Etymotic Research ER-4S/ER-4P Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

21

Linwei, can I ask where you bought them in Sing and how much you paid...I have been looking for them for some time now...

Posted by Greg on April 6, 2004 at 12:16 AM (PDT)

22

nonono, all you naysayers are wrong, these little things produce an orgasm inside your head. If you think that a pair of $50 or even $100 headphones can compare then I suggest you head over to etymotic and order a pair. If they don't live up to your expectations and give music a new meaning then all you have to do is return them smile

Posted by T on April 20, 2004 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

23

I'm the sort of idiot that spends huge amounts of money on things like earphones and then can't even tell the differance, but then I still feel content cause I know they're supposed to be good.

Anyway according to you guys I could spend my hard earned money on these and actually get my moneys worth!!! This sounds like a dream come true to me.

But you guys say they cut off outside world sound, so that means when I'm at work I may get hit by cars and stuff cause I may not hear them coming. That sounds bad. But apparently they sound that good and I love music that much that I have to get them anyway.

Hopefully I can get them in Australia or at least find a company that will ship them here.

Posted by ex0 on April 21, 2004 at 6:08 AM (PDT)

24

HOLY CRAP!!!
I received mine (ER-4P - recommended for iPods over the 4S) on Friday. I put them on while at work and thought, "Wow, these are pretty good but I don't know if they were worth the extra cabbage." Then I noticed another guitar in the song I was listening too that I had never heard in my life. Then I noticed that my phone had its light on, meaning that I didn't hear the phone ringing right next to me.

Next, on Saturday, I grabbed the iPod, my new headphones, and my Harley and headed out. I have aftermarket pipes on my Harley, a big bore engine, and the combination is a pretty loud bike. Combine that with the wind and it is pretty deafening. For example, I have tried listening to the iPod with the ear buds that came with it while riding. I had to turn the volume up to full and could still barely make out which songs I was listening to. Not good for the ears.

But behold the ER-4Ps! I had the volume set at about 35% and could hear every delicious note, even at 90mph!!!! Crystal clear!!!! I am in total disbelief. My 1550 cc engine sounds like a refrigerator running in the background.

Some may say I shouldn't be listening to headphones while riding but keep in mind that I can't hear anything anyway. These things are actually allowing me to protect my hearing while listening to music!!!

Besides, the cool case makes me feel like an international man of mystery when I put them on. Though, admittedly, I've only owned them for four days and already I am too lazy to put them back in the case.

Posted by monkey on April 26, 2004 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

25

I looked at the er-4p's at headphone.com and they are selling them for 219! Anyone compared the Shure E2c's to these?

Posted by vdk on May 3, 2004 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

26

er-4p will blow away the e2c's, and yes it is worth every single penny of that 219, try it out, headphone.com have a very good return policy.

Posted by Jerry on May 3, 2004 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

27

Thanks, ordered a pair yesterday. Can't believe how nice the sales guy was on the phone (headphone.com). I'll post a report after using them a few days.

Posted by vdk on May 4, 2004 at 3:37 AM (PDT)

28

well I received my er4p's and it took me about 5 minutes to recognize how unbelievable they are. Great clarity, isolation, bass response etc. etc. Highly recommended.

Posted by vdk on May 5, 2004 at 1:48 PM (PDT)

29

If you care about sound, 4P's are great phones with great isolation as stated more eloquently by many before. My equally expensive Bose phones are junk by comparison.

Ety is sweet to deal with. Was in Chicago with a little extra time and stopped to see them. They are a small company and do not have a showroom. Not only did they take the time to talk to me and let me listen, they suggested that I would likely get a beter deal on the net. (If you make things for a living and sell through distribution you cut your own throat if you compete with your resellers.) It is nice to see that they also care about their eventual customers. I got mine for $230 tot. from .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) several months ago

Another sweet product they have is a cell phone hands free that is a joy to use in high noise areas like an airport or at 70 mph on the freeway with the top down. You can hear clearly and do not have to yell to be heard. Another example of getting what you pay for. I suppose my Bose phones are the counterexample...

Posted by Juris on May 8, 2004 at 6:02 AM (PDT)

30

If you're living in Australia and want these headphones, rest assured, I recently ordered a pair of ER-4P's from HeadRoom (http://www.headphone.com) and they arrived within 4 days via FedEx International -- how's that for quick service?

Needless to say, I am very very happy with their performance! Highly recommended.

Posted by Y on May 11, 2004 at 5:12 AM (PDT)

31

i am also in australia. perth to be exact and i am keen to get these headphones.

however i got small ears u know like i have trouble keeping buds in my ears cos it doesn't hold em and also my ears start to hurt after a while. will i have a problem with the ety's since my ears are small?

Posted by nOOSE on May 15, 2004 at 11:23 PM (PDT)

32

Besides the silicone type, Ety also ship their earphones with sponge type plug (interchangable). Also they have the optional smaller and larger sponge for those who don't fit in regular size. You could just call and ask them for the sample - great customer service.

Small size is roughly 75% of the grey regular sponge, large is ~125% the regular size. They will work only when the regular size really doesn't fit you.

Also you have the option of custom molding them to your ear canal, same procedure as molding the hearing aid devices.

Posted by vinylnotes on May 16, 2004 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

33

HI everybody! Like Yale, I have a dilemma. I'm interested in either getting the Shure E3c earphones, or the Etymotic ER-6 earphones. Does anyone (who either knows a great amount about the two or has either the two) have a suggestion? They're a bit expensive and I want to make the Best decistion instead of a costly one. By the way, I'm a big bass fan and I've noticed that a couple of the reviews had negative remarks about the E3c's. Please feel free to email me. Thanks a whole lot!

John

Posted by John Davis in New York on June 12, 2004 at 8:04 AM (PDT)

34

I bought a set of Etymotic ER-6 earphones for $97.95 shipped from the Ear Plug Super Store. Absolutely brilliant! Undoubtedly the best earphones I have ever used: I can only imagine what the ER-4 is like. I can hear nuances I have never previously heard in some music. I am used to the feel of earplugs from frequent use in motorcycle helmets, so the provided silicone inserts are fine with me. I appreciate the manner by which the silicone inserts do not let music out, thus not disturbing those around me; they do a very good job of isolating me as a listener, though, something I am not always thrilled about. I really like the thin ER-4 cord with clip (nice touch), and the additional foam inserts allow me to adapt my favorite foam earplugs to them should I desire. Extremely positive experience overall, and I do consider myself an audiophile. Oh, and Ear Plug Super Store provided excellent service.
HTH
d

Posted by danno in Atlanta, GA on June 21, 2004 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

35

Has anyone had an issues with the flimsy wires on the ER-6? It seems to be brought up in almost every review I read.

Posted by Eric on June 24, 2004 at 8:35 PM (PDT)

36

Has anybody used the ER-4P while jogging? I understands it has a shirt clip, but I do not know if it is enough to block the noise caused by the pulling of the cable while bouncing, which usually transmits into your ears if not secured (terrible experience with the "in-ear" apple headphones my wife bought me along with my new ipod "mini"). As anybody had any issues? I am willing to spend the $250 on a good set, but I use my ipod mostly while excercising, so this is an important factor for me.

Posted by Manuel on June 26, 2004 at 6:26 AM (PDT)

37

got the er4p- i'm sorry they are sound a tad tinny no bass, tried different earpieces, same result, not, in my opinion, worth the dosh stick with my mx500's

Posted by AUBREY on June 28, 2004 at 2:18 AM (PDT)

38

I have the ER-4S 'phones... picked them up at the weekend over in NY, because they cost me $230 (http://www.headphone.com) - which is a whole heap cheaper than buying them in London. On the flight on the way back, they really came into their own - total noise isolation from the plane noise without cranking the volume.

I went jogging with them on Monday night, and again: result. I'd say the only risk is that you can hear NOTHING but your music/spokenbook, ie: no oncoming bus, no dog chasing you, no muggers! Also - in response to person who posted re: the phones coming/falling out of your ears when exercising - if you insert them properly, which involves moistening them first (nice concept - not), they really, really stay put. Obviously yanking on the cord will make them come out... but I was jogging with my iPod in my hand, and they were absolutely fine.

I know it seems nuts to spend such a total bomb on earphones, but I'm certainly glad I did. Only downside? You can't crank the sound. At max volume, it's loud, but it's not blasting, so if you enjoy really listening to mega-loud music... you can't.

Posted by KJ on June 30, 2004 at 3:44 AM (PDT)

39

The flimsy wires on the ER-6 are a good thing. It makes them a bit less microphonic than the ER-4, meaning that they pick up less noise of the wires rubbing against your shirt.

Although they look flimsy, in my 6 months of using them, I haven't encountered problems. This includes extensive use in gyms and airplanes, but no jogging outside. Where I run, it just seems too dangerous not being able to be alert to traffic.

Posted by ER on July 2, 2004 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

40

Silly question - how do they compare to Apples own in-ear headphones?

Posted by BB on July 3, 2004 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.