Griffin PodPod/iSqueez Auto Cradle | iLounge

Reviews

1

What about 1G and 2G iPods? Considering they're basically the same dimensions, I would assume the older iPods would fit fine but I would have liked to see something mentioned.

Edit by Jeremy Horwitz, March 2005: iPodlounge has deleted a collection of negative and derogatory comments from "audiogeek" on our site, which we discovered have been posted by a writer for competing publications. As he has trolled and posted obnoxious comments in a number of threads, picking fights with our readers and editors, he has been banned from the site, and we strongly oppose his repeated mischaracterizations of various products and our editorial opinions. This comments thread was affected by his posts, and has therefore been modestly edited. If any of the other comments below do not make sense in the context of these deletions, we apologize.

Posted by MikeM on September 1, 2004 at 9:25 AM (PDT)

2

Does PodPod work with the 4g ipod if it is using a skin?

Posted by engroll918 on September 1, 2004 at 10:32 AM (PDT)

3

I hope this isn't that secret review item...

Posted by Nate on September 1, 2004 at 1:26 PM (PDT)

4

This thing is a piece of ****. Just put it in your cup holder, no need for a 10.00 piece of foam, if the iPod doesn't fit "well" in your cup holder, wrap the $10 bill around the iPod and put it in the holder raspberry.

Posted by Umm... yes... on September 1, 2004 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

5

Are you joking? The PodPod looks like the perfect solution for iPods in cars. Trust me, as the iPod attracts tons of scratches already, putting it in a bare cup holder doesn't help - especially if it bounces around.

Posted by Dustin on September 1, 2004 at 11:42 PM (PDT)

6

lol! This is stupid...I think there are much better car solutions out there...

BTW, what fancy car does the reviewer have? fake wood interior and all...I'm humbled with my Fiat Punto

Posted by janni on September 2, 2004 at 12:25 AM (PDT)

7

Does anybody know where you can get these in the UK?

Posted by Dave on September 2, 2004 at 5:14 AM (PDT)

8

Janni, Pay attention. It's a Lexus.

Btw, I think this is exactly what people were talking about when the saying "keep it simple stupid" was invented.

Why do you need all sorts of do-hickeys and thingamabobs to have a practical solution? While this may not be elegant, and in fact seems straight out cheesy, it certainly appeals, and conforms to my needs.

I'll be plunkin' down my $10...

Posted by Twyg in NY on September 2, 2004 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

9

I would also like to know whether I can use a skin with this holder, it's the reason why the Tunedok is no good for me.

Posted by Tim Loader on September 2, 2004 at 11:11 PM (PDT)

10

Tim, You probably can since its foam.

Posted by Chris on September 3, 2004 at 4:35 AM (PDT)

11

Good Review, Jeremy. I find it funny that you find having the ipod lower a downside; I prefer it near my knee area in my car, where my cupholder already is; this way it doesn't obstruct my driving in the least and all passengers can see the iPod and use the remote to switch songs. Although its true some freedom to movement would be much appreciated, I think this foam solution is fine....Just one question, would you think its possible to shave off some excess foam?

Posted by iPoddinatah on September 4, 2004 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

12

IMO why not buy a peice of foam and make your own? Then you could cut it exactly how you want it.

Posted by J-Tizzle on September 5, 2004 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

13

I just put my mini in it's belt clip that came FREE in the box. then it's slightly more scratch resistant. I lay it on it's clip in the car cup holder or ash tray and it still (4 months on) has no scratches at all. And i can transport it to and from the car with the belt clip. spend the $10 on 10 new songs

Posted by david on September 7, 2004 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

14

the mini doesnt scratch anywhere near as easily as the regular ipod.

tim, i wouldnt think this would work well with a case. it looks like its meant to be tight, and a skin would make it tighter. i'm willing to bet, it would'nt slip in and out very easily either(if the foam-rubber is what i am thinking of).

Posted by browsing on September 8, 2004 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

15

People keep b!tch!ng about this thing, come on, it's a foam holder for your iPod that you stick in a cup holder. It's nine-freaking ninety-nine.

I guess people might be happy if Griffin introduced a titanium cup holder device that used laser sensors to measure the dimesions of the cup holder and automatically adjust itself. They could charge $299 for it and all the naysayers would drool over the technology and buy them up.

Fuggeheddabouddit.

Posted by cannotwin on September 9, 2004 at 8:38 AM (PDT)

16

so where do i put my coffee now? in the holder next to the ipod? and if i go over a bump....hot coffee all over the ipod,
maybe some velcro will do the trick!

Posted by ldg on September 24, 2004 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

17

One of those foam beer insulator thingys would do the same thing but better.

Posted by the dude on September 29, 2004 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

18

I purchased this and have the same feelings as the review. It is not elegant, but functional. It does the job as advertised.

And, it fits with my iSkin evo case just fine. In fact, if you place the belt clip horizontally you do not have to remove it (which is a nice little bonus for those who use the belt clip).

Posted by Zamboni Guy on October 15, 2004 at 4:39 AM (PDT)

19

for my car i just got one of those no slip mats that can be used for cell phones and put it on that it didnt move at all and was like 5 bucks at the most and i could chose exactly where i wanted it to go. simple souloution and its cheaper. and oh yeah i still get to have my cup holder.

Posted by oddtalents on December 31, 2004 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

20

I have a Contour Design Isee 40 case, will it still fit into this holder???

Posted by aEdm in Boston Ma, USA on February 1, 2005 at 12:29 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.