Griffin Technology Centerstage Clear Protective Case and Stand for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Hasn't this been done before in a package that looks better? (Iskin iSee 360)

Posted by anti-luddite on September 20, 2006 at 6:05 PM (PDT)

2

If the flip was solid and covered the clickwheel this would be perfect. As is, it is barely better than any other clear case.

Posted by Chrystopher on September 29, 2006 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

3

I use this case daily and is very nice both in a functional and visual way. The opening of the clickwheel provides easy access without needing to flip open the cover all the time had it been solid. The cover is actually thick enough to protect the clickwheel from surface scratches.

Posted by kal80 on December 7, 2006 at 9:12 PM (PDT)

4

Hello ilounge - Comment on the Centerstage cases from Griffin: I am gad that they included two size casebacks because I can use the bigger one on my 30G (supposed to go on 80G, sarcasm), all while fitting on the Griffin itrip FM transmtter. Otherwise it does not fit as it should.

Does anyone over there actually think about and use these products?

Posted by iGripe on December 13, 2006 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

5

I know how to open the stand!

I read this trick somewhere else - all you have to do is use your index finger and thumb to grip horizontally along the hinge. Rotate the hinge and the stand opens right up! I have no idea why Griffin doesn't provide a note on how to open the stand - I bet they'd have a lot fewer product returns.

Posted by 2left on December 16, 2006 at 4:21 PM (PDT)

6

btw - anyone know how to easily open the case? I may be able to open the stand, but my iPod's been trapped in the case since I put it in 2 days ago!

Posted by 2left on December 16, 2006 at 4:22 PM (PDT)

7

I dont know if the company made modifications to the product since people started saying all this stuff in previous reviews...but this case is one of the better ones out there. Its not all that expensive, the stand is wicked easy to open up, the space for the wheel is large enough not to hinder the use of the wheel, and ALL the ports are left well exposed for easy access (I would say no matter how big your fingers are). Bottom line, if you are looking for a case that will allow hands free viewing of the screen and decent protection yet enables for the ipod to be fully function while the case is still on and dont want to break the bank this is the case for you. The only drawback is that when you are putting it on you have to watch for lint and hair getting stuck to the plastic, but problem is easily solved by making use of an eyeglass cleaning cloth, the other thing is that this is not scratch resistant plastic...but better that its the case not the ipod that gets scratched. Hope this helps.

Posted by pystash on December 30, 2006 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

8

I'm sorry but I must be honest and blunt. Do not waste your money kids. After about a week of use the metal stand will not stay put, it's flapping open every chance it gets. The metal has worn the plastic, the only fixes for this are either a piece of tape, a rubber band, or taking a hot paper clip and remolding the plastic a bit so the metal catches again. For $25 I expected a bit more quality. The one thing I love about this case though, is that even after an accidental drop the case did not pop off, it stays on really well. BTW if you need to get the case off, it's simple, just take a quarter and pry on the little tabs at the bottom.

Posted by mattcn81 on February 3, 2007 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

9

This case is actually very tough - I dropped it twice from a height of about 4 feet and my iPod came out with no damage whatsoever. My only qibble is the fact that I have to pry it open every time I want to put it in the dock. It is a REAL pain to do that.

Posted by Robert Coogan on May 17, 2007 at 1:25 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.