eXopod Aluminum Magnetic Case for iPod shuffle | iLounge

Reviews

1

i thought ipodlounge wasn't going to review cases that were pretty much a copy of helixipod's?

Posted by wezman2k on March 29, 2005 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

2

Tough poop for helixipod. He's taken awhile to bring his product to market. And frankly, you snooze, you loose.

I initially emailed helixipod to be put on a notification list to purchase one of the initial cases. After hearing nothing beyond the first email I lost interest.

Posted by ash8080 in Florida, USA on March 29, 2005 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

3

I think Helixpod's is a little more attractive (and attractively priced), but I like the magnet solution, and that the bottom of the case doesn't leave the USB connector exposed.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on March 29, 2005 at 1:48 PM (PDT)

4

Griffin Technology released theit version today, called the iVault. Available in 4 coilors ,it's similar to helixpod's desgn in the sense that the case remains on the shuffle at all times, even for syncing.

Posted by dfmzfr on March 29, 2005 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

5

I bought a case through the creators-I go to school with them and they were talking about it. I am completly satisfied. I love the fact that it ads a little more substance to the shuffle so i am less likely to leave it in my coat or pant pocket and forget about it. Furthermore the magnet feature is nice. It allows me to easily take the shuffle out and put on the lanyard clip to go running with. In addition people on the train tend to look more closely at my shuffle becuase of its unique look.

Posted by Specialkay on March 29, 2005 at 2:20 PM (PDT)

6

"Griffin Technology released theit version today, called the iVault. Available in 4 coilors ,it's similar to helixpod's desgn in the sense that the case remains on the shuffle at all times, even for syncing.

By dfmzfr on Mar 29, 05 3:17 pm"

That's because it IS helixpods case.

Posted by CanofAir on March 29, 2005 at 2:36 PM (PDT)

7

Magnets - Cool
No liner - UhOh, Scratches!!!
Ipod headphones only - So sad :-(

And as CanofAir already noted, the iVault IS helixpods design........read the news!!!

Posted by Spot on March 29, 2005 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

8

Re: Spot's comment

There are extension cords so you can use any headphones.

If I didn't own an iPod already, I would buy it BECAUSE of this case. It would match powerbooks, and can be worn with dog chains.
I'd call mine "Lil Ghetto Blasta"

Posted by iPod Dance in VA on March 29, 2005 at 3:28 PM (PDT)

9

The cases are different. Griffin and HelixiPod's iVault is only similar to Exopod's case in three ways: materials, beveled front and back holes, and manufacturing technique. Their approaches to USB port protection, locking mechanisms, keychaining, fit and finish, pricing and customization are entirely different. So they're both fair game for review.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 29, 2005 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

10

Would you mind doing a pro-concompaison of the two? I know the magnets arent very powerful, but wouldnt tapping near the RAM for even a second damage your memory?

Posted by andres in Miami on March 29, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

11

clearly you have no idea how flash memory works. Magnets have absolutely no effect on flash memory as opposed to hard drives. I have an exopod and the magnets are plenty strong.

Posted by sbklaguna on March 29, 2005 at 9:35 PM (PDT)

12

I prefer Helixipod + Griffin's iVault to this case. I don't like the way the little thing sticks out the bottom for the keychain.

Posted by iPodNod in London, UK on March 30, 2005 at 4:10 AM (PDT)

13

seems like there are an aweful lot of problems with it at this stage. The review grade seems pretty nice concidering the issues that were discussed. All i know is those little things add up, and if they don't have it right, and have "growing pains" then it should be as highly recommended with a B+ until they do get it right.

Posted by madkow in Ohio on March 30, 2005 at 5:18 AM (PDT)

14

Just to update everyone, the website is now finished and exopods are ready to ship. [url=http://www.exopod.net]http://www.exopod.net[/url]

Posted by Tomekeuro85 on March 30, 2005 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

15

The magnetic catches are clever. Since this is a CNC product, modifications are easily incorporated into the design, so issues such as iPod case protection from scratches can be addressed. Also, I see from the vendor's web site, that there is a bit machine turning present on the surfaces from the machining bit. I rather like it, and perhaps an "engine turning" style of finish version would look great? Why hide it when you can make it a desirable feature and demonstrate what properties the alloy has?

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on April 4, 2005 at 9:24 AM (PDT)

16

LOOKS REAL NICE BUT I DONT LIKE THE MAGNETIC PART

Posted by EQUINOX341095 in miami on April 4, 2005 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

17

Personally I think this company is run by scammers.

While the money was taken out of my bank account on the next day, I have yet to receive anything. To make matters worse, the company announced on their site they were changing the finish on the exopod case from the brushed aluminum case featured in this review to a sandblasted texture that makes the entire case look like its made of cheap plastic (check the photos on their site). This I feel is just one big bait and switch manuver since the case I ordered was the polished one shown on the site not something that looks like some cheap knockoff!

Now, on top of everything, they have decided to have a $5 off sale even before they have started shipping any products. And none of the contact phone numbers on their site seem to be real since one number is no longer in service and the other just goes to voicemail

The whole thing is really fishy.

Beware.

Posted by agentparas on April 10, 2005 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

18

Ironically, after posting my last entry, I got a phone call from the Exopod guys explaning the series of computer and distributer snafus that resulted in my delayed order and the reasons for the change in case finish (supposedly sandblasted hides any scratches). I STILL would have liked a shiny one though. They refunded my money and I may actually reorder now that I have the 5 bucks off and a bit more piece of mind...So until I get my exopod:

.....to be continued.

Posted by agentparas on April 10, 2005 at 6:57 PM (PDT)

19

Just wanted to put up a post letting people know that exopod is very legit. I own an exopod and are friends with the manufactures. There ARE people behind the product, so this is defintly not a scam. Like any buisness starting up there are kinks to work out with all the connections between manufacturing and shipping.

Posted by Specialkay on April 10, 2005 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

20

I really like the design, and want to order one of these. I am hesitant due to it not being able to accommodate plugs other than the standard Apple iPs headphone plug and not having any kind of a liner to prevent scratches. Does anyone have any experience with either of these 2 issues?

Thanks -

Posted by dewarner on April 11, 2005 at 2:51 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.