. Since you can't use a dock with the skin on, I have to take it off for use in my car and for my home stereo. Getting it off the ipod is difficult and putting it back on is even harder. I ripped the screen protection the second or third time I was putting it on. The case also doesn't fit well on the 60gig. I felt like I was constantly trying to pull the case up, because it would start to work its way off. I also got lots of scratches all over my ipod either from taking it on and off or from dust or dirt getting inside the case.

Overall: Highly NOT recommended.

Posted by rockstaria on January 10, 2006 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.