Griffin Lapel Mic Stereo Microphone | iLounge

Reviews

1

Is there a hack for the iPod to allow decent-to-high quality stereo recording via a microphone?

Posted by Likelife on May 6, 2005 at 10:13 PM (PDT)

2

On an episode of G4TechTV: Attack of The Show, they were talking about using Linux for the iPod to increase the sound quality of the microphone. The iPod actually has a built-in microphone on the left earbud that comes supplied. You can try that theory within the diagnotic mode. I think using Linux for iPod enables you to record without using the iTalk... I've yet to try that.

Posted by iPodiophile on May 7, 2005 at 2:00 PM (PDT)

3

I just got the iMic for my 3G and iTalk. I record meetings with the iTalk, but wanted something more for notes and recording my lectures (I'm the professor), or those of guest speakers to add to powerpoint presentations later. I have tested the iMic versus the iTalk alone and found the noise reduction to be quite good when it's just my voice.
I also own a relatively expensive clip on mic with it's own battery pack (I think it's a Sony), anyway the non-iMic reduces the voice recording volume to such an extent that you have to turn the sound volume all the way up on your computer and strain your ears to hear anything after you have downloaded your recording.
I have not had this problem with the iMic with test recordings so far.

Posted by kirayn on May 8, 2005 at 9:53 AM (PDT)

4

Is there any way to tell the difference between Revision 1 iTalk and Revision 2 iTalk? I think I see a difference, in the picture, the one to the right has a little stub right where the hold switch space is, but I'm just guessing.

Posted by macbullet on May 9, 2005 at 3:39 PM (PDT)

5

Hi Macbullet - the answer is in the text just above the picture of the 2 iTalks "only use it with a new (light gray-labeled as opposed to dark gray/black-labeled)". So you are looking for the colour of the iTalk logo to tell the difference with the light gray being the new one. Cheers

Posted by poddop on May 10, 2005 at 4:53 AM (PDT)

6

Help. Unfortunately, I have iTalk-1 and the (current) 4G iPod. Can you please recommend a compatible lightweight microphone? I hope so. Sincerely, Tom p.s. as you can tell, I don't want to buy a 2nd iTalk.

Thank you for your reviews; had I not read this artical, I would have wasted my money and been on a wild goose chase with out a clue.

Posted by BOAZ on May 11, 2005 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

7

Can voice messages recorded with iTalk be emailed to others? If so, how?

Posted by anitaseipel on May 12, 2005 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

8

CRAP! I didn't know about the revisions in the iTalk, till I plugged in a external mic and it wasnt recording my voice. Why the hell didn't Griffin mention this on there website.

Posted by fondoo in NYC on May 13, 2005 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

9

Could a male-male cable be used to connect from the iTalk to a portable battery-powered radio device and record from it? I am not planning on recording music, but am attending a convention at which the events will be broadcast over the radio for the hard of hearing. My wife won't be able to attend for health reasons. Could I use the iTalk to hook a portable radio up to my iPod and record from it instead of this lapel mic? Is there a better way of doing this?

Posted by jdbartlett on June 24, 2005 at 9:56 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.