Griffin RoadTrip All-in-One Car Solution | iLounge

Reviews

1

Cool we are of same opinion. Link

Edit by Jeremy Horwitz, March 2005: iPodlounge has deleted a collection of negative and derogatory comments from "audiogeek" on our site, which we discovered have been posted by a writer for competing publications. As he has trolled and posted obnoxious comments in a number of threads, picking fights with our readers and editors, he has been banned from the site, and we strongly oppose his repeated mischaracterizations of various products and our editorial opinions. This comments thread was affected by his posts, and has therefore been modestly edited. If any of the other comments below do not make sense in the context of these deletions, we apologize.

Posted by SouthPaw in PV, NY on August 16, 2004 at 7:14 PM (PDT)

2

Now they need to make one without the radio transmitter and with a line out. the radio transmitter makes it kinda clunky, but the contraption they use to hole the ipod up looks pretty good.

Posted by Payton on August 16, 2004 at 8:59 PM (PDT)

3

it looks ugly , it has "executive w**ker driving a bmw" written all over it.

Posted by olivier on August 16, 2004 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

4

but if they were driving a bmw wouldn't they use the bmw and apple system to listen to their iPod?

Posted by Zer0cool in Cold City AntArctica on August 17, 2004 at 6:09 AM (PDT)

5

I second Payton's post.

If the unit had a smaller dock, nicer-looking arm and a lineout port, there wouldn't be any need for an FM transmitter, we could just use line-out with a cassette adapter. A pretty, charging dock (with some extra space for encased iPods) with one wire to a cassette deck would form a much cleaner setup.

This pile of plastic just turns me off.

Posted by miSka in Ufa, Russia on August 17, 2004 at 7:51 AM (PDT)

6

I was SO hoping that the thing that held the iPod would be adjustible from the sides so I could put my cased mini in. Beltclip? Bad idea! Thanks for the writeup. It certainly saved me some disappointment.

Posted by Aceon6 in New England, USA on August 17, 2004 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

7

i like ipods

Posted by reimer on August 17, 2004 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

8

i wish i had one...:/

Posted by reimer on August 17, 2004 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

9

Thanks for keeping me from wasting some valuable cash!

Nice write up! Waiting for a comparison between OLD and NEW TransPod...Soon, I hope!

Posted by Zohak on August 17, 2004 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

10

Thanks for the honest review, Jeremy.

Posted by Mortimer on August 17, 2004 at 8:56 AM (PDT)

11

I would avoid any device which balances your iPod on the end of a stalk pushed into the cigarette lighter socket. I bought a similar handsfree holder for a cellphone. At every bump in the road the holder rotated itself around as the plug did not provide enough grip. It also interfered with selecting reverse gear so it got knocked out of place. And the phone was about half the weight of an iPod so I'm not surprised you had this problem.
I kept it for about 24 hrs then went for a refund.

Posted by MadPict in UK on August 17, 2004 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

12

uh... not sure why they keep saying that the roadtrip has a different design than the transpod. The "stalk" appears to be a 100% copy job down to the ball joint top section ans 2 split pieces.

I don't mind the stalk. It is stable but was hard to use in a Mercedes E class due to it hitting the shifter (the lighter is at an angle) but fine in an Accord.

The detachable transmitter is odd but perhaps it is so that they can build other toys like a bluetooth module or a line out passthrouth option.

I have tried irock, soundfeeder, and something else but liked the transpod the best. Not sure about this one but $20 is $20.

Posted by JJ on August 17, 2004 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

13

The roadtrip is an embarassment to the iPod. To put such a beautiful piece of electronics on such clunky and obtrusive arms and cradles should be illegal. It makes that Lexus look like crap.

Posted by Steve on August 17, 2004 at 7:41 PM (PDT)

14

A tip on FM transmitting to your car radio. If you have a manual car antenna, put it all the way down when using the itrip or any other transmitter. This greatly reduces static and gives you more stations to use.

Posted by trip on August 18, 2004 at 11:47 AM (PDT)

15

Edit March 2005: This comment was a response to audiogeek, who sidetracked the discussion of the Roadtrip by attacking Griffin's iTrip and praising a competing product.

Though the PodFreq (FM transmitter only) is not directly comparable with the RoadTrip (3-in-1 FM transmitter, car cradle, and car charger), it bears mention that we were as surprised as anyone about our findings (as we noted in our review). Because we were so surprised, two different editors tested the PodFreq to confirm the findings, and both had the same experiences with it.

We even gave Sonnet the opportunity to provide us with a different unit if they believed that the one they sent us was defective. We also noted that we were open to reconsidering our findings if there was a difference between units we received. The company did not provide another unit, and in fact was one of the only companies we've ever dealt with that wanted their product reviewed quickly and returned. Since we don't keep a PodFreq on hand, tested it thoroughly, and have plenty of other excellent FM transmitter options here, we have had no reason to re-examine our initial findings, and continue to recommend options that we prefer.

And I personally don't hesitate to add that a $15 Sony cassette tape adapter continues to provide a better quality audio signal than any of the FM transmitters, $100 or less, that we have used. The search for the ideal FM transmitter continues to strike me as akin to hunting for a Kobe beef hamburger - you could spend a lot of time and money looking for one, but what a waste considering the other options that are out there.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on August 18, 2004 at 6:56 PM (PDT)

16

What a grim departure for Griffin. We saw this product through Podgear earlier in the year (when DLO were still threatening a lawsuit to European vendors of the far superior Podgear Cardock). Avoid at all costs. If you arent in the US go for the Podgear Cardock, and buy it from either [url=http://www.sputnikshop.com]http://www.sputnikshop.com,[/url] [url=http://www.ipodworld.co.uk]http://www.ipodworld.co.uk[/url] or [url=http://www.ebay.co.uk]http://www.ebay.co.uk[/url]

Posted by Joe Murray on August 19, 2004 at 4:54 AM (PDT)

17

Is it just me or does it look like it has a pink tint to it

Posted by Aaron on August 19, 2004 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

18

I bought my DLO transpod fm for $75 at best buy. $99 what are you talking about? DLO's model is cheaper, less bulky, more adjustable, and an overall better buy. What were they thinking releasing this chunky piece of crap?

Posted by drew on August 22, 2004 at 1:45 PM (PDT)

19

hi guys can someone help me out i dont know where i put my Itrip cd lol n now i can't use my itrip can someone send me the tracks pls if u dont want to send all of them just send me one 87.9 thanx

Posted by RaNa on August 22, 2004 at 5:29 PM (PDT)

20

Rana,

just go to the http://www.griffintechnology.com/software/software_itrip.html

and download the package

Posted by brent on August 23, 2004 at 5:52 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.