Griffin Technology iTrip FM Transmitter for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

I've asked in the First Look, but never got an answer (and someone else asked too), so here goes again:

Maybe you can help me. I’ve pre-ordered one and I’ve asked this question of Griffin, but they never answered it. I have the Invisible Shield on my nano and I want to make sure that it will fit in the iTrip. I see you mention the Invisble Shield but I wonder if you’ve tried it or are just assuming? It’s simple to test - if you have a nano with the IS, can you try using it with the iTrip. If not, try putting 2 sheets of paper inbetween the nano and the itrip as 2 sheets of paper (normal copier paper) is about the thinkness of the IS. Thanks.

Posted by mtnagel in Cincinnati, OH on January 2, 2006 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

2

Can you charge the ipod using a car adapter that takes a USB cable? Like Griffin's PowerJolt?

http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/powerjolt/index.php

Posted by cochese on January 3, 2006 at 11:41 AM (PDT)

3

Well, this may seem like a silly question, but since I've never owned an ipod, here goes: where do you put the headphones to listen to the FM since the iTrip uses the slot and replaces it with a USB port. Is there a speaker?

Posted by sda on January 3, 2006 at 10:47 PM (PDT)

4

sda:

the transmitters transmit the ipod songs to your stereo, not the stereo's FM stations to your ipod. Thus, you don't listen to anything out of the headphone jack.

Posted by cochese on January 4, 2006 at 6:51 AM (PDT)

5

A beautiful, simple, sleek design. No wires, and easy to use. My FM sound quality was very good, and the use of the Nano screen for menu choices is easy to read.
Got a Nano?, get the ITrip!.

Posted by SCNano on January 9, 2006 at 5:02 PM (PDT)

6

Just got mine and was disappointed with the reception in the car. First of all, setting the volume at 65% (as they recommend) makes it much lower volume than the radio itself. Should you pick up a stronger signal or switch stations to check traffic/news, the volume change is disturbing. Living in Dallas area, I frequently encountered stronger signals.

I have an older analog receiver at home that has a signal strength needle. 10 ft. away from the receiver, the signal strength in Stereo mode (gotta have my stereo - mono won't do) is .75 on a 5 point scale. I took the mini USB cable from a digital camera and connected (as mentioned in the review). The signal strength jumped to 3.5! So, I guess as long as I got this long cable hanging from the thing, the signal will be okay.

Cochese - you can charge in the car if your adaptor can handle the normal size USB connection. Mine's charging right now connected to the USB port on the PC while playing through the receiver.

Posted by TXSmitty on January 14, 2006 at 2:56 PM (PDT)

7

I got my iTrip for Nano last week. When I was wandering rural highways, the sound was pretty nice. When I returned to the suburbs (20 miles from Philadelphia) it was a challenge to find a station that it could overwhelm. Even stations that sounded like pure static produced unusable sounds from the iTrip. The best that I have been able to get is a simple white-noise hiss that is nearly as loud as the music itself.

As the previous poster mentioned, the sound level is noticably lower than normal. Increasing the volume on the iPod above 65% produces HEAVY distortion.

Another problem with the iTrip for Nano is that the mini-USB port is incompatable with nearly every car charger/holder on the market.

Griffin's tech support has been most unfriendly. When asking if they offer a product that holds and charges the Nano with their iTrip for Nano attached, they referred me to their compatability chart which lists other holders that work with the Nano, but don't indicate if they work with the mini port on their iTrip. Further requests for clarification have been ignored.

Posted by Mikul on January 24, 2006 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

8

I received my first iTrip Nano two weeks ago. The mini usb port was faulty though and it did not pass a charge through. Griffin claims this is not a typical problem. I also was only moderately satisfied with the sound quality. My friends iTrip for his older iPod works flawlessly in 99% of my city. This iTrip Nano was getting noisy 50% of the time on the best channel to use around here: 87.9.

My replacement iTrip Nano came in the mail today. The mini usb port does work now passing the charge through, but I noticed a significant difference in the quality of sound. Even worse than before. I will perform some tests tonight to see how bad the difference is but the most revealing problem was that the exposed piece of antenna on the back of the iTrip appears damaged. This is supposedly a brand new one. I am concerned this 'new' one is in fact a repackaged one that was tampered with. Of course, I will have to contact Griffin once again and get them to send me yet another one.

If you are concerned about this, flip the iTrip over and while its playing tap on the antenna, or rub your finger over the wire. If it adds a bunch of noise to your signal I'd question whether you have a damaged transmitter or not. Would anyone expect much or any noise addition to the signal as a result of tapping/rubbing on the antenna wire?

I didn't know about the trick of hanging a USB cable off the unit to improve the signal gain and will have to try that out.

Posted by gtkenny on January 31, 2006 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

9

The reception was better in the car with the USB Cable attached. I plugged into the cigarette lighter to charge and picked up interference. Same result in a different vehicle.

Something interesting - when I had the cable attached and plugged into the household outlet, the entire house acted as an antenna and I was able to tune every radio in the house (2100 sqft - 1 story) to the iPod!

I really haven't used the iTrip since I initially tested it. I really like the iSkin Duo which needs to be removed to use the iTrip. I use a tape adaptor in the car.

There seemed to be an ease of use with the older generation iPod/iTrip. Easy to switch from FM to headphones. I would like to see a headphone jack on the iTrip so you didn't have to remove it to use the headphones and can keep the iPod protected the entire time.

Posted by TXSmitty on January 31, 2006 at 10:58 PM (PDT)

10

I also noticed that the iTrip equalizer settings basically override the multitude of settings on the Nano. Set the iTrip EQ to On and the Classic EQ setting is selected on the Nano. Off is no EQ. I tried to override from classic to rock but the iTrip seems to switch it back.

I just found this FM Transmitter that looks easy to attach/remove. Could possibly use with iSkin Duo. Need to see a review - my iTrip may soon find it's way to Ebay.

http://us.kensington.com/html/10119.html

Posted by TXSmitty on January 31, 2006 at 11:23 PM (PDT)

11

Has anyone had a problem with their unit where the vibration of the car is making the Nano dislodge from the iTrip?

Mine seems to slowly lean towards the left while driving. Eventually after about 10 minutes it will dislodge enough that the stereo sound will turn to mono sound because of the improper contact with the headphone plug.

Once pushing it back down to be flush with the iTrip, the Nano usually pauses as if I were plugging it in for the first time. It is starting to become a pain.

Posted by Mugatu on February 2, 2006 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

12

Got mine earlier this week; transimits better than the one for my 4G! I'm in the Chicago area and the transmissions are pretty clean.

Now will Griffin or another company come out with a case that will hold both? I'd like a bit more protection than what is provided by Griffin with the iTrip. (Not saying that I don't appreciate the "case" provided!)

Posted by SJH in IL on February 2, 2006 at 9:37 AM (PDT)

13

This device works very well and is by far the best out of 4 other transmitter that I have tried.

That said, I do have one very big issue with it.

When plugged into the cigarette lighter, there is noise, not interference, but noise.

There are two distinct noise issues.

1. A high pitched sound can be heard when plugged in. This in not engine whine as revving the engine does not change the pitch and the noise is there even with the engine off.

2. Processor noise can be heard when using the nano. Use the click wheel and you can hear processor noise, backlight is on and the noise increases, etc.

I have tried different cars, different usb cables and different chargers; noise still there. I returned my original iTrip and exchanged it for a new one without any change.

Interestingly, when the charger is plugged directly into the ipod and I listen to the nano through the buds, there is no noise.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

Posted by rpnmtb on February 3, 2006 at 7:20 AM (PDT)

14

Are they ever going to release it for the iPod Video???

Posted by Jhego on February 3, 2006 at 9:45 AM (PDT)

15

Can you use motorola razr charger to charge ipod through this itrip? They have the same mini usb port. Thank you.

Posted by bloomy on March 6, 2006 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

16

I have noticed that the iPod does slowly disconnect from the iTrip. I've considered using a elastic or something to hold it together. The quality of the signal drops significantly if the iPod separates from the iTrip.

That being said, I really like the iTrip. Luckily I live in a smaller city with many empty frequencies, so finding a station to overwhelm is really easy and the signal quality is good.

I also like the bag. I'm disappointed that it's not compatible with the iSkin, but oh well.

Posted by aathorp on March 9, 2006 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

17

I really like the itrip. I just notice that it really sucks the power out of my nano. Is there anything I can use to charge the ipod while it is connected to the itrip in the car?

Posted by blessedmee on March 30, 2006 at 7:54 PM (PDT)

18

Hi,

Does anyone know if this is compatible with the Nano 2nd generation (ie the 8GB nano) - or is it only the 1st gen nano's?

Posted by bluegoat on December 11, 2006 at 12:30 PM (PDT)

19

I live in Okinawa, Japan - where unfortunately this carries as far as 2 feet on a good day. Even rain made the sound staticky.

Posted by Robert Coogan on May 17, 2007 at 1:43 AM (PDT)

20

The antenna at the back is extremely sensitive, when you cover (touch) the antenna at the back it interferes with the signal. This can be annoying when you are trying to select new tracks when already listening.

Posted by Rocketdog on July 11, 2007 at 1:01 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.