Griffin AirClick Wireless RF Remote Control | iLounge

Reviews

1

I think that I may buy one of these!

Posted by robpears in England on March 31, 2005 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

2

So i'm truly excited...however I have one question. Can you use this and the itrip? I would love to have this for poker night however I use the iTrip to play on the stereo and I don't see that this can work with it...can anyone answer this?

Posted by aethiolas on March 31, 2005 at 12:39 PM (PDT)

3

Can't use AirClick and iTrip together. It's in the FAQ on Griffin's page.

My question is can you use AirClick (or a similar wireless RF remote) in conjunction with the JBL OnStage, OnTour or similar remote-less speaker system?

Posted by Claybrook on March 31, 2005 at 12:56 PM (PDT)

4

I would guess that you can - but the volume controls would not work unless you hooked up the speakers to the headphone port, which is an option on the IMmini for example. USB version impresses me the most - at last the computer can be used just like a normal DVD player or hi-fi smile

Posted by Magic Rabbits in Aberdeen, Scotland on March 31, 2005 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

5

Can you plug the AirClick USB into an Airport Express, and have that communicate back to iTunes on the "home" computer?

Posted by thenightfly42 on March 31, 2005 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

6

"Apple quietly made some change to currently shipping 30GB and 60GB iPod photos around their headphone ports"

does this mean that there IS something wrong w/ the headphones that may be related to the audio defect or other audio problems?

Posted by erio on March 31, 2005 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

7

jeremy just wonderin does the usb have the same limits as the ipod shuffle???



a combo pack would be akiller for say 20 dollars more get a usb and ipod air click for 60 instead 80 i would go for that



thanks alot

Posted by BIGP in Texas on March 31, 2005 at 2:28 PM (PDT)

8

Does the recent iPod photo software update address that issue?

If not, I hope it's addressed at some point and is not entirely physicsal. (It's odd that RANGE would be affected... unless the receiver's not getting full power? My iTrip and other add-ons get plenty of power from my 1st gen iPod photo.)

I second the need for having iPod AND USB without buying an extra remote.

Posted by Nagromme on March 31, 2005 at 3:02 PM (PDT)

9

I would love to have one of these, but I already spent $35(student discount) on one of Apple's remotes :(

Posted by pakkman781 in TN on March 31, 2005 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

10

So you can use the AirClick USB to control the DVD player? That would really make our famalies new iMac 20 inch reach even greater potential since it's in a family room where a t.v should be.

Posted by ogvor on March 31, 2005 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

11

AirClick USB doesn't work with AirPort Express in that way; it's in Griffin's FAQ. And BIGP, not sure exactly how to answer that question.

Nagromme: No; our test hardware is up to date with the latest updater (1.1) for iPod photo. It appears to be entirely unrelated to software. The issue appears to be internal interference of some sort, but we're not 100% sure.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 31, 2005 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

12

wish i bought this instead of apples remote

Posted by lordofthesocks on March 31, 2005 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

13

ogvor, yes you can use it to control the DVD player, if you look at the 5th picture down, you'll see that one of the options is DVD player smile

Posted by MATRIXsjd in Burbank, Ca on March 31, 2005 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

14

I think I prefer the idea of the iPod BEING the remote--transmitting the music wirelessly. For decent quality that means Bluetooth though, and those units look expensive!

So I think I'll pick one of these up AirClicks up for my iPod AND my PowerBook (which is also my only DVD player--connected to TV). Assuming the interference or whatever is worked out by Apple.

I wonder... does RemoteRemote 2 have the same issue with iPod photo signal range?

Posted by Nagromme on March 31, 2005 at 11:55 PM (PDT)

15

Did you try testing these products in a car? I don't imagine there would be any interference issues, but it would have been nice if your review had mentioned this.

Personally, I'm looking forward to being able to tuck my iPod out of sight and use this remote to control playback, at least until the aftermarket gets around to figuring out how to interface with the OEM head unit in my Magnum.

Posted by IDSmoker on April 1, 2005 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

16

i think its a really bad marketing strategy to say the usb dongle will be included and then say it will only sell with a remote for $40 bucks. There is no sense of having 2 remotes or paying $80+shipping.

Posted by penance215 on April 1, 2005 at 9:53 AM (PDT)

17

well i managed to find the usb and airclick for $51 free shipping at [url=http://www.computers4sure.com]http://www.computers4sure.com,[/url] I am not sure how long it will take to get here though

Posted by penance215 on April 1, 2005 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

18

jeremy i meant will fit most computers like an old imac or an emac do they sell extions if needed

Posted by BIGP in Texas on April 1, 2005 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

19

penance215 your link is wrong dont use the comma at the end

Posted by BIGP in Texas on April 1, 2005 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

20

http://www.computers4sure.com/search.asp?Operator=ALL&CONTEXT=SITE&Keyword=airclick&x=19&y=8


here it is both are 26 apeice befor shiping

Posted by BIGP in Texas on April 1, 2005 at 12:56 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.