Griffin iTrip | iLounge

Reviews

81

I received my iTrip several weeks ago and must say that it is hands down better than the iRock. Not so much because of the sounds quality but for other reasons:

(Salt Lake City)

1. I use my iPod in the car for around 1 hour per day. I found I was constantly buying AAA batteries for iTrip or recharging. The iTrip does need batteries as it runs off the iPod power. I can even charge the iPod with my car adapter while using the iTrip.

2. I mainly (95%) listen to audible books while commuting to work. I find with the iTrip that I do not have to turn the volumn up as load which caused distortion on the iRock.

3. The design. This does not matter to most poeple but for me the design is very nice. I only have to carry around one device instead of lugging around the iPod and the iRock. The iTrip actually looks and feels like it is PART of the iPod.

4. Being able to choose any frequency. iRock has four choices all right next to each other.


That being said, from what I can tell, the sound quality of the two are almost identicle. I did have lots of problems with the iRock losing the station which the iTrip does not seem to do.

I ended up selling my iRock for 5.00 when the iTrip arrived. It will pay for itself in the battery savings alone.

Conclusion:
The iTrip is better than any FM tramsitter that I have used. It does have a few problems and is a little frustrating to changes frequencies but it is well worth it. If you need an FM transmitter for iPod, I would go with the iRock. If you can afford a car stereo head unit with an aux in, go that route (if sound quality is your biggest concern).

I hope that helps.

Posted by mp3zero on May 16, 2003 at 6:00 AM (PDT)

82

Hi everybody,
reading your comments, as i saw that the iTrip gets its energy from the jack connector, I'm wondering if it is possible to connect the iTrip on the remote instead of the iPod jack ? it could be interesting to have the possibility to place the iTrip in a more efficient place ... maybe.

That said, i'm thinking of buying one, macway.fr (the website somebody talked about) has a 'real' shop 10 kilometers from my home.

Posted by Phil in Strasbourg, France on May 16, 2003 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

83

Phil dont tell them your from france...


Ian

Posted by Ian in UK on May 16, 2003 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

84

I got my iTrip today and I live in the UK and ordered directly from Griffin. Despatched from Nashville on the 14th and arrived on my door on the 16th.

It works well, but there are so many stations in the UK it took me a while to find a free (good) channel but now thats resolved.

The iTrip cost me $35 and the shipping was $30 but there is no real altenative to that other than overland shipping for $10 but that could take 4-6 weeks to arrive.

Posted by Deggy in Staffs on May 16, 2003 at 10:37 AM (PDT)

85

This product is useless. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and can't find a single station that is uncrowded enough to allow for minimally decent sound quality. I asked Griffin for suggestions and the only response was to point out how good the review on this site is! For me, it worked badly in my home, and not at all in the car. Also, the unit does not fit tightly into the headphone jack and easily disconnects even in the smooth ride of my car. What a disappointment and a waste of money.

Posted by Ichiji on May 16, 2003 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

86

***Warning the following is not approved by FCC***

Well, the solution to getting those cherished ipod tunes to play in your car or at home is in simple hardware modifications. I have bought a cheap "soound Feeder" transmiter ($20 CAD=$12-14 USD)
and with no mods it was pathetic with range and reception. However, by soldering off stock antenna and soldering on a longer and spiraling antenna things have changed for the better (it was difficult to make everything fit when putting the darn thing back together). Reception is phenominal, i can transmit the signal to my car (Toyota_Corrola) from a distance of upto 6-7 meters away (befor it could barrely transmit from inside the car. And the sound quality has improved as well, however not as good a direct connection. The signal strengh can even over power existing stations. MooaaHaaa grin

Posted by cyber_bum on May 16, 2003 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

87

I ordered an itrip thru Griffin in Jan 03 and it arrived last week, to my home in the UK. It works perfectly well upto 30ft from my external FM aerial.

Posted by Ade in England on May 17, 2003 at 2:45 AM (PDT)

88

Here is my iTrip in use in the car [url=http://www.osxp.net/misc/itrip.jpg]http://www.osxp.net/misc/itrip.jpg[/url]

While is may seem an odd place to put my iPod, I can access all the buttons with no effort, and the stereo remote is on the column above it so everything is in one place smile

Posted by Deggy in Staffs on May 17, 2003 at 9:46 AM (PDT)

89

how the hell does this thing play a song? when i click play on a station, it does not blink rapidly like the manual says it is supposed to. then what do i do, back up to my music playlist and hit play on a song? i am very confused; someone please help me figure this out. the only time it blinks is when i plug it in.

Posted by Keith Harper in rochester ny on May 17, 2003 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

90

Hello, you guys in UK and france that received their itrip from griffin, can you tell me how long it took from the day your credit card was charged, until the day it arrived?


Thanks for your info!

Posted by miggy on May 17, 2003 at 1:16 PM (PDT)

91

Hi Guys (and Gals),

I was thinking about something.

I often set my iPod to shuffle songs, and then just select the whole list of songs. This way, I get a random playlist from every song on my iPod.

If the griffin MP3s are on my iPod, isn't there a chance that they'll play in my random shuffle? I know it won't change the broadcast frequency, but it would be a pain in the ### to get screeching and weird noises in the middle of my music.

Any thoughts?

Posted by TheAdmiral in UK on May 17, 2003 at 1:54 PM (PDT)

92

I'm having the same 87.9 problem as some other folks - there's no 87.9 station file on the iTrip CD. I'm pretty sure the iTrip started on that frequency, but I can't get it to reset. Short of running a nonexistent 87.9 file, is there any way to get the iTrip back to that frequency?

Posted by IClaudius in Austin TX on May 17, 2003 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

93

Miggy - My iTrip arrived 2 days after shipping, not sure what day they charged my card yet.

The Admiral - You can leave the tracks on mine came up in a random play and they only change the station if you press stop while on that track to confirm, or so it would seem.

Posted by Deggy in Staffs on May 17, 2003 at 10:12 PM (PDT)

94

Can anyone e-mail me the 87.9 file for the Mac version? It's not on my playlist or on the CD that came with iTrip. I downloaded the software from Griffin's website and 87.9 is not on that one either.
e-mail: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
thanks!

Posted by jicarv on May 18, 2003 at 3:22 AM (PDT)

95

well i went by the apple store today and the employee who jumped me as i entered (heh) said that they've discontinued the old version? he said they sold out just the other day and wouldn't be getting any more because the new one was coming out soon.. blah is this true?

Posted by selcouth in Dallas, TX on May 18, 2003 at 4:43 AM (PDT)

96

The 87.9MHz file is in the Japan folder on the CD that came with your iTrip.

Posted by Ron on May 18, 2003 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

97

Hmm, i really wonder when the thing will arrive, in the e-mail i got from griffin they say they wont charge my card before shipping the itrip, but that was like 5 days ago

i think I should mail griffin

Posted by miggy on May 18, 2003 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

98

Please do, miggy. I emailed over a week ago just asking for a questimate of when I might get mine. No reply.

Posted by Mac Feller on May 18, 2003 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

99

After working with the i-trip for a week, I've given up on it. They spent $34 on design - it looks great - and about $1 on technology. The FM transmission is much poorer than it is on the ugly I-Rock. So I guess I'm stuck with the I-Rock - or earphones - until something better comes up for the car.

Posted by Philip Bunton in Rockland County, NY on May 19, 2003 at 5:06 AM (PDT)

100

Hate to say it....but the inline antenna fm modulator I've has been using seems to be the only thing that effectively cancels out interference while giving a clean signal. It plus a 1/8" stereo jack to RCA adapter (radio shack) is all you need. True, you can't share your tunes in other people's cars (and it doesn't look very sexy), but I have few friends that would allow me to play my 20GB of gansta rap (heh) in their rides anyway. You can also use the adapter to play iPod stuff on any stereo that accepts auxiliary RCA inputs. Monster Cable sell a real nice 7' cable for this exact purpose (although it's $40!).

Posted by roger on May 19, 2003 at 7:11 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 28 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.