DLO TransPod 2003 | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bought one of these about a month ago on clearance at CompUSA for $60.

It's not bad, but not great either. It's biggest problem is that it uses an ANALOG dial for tuning the FM frequency. During normal usage, bumps in the road would cause the analog dial to drift ever so slighty, causing static to creep in.

The unit often had a low but audible level of static regardless of station tuning, but the dial is so sensitive that it drifts very easily.

For me, this was just too much to bear, as I had to adjust the dial quite often.

So the TransPod was returned and I got an iTrip instead. Only purchase this from a place with a liberal return policy, otherwise you might be in for a big disappointment.

Posted by Mike on July 24, 2003 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

2

Does anyone know when the new Transpod for the 3G iPods will release? Will the new one fix all of these ANALOG problems?

Posted by Ryan on September 17, 2003 at 6:24 PM (PDT)

3

That is the same question i have been hunting for. I would prefer the new transpod for the 3G ipod but i want the fm transmitter to be just as good as the itrip, otherwise i will opt to get teh itrip instead. The transpod 3g is being sold on special order for 99.99 starting Dec. 17th. The dial seems to show a digital tuning. Anyways here is the link to see it for yourself and if you have any more informatoin or test this product out PLEASE let mek now how it compares to the itrip in quality of sound. THANK YOU (i am including the direct link) if it does not work just find it through [url=http://www.netalog.com]http://www.netalog.com[/url]

Posted by Arjun on December 14, 2003 at 7:03 AM (PDT)

4

Just got my Transpod for the 3G iPod today. It's still early, but here are my first impressons:

I like the look and fit of the cradle. It holds my 40 nicely, and it comes with nice, soft adhesive pads to adjust for the 10, 20 and 30 GB models.

The articulating arm that holds it in the cigarette lighter is sturdy and very adaptable. I wish that DLO had used white screws instead of black ones, but that's a minor gripe. Once the Transpod was plugged into the cigarette lighter I was a little disappointed with the overall stability. The whole thing swings too far from side to side for my taste. It seems to be more a by product of the inherent looseness of the cigarett lighter, though. It was dark when I installed it, and I need to take a closer look at it this weekend. I will report back with any news on the stability issue.

In my short (20 minute) ride home from work tonight the FM modulator appeared to work flawlessly. I own a Griffin iTrip, and I;m not sure about this yet but the digital modulator on the Transpod seems to work as good as, if not better than the iTrip. It's still early, though, and only time will tell. In any event, the thing that I like better about the Transpod is that, because it is plugged into the lighter, and the modulator is already powered up, my iPod starts broadcasting immediately when I press play. With the iTrip, it can take up to 5 or 10 seconds to kick in. That's important if you're in the middle of an audio book.

I like the styling, the ability to charge without cords and the FM modulator on the Transpod. But I am somewhat concerned about the stability issue, and I hope that I can get it resolved.

I will report back as I gather more info.

Posted by rdlink in Denver on January 21, 2004 at 8:09 PM (PDT)

5

I just bought the Transpod for my 3G.

I strongly dislike this product.

I was initially excited; I get to listen to my iPod in my new Infiniti G35! The G has a 12V electric outlet on the right side of the dash next to the passenger seat, perfect for my Transpod. Opening the packaging, I was slightly disappointed at the bulkiness of the holder unit and the charging arm. Plugging the charging arm into the outlet proved to be a chore, as the conductor prods on the charging arm are quite large (I am assuming thatís because they will hold the iPod steady). After getting the post plugged in, I went to loosen the swivel mount on the back of the holder unit. The swivel extension and charging arm must be adjusted by wing screws and hex nuts. Unfortunately, the wing screws are just barley long enough to fit into the hex nuts when tightened, so if you loosen the screws too much, Oops! There goes the hex nut down between the seats! Why didnít they include locking hex nuts? After getting it all put together, the hulking unit was up and ready for my Ďpod. I plugged in the iPod, found an empty radio station, and tuned the Transpod to that station. What crappy sound! Static interference and poor quality. Tried another station, same thing. Adjusted the tone settings on my ipod and radio, not much better. This is my first radio transmitter, but I would expect something to compete with the quality of the good radio stations here in Seattle. Not a chance. Even public radio has far better sound quality than the Transpod. After a minute of driving, the Transpod started to swivel around inside the electric outlet. Not very stable at all. Very Disappointing. If you hit a pothole with this thing, watch out!

I would not be so critical if it wasnít for the price, but this damn thing cost $100!!! Where is the quality here?!? Disagree with me if you want, but for $100, I would expect something more than what I got here.

This product is a great idea, but it needs improvements in every area.

Pros: Puts everything you want into one package. All radio frequencies are covered.

Cons: Needs improvement in every aspect of the product to justify the STEEP price.

Improvements:
1. Make the holder unit slimmer and not so bulky.
2. Make the wing screws and hex nuts locking so the donít fall out
3. Lower the price
4. Power up the juice on the radio transmitter. There is plenty of power coming out of the electric outlet to do this.

Posted by yoda@ui on February 12, 2004 at 9:20 PM (PDT)

6

OK. One "yeah" one "nay" on the sound quality. Any other comments?

Posted by Nick Lammers on February 27, 2004 at 8:01 PM (PDT)

7

New Transpod II FM was recommended by a salesperson at Apple store.

I am more than happy with it so far. It has a nice digital readout for the FM freq. Frequency range is the full FM spectrum. I found the frequency that works around Philadelphia easily. The holder works in my Jeep 2003 Wrangler pretty well but the extra accessory plug is a nice touch. My headphone controls work to skip and pause. The quality is very good and only get a slight hiss during pauses that can be fixed if I readjust the location of the ipod.

Posted by Eric on February 28, 2004 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

8

The FM transmitter didn't work at all in my cars (unless I didn't drive anywhere). The cool thing about this is that you don't have to stick anything to your dash to hold the ipod and no wires.. Too bad it doesn't work. Don't waste your money.

Posted by akords on March 2, 2004 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

9

The Transpod just arrived today. Only used on a couple short trips but so far it has worked well - no problem yet with FM reception or mounting. You do have to make sure you don't unscrew the wing screws too far. Also it would be nice if you could swivel the unit right/left to get the proper angle on the face (it looks like you can do this with the extension but with that also attached the thing is starting to look obscenely long).

So far I'm quite happy.

Posted by nickl on March 9, 2004 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

10

I bought the Transpod II for my 40GB iPod at the Apple store in Atlanta. It took a little wrangling, but I got the arm angles all worked out and installed the thing in my 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Track.

I LOVE the Transpod II. It puts the iPod right at my hand, with no cables getting tangled. I love that I can drop my iPod in the cradle quickly even on short trips. With my Belken FM transmitter, it was such a hassle, I on'y bothered if I would be in the car for at least 30 minutes.

Comparing the FM signal quality to the Belkin Tunecast II, I can say that the Transpod wins hands down. There simply isn't a comparison. I would get fades and noise with my Belkin, but I never have signal loss with my Transpod.

I also like that the Transpod uses the line-out signal from the iPod, rather than the headphone jack. Consistent audio levels are the result.

I paid ~$50 for the Belkin, and would have had to purchase a car charger for the iPod to get the same functionality at the Transpod, so the price is very competitive when you consider that.

Posted by Grump on March 12, 2004 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

11

i hate the Transpod FM. I paid 100 and i feel riped off.

The sound quality is crappy. You hear a static and a hiss noise. that "hiss" will not go away. Your music plays over the "hiss" noise so u dont really notice it but it brings dont the quality of the sound. It also is annoying whenever u press pause.

Save your money and dont buy any FM transmitter.

Posted by jagz on March 27, 2004 at 8:04 PM (PDT)

12

I recently bought the Griffin iTrip and couldn't get a clear signal at all. What would start as a clear signal would turn to hiss within a few miles of driving. I also have XM satellite radio in my car, using an FM transmitter and it plays crystal clear so I figured the signal from the iTrip just wasn't strong enough. So I went back to the Apple store and decided to try the Transpod. As it gets power from the cigarette lighter, rather than the iPod, I figured the signal would be stronger. After a few trips I think I was right. Occasionally, I'll get a slight hiss, but not bad. Overall I think the sound is much better than with the iTrip, and it is much easier to change stations.

A couple of problems I'm having with it though. I can't really find a convenient place to put it, and it doesn't stay put with the mounting arm. Although, as others have mentioned this seems to be a function of the cigarette lighter being loose.

Second, and the biggest thing, with the car off and the Transpod plugged into the cigarette lighter, the digital display is still on and lit up. Is there a way to turn this off? I don't want to have to take out of the lighter every time I get out of the car. Will this drain the battery? Has anyone else experienced this?

Posted by John on April 7, 2004 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

13

Interesting comments. I'm about to buy a Transpod 3G for my new 20gig, will let you know how it goes.

John, that's probably due to your car. In many cars, power to the accessories (eg. cigarette lighter) is cut when you take the key out of the ignition. It seems your car keeps power connected to the cigarette lighter even with no key. I don't know how much the thing uses so I really can't comment on whether it would drain your battery. Probably a good idea to take it out when not using it .

Posted by JB on April 14, 2004 at 7:47 PM (PDT)

14

I bought the Transpod for a cross country trip from New York to California. I think I adjusted the station once somewhere between mile 1 and mile 3000. This Transpod works beautifully! No charging needed after use and the sound seemed as good as my CDs.

I have no complaints and think the $100 is absolutely worth it if you spend a lot of time in the car and are tired of changing CDs.

Perhaps the reason for other people's troubles with the product is the transmittor in relation to their car's antenna or some other connection. But it truly works flawlessly for me.

Posted by mpress on April 20, 2004 at 9:34 PM (PDT)

15

I got one of the new Transpods for a 3g ipod and I would have to say it is much nicer. It has a digital dial so that analog drifting is eliminated. It also has a car mount kit so it can be positioned anywhere. Sound quality is better than any other FM transmitter I have had. Cost me about $100.00 from CompUSA.

Posted by redbuda on April 29, 2004 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

16

so far so so , i really wanted this product to work but the hiss is driving me crazy and in the end i end up just popping in a cd ,maybe the new york metro area is not so great for this item

Posted by jason on May 24, 2004 at 4:54 AM (PDT)

17

Sound quality is better than itrip but not as good as my cassette adapter. Itrip had difficulty transmitting to my rear mounted antenna. Design frees-up headphone jack for remote and/or cassette adapter. Mounting package works well in my Passat.

Posted by Russ on May 26, 2004 at 1:54 PM (PDT)

18

Fits nicely in a New Beetle in the lighter between the two front seats. Overall I've been very pleased.

But one thing is starting to drive me nuts. Half of the songs played through the TransPod (3G) have an annoying harsh static sound when the singer pronounces an "S" sound. Changing stations doesn't help, equalizer changes don't help, treble and bass settings on the car stereo don't seem to help, and the harsh static sound doesn't show up when using the headphones. Sounds like a funny problem, but it's a lot of static to deal with when you consider how many times the "S" sound comes up in a song. Anyone else experiencing this or have a suggested solution?

Posted by Andy Johnson on June 4, 2004 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

19

The TransPod 3G is great... Drove it from NY to Boston and only had to adjust the transmit station once. Way better than anything Belkin makes. One drawback...look closely at the distance relationship between your cigarette lighter adapter and the gearshift..if they are close, gettting the Transpod in could be a bit of a problem. My Nissan Maxima has the gearshift on the center console and the transpod needed some "fiddling". My wife's Ford Explorer has the gearshift on the column and the Transpod fits in perfect. I love this thing...if you lease cars or swap cars alot and can't do a hard wire install...spend the $100.

Posted by Rich C on June 22, 2004 at 3:37 PM (PDT)

20

FINALLY! I love this product. I am a bit of an efficiency freak and went out and tried all the modulators I could get my hands on-- the itrip, the monster cable and belkin fm modulators. This blows them all out of the water. You just drop in your ipod and go. It even remembers the last station you were on when the car turned off. Changing the frequency is a breeze, easy to read even while driving.

The cables for the other ones were all over the place, and frustrating to plug in for a short errand hop. Also, switching my iopd from car to car was annoying. As for stabillity, once I adjusted the arm to be at a slight angle, not just straight upright, it was fine-- even around sharp turns.

The TransPod3G is truly plug and play. I get no hiss (I live in metropolitan Washington DC), the sound quality is far greater than that of the others, plus the dock and arms look cool- reminds me of the Star Wars troopers.

My only complaint is that you can not have a protective skin on the ipod as the dock is too narrow. But that aside, this is a highly efficient, rockin' product!

Posted by Jessica Weiss on July 21, 2004 at 2:34 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.