DLO Jam Jacket Pro mini and Jam Jacket mini | iLounge

Reviews

21

ok, the jam jacket is a milky color. i have gotten the plain white one. my ipod is gold, u can still see the color through it, but it kind of mellows it out. no, u can not really clearly read the engraving through the back. im sure if u look really hard u can, but that kinda defeats the point.

Posted by laxman2211 in us on June 26, 2004 at 7:10 PM (PDT)

22

You clean it with soap and water as mentioned above. Silicone has static properties and therefore dust clings to it. I would still like an answer as to whether or not it is likely to fall out of the top when running and doing other activites. Also, is this the best silicone protector on the market? Is this the protector that apple sells on their site?

Posted by rollin900 in Oklahoma on July 14, 2004 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

23

Great case for the mini IMO. yet the olny draw back is that it seems to collect dust. alot of it (the rubber is like a magnet to dust).. and its hard to take it off. also its hard to slip off and on due to the rubber but thats a good thing. if and when you do get this case, youll know that it gets the job done.

Posted by Mel on July 28, 2004 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

24

Be warned that the sceen protection is sticky and has a bubble-like appearance (see pics in the review)

I didn't notice that and I'm very sad since it looks bad.

Posted by Renesis on August 4, 2004 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

25

Father just got this for me, great case. The only bad things are that you must align the case perfectly to easily slip it on, (It can still go on if you don't, only more difficult), and the damned bubbles on the screen. No biggie.

Posted by Jay Kay on August 13, 2004 at 11:55 AM (PDT)

26

The first two pictures, the blue ones, which color combination is used? I mean, is it a blue Ipod with a clear case or is it really the blue case? Just think the blue case seems brigther on other pictures, but I really like deep blue feel on the first picture...

Posted by magnus on August 19, 2004 at 1:01 AM (PDT)

27

^ quoting myself above, I actually just wanna know which color combo is on the top picture (jamjacket01.jpg), cause to me it doesnt seem to be same as the picture below it...

Posted by magnus on August 20, 2004 at 4:18 AM (PDT)

28

I have this and *like* it, but...

the screen portion is a pain in the ___. "clean it with soap and water" is good advice, but dry it with what??? You end up right where you started.

So, I'm tempted to cut out the window and put a better screen protector underneath.

Or maybe try armor all on the window to see if it helps keep the gunk off (and makes it shiny).

Posted by Todd on August 24, 2004 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

29

To dry the case, just blow dry it or just let it air dry. (go with the blow drier, air drying takes to long.)

Posted by Joseph Kim on August 27, 2004 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

30

Is this Shock proof when u drop it

Posted by hi on August 29, 2004 at 4:45 AM (PDT)

31

Is there anywhere i can get one of these for a 3G 15gb ipod?

Posted by XtremeRunnerARS on September 4, 2004 at 8:24 AM (PDT)

32

I went to remove my case off my new ipod because I was unable to set it into the docking station (had the case on it for one week,just sitting in the box in the house). What really upset me is that the screen protector adhered itself to the screen, it would not peel off and I had to rip it to remove it off the screen, leaving silicone pieces stuck to the face, and had to scrape them off with my nails, and of course succeeded in making a few scratches on the screen....I am not happy.

Posted by Nadine on September 8, 2004 at 6:46 AM (PDT)

33

Did not like this case. I don't like what it does to the screen area as you see in the picture. It sort of smears it. And any dust or the littlest things stick to it.

Posted by Mikey on October 3, 2004 at 8:09 PM (PDT)

34

Good product. It does it's job. Those worried about removing it need not worry. It lakes less than a minute. You do have to wiggle it back and forth a few times as the silicone is not a slick surface. My mini came with the plastic cover over the click wheel, and I left it on, with this Jam Jacket, leaves only the top part of the mini exposed...but big deal. The two slits in the back are SLITS! I don't know about you, but I generally don't leave my iPod in the same compartment as keys, pens, knives, razor blades etc. If you are worried about something scratching it, how about you buy an iPod and leave it in the box unopened on your shelf.

One grip is that YES, it does attract a lot of lint. I find myself washing it in luke warms soapy water about once per 3 weeks. Also the screen protector does adhere to the screen, but not as bad as that one commentor that had to rip his apart. You can still read the entire screen. BTW I cut apart a PDA screen protector to fit the mini's screen just for double protection

Posted by Jay on October 22, 2004 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

35

I just got the jam jacket pro, but I haven't used it yet. I am a little worried that the strap that goes throught the slits in the back will scratch the ipod.

Has this happened to anyone?

Posted by mummer43 in USA on January 4, 2005 at 8:52 AM (PDT)

36

I am NOT HAPPY with this product.

I just got the DLO jam jacket after having used the Speck product for sometime. I chose to switch to the DLO bc the open top is compatible with the iTrip. However, bc of the open top, the jam jacket does not protect the top edges of my mini Ipod. It exposes about 1mm of the edge. Also, the jam jacket and its screen protector are LINT MAGNETS. Although the jam jacket is thinner than the speck product, it is still too thick to fit into the belt clip. The DLO Jam Jacket colors are also less vibrant as the Speck products, causing my mini to look "washed out".

Posted by banana412 in Ca on January 4, 2005 at 8:44 PM (PDT)

37

I have this case and while I like the protection that it provides I HATE the screen cover. It gets dirty in an instant and makes it impossible to read the monitor. I'm replacing it asap.

Posted by Faith626 in Houston, TX on January 5, 2005 at 8:46 AM (PDT)

38

hey anyone know a us reler of exomini

Posted by robz on January 23, 2005 at 9:38 PM (PDT)

39

i bought this case for my pink mini and i HATE it. i think i would have been better off wrapping it in a plastic baggie. the protection it offers is good, but if there is a piece of dirt, hair or lint with 100 yards of you, it will end up stuck to this. especially if you have pets... this thing seriously gets so filthy i've been washing it at LEAST once a day. and forget putting it in your pocket, purse, backpack, etc. the only way it stays even REMOTELY clean is if your ipod stays sitting on your desk, etc.

someone i think suggested cutting out the silicone window on this one and putting in one of those clear screen protector insert thingies that you can buy separately. i thought about trying this, but it is my understanding that if the case doesn't have a top to it, as this one does not, those don't stay put. anyone know if that is true or not?

i'm thinking of getting one of the hard plastic cases. any input/recommendations on those?

Posted by crystalballergoo on February 1, 2005 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

40

does anybody with this case think it possible for a lanyard to be threaded through the slits at the back? or would this bull to much on the rubber, or just not work. i rlly like the look of this case, but its important to me that i can use a lanyard, not to show it off, altho the ipod mini is hot, i just dont like the belt clip and arm band ideas...theyre just not practical for the way i use it. thanks.

Posted by ariod on May 15, 2005 at 6:13 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.