Etymotic Research ER-6i Isolator Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

i own these and the are the best ever! definitally an A and this is true no bad part abou them. also i belive the "cleaning tool" isn't a cleaning tool. isn't it used to change the filters?

Posted by todd2fst4u in San Jose, CA USA on November 19, 2004 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

2

Yeah it is raspberry
http://www.etymotic.com/pdf/er6-isolator-manual.pdf

Posted by ipodman715 on November 19, 2004 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

3

Nice.

Posted by Soung on November 19, 2004 at 2:33 PM (PDT)

4

The tool is a filter switcher, used to let you swap and clean the plastic filters that come with the ER-6is. In the ER-4 version, the filters are metal and aren't quite as easily cleaned.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 19, 2004 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

5

I have these and the one thing that's made me want to sell them is the triple flanges. I mean, I thought I had fairly average shaped ears. To get a good seal I feel like the innermost flange is pushing against the interior of my ear canal. It's uncomfortable and creepy feeling to have something THAT deep in my ear. I have Sony EX-51's and they fit great with no problems. The length of the triple flanges on the 6i's are at least double the Sonys. I've tried some smaller, two flange eartips Etymotic sent me, but these are too small to make a good seal. Anyone else have this problem?

Posted by blackpoint on November 19, 2004 at 4:53 PM (PDT)

6

Are they as good as the Shure earphones. Or are they better?

I want to buy one of them

Posted by musblue4 in Sunnydale on November 19, 2004 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

7

I have the Shure e3c, and i did have the e5c for a day. Id also like to hear an opinion from someone who has had the shure e2c or e3c and tried these or the 4's. ANyone?

Posted by Steve VM on November 19, 2004 at 6:59 PM (PDT)

8

It isn't as accurate as it's original version, ER-6 though... It would sound good at first but a "flat" earphone will sound better in the long run after you get tired of that "artificial" sound.

Posted by Xen in Singapore on November 19, 2004 at 7:41 PM (PDT)

9

The only thing I don't like about these earphones are the case, I bought a Shure spool case to store my ER6i's in, I really didn't like wadding up my cord in that little pouch they give you. Other then that I feel pretty good about my purchase.

Posted by sonikninja on November 19, 2004 at 8:07 PM (PDT)

10

I hope an audiophile comes along and gives us a real review...

Posted by Xen in Singapore on November 19, 2004 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

11

blackpoint: I also have had this problem, and I too tried the smaller flanges they sent me. I can say that although I now prefer the smaller ones, I had (until I received those) a temporary solution in which I took the original pack-in 3 flanges and simply cut off the smallest, "inner most" tip. This left the two larger ones on, making a flange tip that doesn't stick in so far. The result? Great seal, with improved comfort. I suggest you try it... You don't have much to lose by snipping it, and worse comes to worse you can just buy a replacement pair of 3 flanged ones if you don't like the mod.

Posted by d.w.chin in U.S. on November 19, 2004 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

12

Xen, do a search on the headphones board on headfi.org. What you'll find there are plenty of Ety users who feel both ways about them, but it seems the hardcore can users will have definite sharp opinions concerning both the ER6 and ER4 series (i.e., they aren't always kind about what they say, but then again these are usually the same individuals who are into serious $$$ headgear like the Sensaphonic ProPhonic 2X).

Posted by flatline response on November 19, 2004 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

13

sound quality aside...i have a pair of e2c and any time i wear them, people stare at me like im deaf and wearing hearing aids...

The good...i've been offered a handicap seat on the train a couple times..hahahah

Posted by neotrooper in tokyo on November 19, 2004 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

14

bought these but was not really impressed! BUT HAVE JUST CUT THE THIRD TIP OF THE EARTIP!! not only are these now the best ive tried both cosmetically, but comfort has increased what seems tenfold, isolation is equal possibly slighty better, also inproved bass no doubt due now to the better isolation, but the buds no longer feel like there rammed in my ears, longtime use was always a comfort issue, as mentioned in previous posts GIVE IT A TRY I WASN'T DISSAPPOINTED .when others say you tried ety 2flange tips im assuming it was the clear type standard er6 they don't look quite as flexible as triflage tips? these cut down triflange tips are really comfortable! AND WHITE!!

Posted by steven follett in uk on November 20, 2004 at 12:37 AM (PDT)

15

as a footnote to previous post any of you guys tried e3c with the ety eartips i believe they fit

Posted by steven follett in uk on November 20, 2004 at 12:50 AM (PDT)

16

"Comparing the ER-4Ps to the ER-6is is closer to 80% - a more noticeable step down."

Do you beleive that this difference in sound quality will be noticed by the average listener? Also, are there any differences in comfort between the 4ps and 6is?

Posted by mvtim on November 20, 2004 at 6:22 AM (PDT)

17

born a tiger: Actually, the Ety 2 flange tips I tried were sent to me from Etymotic, and they are made specifically for the ER-6i. They are also white, and every bit as flexible as the 3 flanges because they're made from the same material.... So they are not the same as buying ER-6 2 flange tips and using them. Basically, they made the small 2 flanges by cutting off the Largest, outermost flange instead of cutting off the smallest inner flange. I prefer that (cutting the largest), because apparently my ears are just that tiny... but most people I know who have problems with the 3 flanges prefer it when they cut off the smallest flange. I'm glad you like it better now... I too thought the comfort was 10x improved and the bass also improved from the mod.

Posted by d.w.chin in U.S. on November 20, 2004 at 8:35 AM (PDT)

18

yeah great idea thanks !! glad you mentioned the mod , the official 2flange tips wouldn't have suited

Posted by steven follett in uk on November 20, 2004 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

19

I'm considering buying these. How do they do whey you are working out at the gym or running? How do the earpieces react to sweat or moisture in the earpiece? Lastly how is the sound quality compared to the Shure E2C's? Much appreciated!

Posted by kilik75 on November 20, 2004 at 12:48 PM (PDT)

20

i live in australia,,,, ordered these from earplugz store and got them in 4 days,, very good,.i read the directions and after using the shure2c i much prefer these on sound quality,comfort and definitly looks,, the hearing aid comment was funny.i am an athlete and run everyday,workout,, whatever,, and they stay in your ear,,,if u clip the chord it doesnt bother u at all,,,,and they r seriously smaller n lighter than i expected from the pics i saw,,,overall they are sick,,,, and a perfect companion for my ipods.u dont even have to jamm them all the way into your ear to hear the crystal sound,,i use sennheiser hd-25 dj cans aswell,,awesome sound,, these sound even clearer and alot more conveniant since they r so small and can go anywhere,,,i totally recomend them,,money well spent,especially if u get them discounted,good luck n enjoy.

Posted by blueyesbmw in sydney on November 21, 2004 at 6:11 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 7 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.