Griffin iTalk Voice Recorder | iLounge

Reviews

21

if the quality of the sound would be better, then a voice recognition program (Dragon) would be a great market for this recorder.

Posted by john jones on April 27, 2004 at 8:18 AM (PDT)

22

Yes! Samples please! I won't buy one until I hear how bad it really sounds for voice. Maybe do some recordings in various conditions. A meeting room. Near a road. In a restaurant. In a small quiet room by yourself. Etc.

Just recite a poem or something.

Posted by Josh on April 27, 2004 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

23

I have a sample and my own review here:

http://www.differentdistrict.com/reviews_more.php?id=987_0_2_0_M

Hope you like them! :D

Posted by John Tylko on April 27, 2004 at 12:08 PM (PDT)

24

What do you guys think about the look of the griffin italk versus the competition. I think it looks great.

Posted by Donnie Walker on April 28, 2004 at 5:16 AM (PDT)

25

I like Griffin iTalk's look way over all the others.

Posted by NetNet711 in Houston, Texas on April 28, 2004 at 9:41 AM (PDT)

26

Being able to convert recordings to MP3 in iTunes (to reduce file space) will be critical to the usefulness of this product. Can one do this?

Posted by basher Booth on April 28, 2004 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

27

The review is great thank you!

However it does not mention whether or not the Griffin product has the same problems with pops (clipping) that the Belkin device did. I don't expect great quality at 8khz sampling, but I would like to have confirmation that the sever popping noise of the Belkin is gone for me to consider the Griffin. It was my opinion that the Belkin popping was due to poor algorithms to handle clipping in the ADC (analog to digital conv.).

There is a recording sample in this thread, but if I was careful I could create a popless (unclipped) recording on the Belkin too, which would hide thisliability.

Thank you to anyone who can provide some feedback on this "popping point" =)

Posted by Santaduck on April 28, 2004 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

28

I just got my iTalk. Recording seems ok. It looks cool, and works ok.
Playback with the speaker is pretty useless unless you put it up to your ear (but then my hearing isn't all that great). If you turn it up it sounds really bad. I'm suprised that it doesn't sound better, but then I guess this is a limitation of the ipod? I would like to hear from someone who really knows if the iPods firmware CAN BE UPGRADED for better quality recording? YES or NO? If it can be upgraded with firmware, I say we bombard Apple Feedback with some requests to get on it.
One thing I don't like is how the iTalk volume control is so radically different from playback with it's speaker to playback with an external speaker. Seems like this could have been done better. If you are recording and listening on the iTalk speaker ... make sure you turn down the volumn before plugging in your externals. Or you will get an ear full!
I'm happy. It's a pretty cool gadget. The price didn't set me back so much that I regret getting it. And I'm sure it will be useful when I get used to it.
I give it one thumb up for pure coolness. One thumb down for poor playback on the supplied iTalk speaker.

Posted by John McMullen on April 29, 2004 at 9:03 AM (PDT)

29

Again, for anyone who has an iTalk--

Please describe what happens when the recording gain is set too high. Is there some distortion (normal), or are there horrible popping-sound artifacts generated like the Belkin?

Posted by Santaduck on April 29, 2004 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

30

Just received my iTalk...

The iTalk is very easy to use. It took me less than 10 seconds to work the thing.

I was happy with the voice recordings.

I also liked the way I could rename the WAV files and transfer them to different folders on my computer's hard drive. This helps a great deal with organization (i.e., lectures in a seperate folder named by date).

The playback feature is pathetic. If I used the "alarm" feature, I would probably never wake up! I can barely hear the iTalk from 3 feet away. However, I plan to use my earphones with the iPod anyway--no big deal.

Overall, I'm happy with it so far...

Posted by gnagel on April 30, 2004 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

31

This is maybe a stupid question, but if you popped a splitter in to the port, could you use an external mic and headphones at the same time?

Posted by Ryan on May 3, 2004 at 4:33 AM (PDT)

32

I got my italk the other day (in early May) after preordering it in early February. My frustrations are echoed on this list so, 'nuf said on that topic, but Griffin was less than responsive when I contacted them about my order.

I too am curious about a firmware upgrade that will allow higher quality monaural recording. If anyone has a hack, I'd give it a try.

The italk has automatic gain control so the "pops" that folks are describing with the belkin are not an issue.

The sound quality is not bad, but the files come out in .wav format. Does anyone know of a good wav mp3 converter (free?) I've searched high and low.

Finally, the strangest thing happens when I plug the headphones in the iTalk uses my standard iPod headphones as a microphone! Has anyone else experienced this?

Posted by none on May 3, 2004 at 11:37 AM (PDT)

33

In regards to popping an nose, I have been using the Belkin UMA for the last month or so. With the Belkin UMA, I use a high gain powered condencer mic. I had to use the lowest gain setting to get the best audio. Medium or high gain settings would yield fuzzy and distorted recordings.

Yesterday I purchased the Griffin iTalk. I have not experienced the noise or distortion problem I had with the Belkin. I found the iTalk's built in microphone sufficient for the class room enviornment. Also, the quality of the Griffin audio is clearer than that of the UMA.

I'll try it with the high gain mic in the next day or so.

Posted by CrownFive on May 5, 2004 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

34

>Does anyone know of a good wav mp3 converter (free?) I've searched high and low.

http://www.cdex.n3.net/

Primarily a CD ripper but will convert wavs to mp3.

Posted by proanim8r in Tampa, FL on May 5, 2004 at 11:53 AM (PDT)

35

Just received mine. Generally I'm happy with it, but it sometimes screws up my Pod: it stops recording (I can go into record mode but nothing happens), and if I try playing back music while it's plugged in the pod just keeps forwarding through the playlist. I have to reset the pod to get normal behaviour back. Anyone else had any experience of this? I've got the latest iPod update, and the pod has worked normally previously

Posted by Dai Jones on May 6, 2004 at 2:41 PM (PDT)

36

>Does anyone know of a good wav mp3 converter (free?) I've searched high and low.

iTunes can do this natively. Simply CTRL+Click on the voice recording and "Convert Selection to MP3"

Posted by Mike Henley on May 9, 2004 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

37

Hey im seriously thinking of buying an iRiver, the only reason that Apple can only record at 8kHz = telephone quality, if this can be changed with software upgrade i want the pod, someone convince me!!!

Posted by Aswald on May 13, 2004 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

38

Hi

Just got my iTalk today and it won't work.When I press record, it does it but wont save the recording when I press stop and save.I tried pausing the recording before saving it and it saved just once. I obviously have a 3g ipod but does any ine think I might need to update my firmware.My ipod is only 2 months old.By the way my ipod stopped recording as well a couple of times!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Paul horgan on May 13, 2004 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

39

I have to reset my ipod too after I take-out the iTalk..WTFreak???

Posted by Fitzgerald Gonzalez on May 14, 2004 at 8:41 PM (PDT)

40

DUDE! I'm in the same situation, except I'll purchase a Neuros 20GB Player/FM/Recorder/etc. I really want the IPOD for quality, looks, interface, etc. And another thing, can I just hardwire a Microphone with a small preamp circuit to the headphone port on the IPOD for the same result for much, much less money, as well as just plugging in line-in style right into to the headphone port for recording abilities? I'm going to a huge sporting event in 2 weeks, where I will be running a Bearcat Scanner to 2 headsets, and want to record the entire event on an mp3 player that has line-in ability, as well as have the mp3 player for mass music playback during the trip.

Aswald said:
"Hey im seriously thinking of buying an iRiver, the only reason that Apple can only record at 8kHz = telephone quality, if this can be changed with software upgrade i want the pod, someone convince me!!!"

Posted by Graeme on May 17, 2004 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.