Griffin Technology iTrip FM Transmitter with LCD for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

looks pretty good to me

Posted by jeffcook692 on September 2, 2005 at 6:05 AM (PDT)

2

My only concern is why this poor iPod has been forced to play Jennifer Lopez. Bad iPod owner, bad.

Posted by hedgeland on September 2, 2005 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

3

Ha Ha Ha, I was going to make the Jennifer Lopez comment but you beat me to it.

Posted by RobertJoseph17 on September 2, 2005 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

4

how long do you think it will be before Griffin makes that "third run" with improved volume adjustment? I'd love to get this now but feel that waiting and posibly costing me the $10 difference is worth it, but want to get it before christmas anyways.

Posted by brianbobcat on September 3, 2005 at 10:11 AM (PDT)

5

I do have one question which for the first time was only slightly answered in this review, but I am still unsure. The Griffin site doesn’t list compatability with the iPod mini.

Will this work with my 2 gen iPod mini? I just broke my iTrip mini last week.

Thanks.

Posted by saxmanlarry on September 3, 2005 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

6

I just picked up my iTrip LCD at the Apple Store here in Atlanta, and it works as advertised. Thanks, Jeremy, not only for a great review, but also for clearing up a couple of mistakes in the iTrip LCD’s documentation. First, Griffin’s documentation states:

“To select LX or DX Mode, press and hold the knob for 5 seconds?

You’re correct. You only hold it for 2 seconds to select LX or DX, not 5. Holding it for 5 seconds lets you select US or International mode. Curiously, the documentation doesn’t even MENTION the ability to switch between US or International mode.

Jeremy, YOU should have written their manual!

Posted by Stymyx on September 6, 2005 at 9:13 AM (PDT)

7

When are these things going to broadcast RDS info? Wouldn't it be really nice to see the song information displayed on the car radio?

Posted by gubbas on September 6, 2005 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

8

I had a previous generation iTrip and hated it. Sound quality was poor and it was very painful to tune. I didn't like having to install a playlist with an entry for each station either.

So I bought an AirPlay and LOVE it. I've had no problems whatsoever. Liked it so much I bought another for my daughter, and she loves it.

AirPlay earned their A in my book. Maybe this iTrip is as good (or maybe even better), but I'll stick with my AirPlay, especially since my prior iTrip was so bad.

Posted by eaglejackson on September 6, 2005 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

9

How does the iTrip LCD work with speech? I like to listen to podcasts/audiobooks, and was disapointed with the Airplay's performance from my bedside table (10ft away from my stereo).

Is the new iTrip clear enough to bearably listen to speech, or would the static drive me insane like the Airplay does now?

Posted by Batiu-Drami on September 7, 2005 at 2:40 AM (PDT)

10

Does it fit/work on top of iSkin cases like the old iTrip?

My AirPlay is pretty bad. Quality is significantly worse than my old (now-broken) iTrip and it doesn't fit on my iSkin very well.

Posted by admiraldennis on September 10, 2005 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

11

got my iTrip today and I am really disappointed. I could not even get it to turn on when i got it out of the box, and had to reset my iPod before it would respond. Then the static... I am in the FM dial-crowded North East, so that may be the problem. However, I was at least expecting as good of performance as my cassette adapter. This is not the case, I am sending it back. I was seduced by the ads touting the "better than cassette" sound. Ah well.

Posted by ideanNE on September 13, 2005 at 11:08 PM (PDT)

12

Ok, update: I tried it in my friends car, and it works significantly better, however, its still not nearly as good as the cassette adapter. Just to get a clearer picture of the things capabilities, I also tried it on my home stereo, I had to actually touch the iTrip to my antena in order to hear AM quality sound. If you have no cassette AND your antena is close to where yer iPod will be. This MAY work. Its no good for me. Now to see how good Griffin's customer service is. Will update again.

Posted by ideanNE on September 15, 2005 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

13

I bought this from an Apple Store in the Detroit, MI area about a week ago. First impressions were that it worked okay, better than my Belkin Tunecast II, but still not that great in the car. I found that switching to DX mode helped with the noise floor, and I don't seem to notice that this mode transmits in mono. The other day I had a brainstorm and switched the mode from "US" to "Intl" (International) so that I could tune it down to 87.7 on my FM dial in the car. I found that the transmitter now works very well at this lower frequency, and I do not have to change the station at all during my 35 mile (each way) commute through the Detroit airwaves which is very choked up with stations both from the US and high powered stations in Canada. I now say Bravo to Griffin, and I believe that it does deserve the "A" rating!

Posted by Henfield on September 15, 2005 at 2:29 PM (PDT)

14

I have a question iLounge, why does the signal get stronger when any dock connector cable (loose or connected) is plugged in? Does the iTrip use it as an antenna or something, or does it broadcast with more power because its not "afraid" of diminishing battery power?

Posted by sheik124 on September 19, 2005 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

15

...Griffin plans a smaller, redesigned iTrip mini to follow this one, assuming that there are no radical changes to that iPod in the immediate future.

Does anyone think that this will still happen, even though the mini is being replaced by the nano? I have a mini, and I'd love to know if I should wait for a mini-sized one.

Posted by sherber on September 23, 2005 at 12:21 AM (PDT)

16

hey guys

I got my itrip LCD today from a UK Store!!!(Amazing as we always seem to be last with everything) was so surprised as the pre order date was for in two weeks time they must have got it early.

Ive tested it and its much better than the normal itrip (Which I thought was rubbish) Its about the same quality as an Xtrememac Airplay (Which I got after the first itrip and think is excellent) The best thing is the itrip lcd looks much better with the crome wheel much better than the airplay.

I got mine from [url=http://www.easyipod.co.uk]http://www.easyipod.co.uk[/url]

My mate just ordered one as well and they still have them in stock. Saves you buying from ebay which I was gonna do but always get import tax from America been unlucky I think

Posted by doug81 on September 26, 2005 at 8:24 AM (PDT)

17

I bought this new LCD version for my neice. I was a little skeptical since we live in LA, but we had no trouble at all. We found about 3 stations that were very clear. We'll see if it keeps up as she drive around, but so far, so good.

Posted by KathysIpod on October 18, 2005 at 11:39 PM (PDT)

18

I love my itrip lcd. It's not as good as a cassette or aux input, but it's better them most FM transmitters. My favorite feature: In int'l mode, you can tune down to 87.9 or 87.7 (or lower, if your stereo will go lower). I use 87.9. 87.7 picks some TV or FM harmonics or something. The only others I know to do that are the old itrip and the Kensington. You have to push a special button combination to get the Kensington to tune down and it won't store it as a preset.

Has anyone notice this: when I go around a corner and the ipod slides and hits the side of the self in my dash, there is a noticable bump sound in the car stereo. I can pause the ipod and tap the side of the itrip with my finger and it sounds like tapping a mic. It could clearly be heard over the car stereo. What gives?

Posted by tjg on November 3, 2005 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

19

Well, Since everything about this device has probaly already been said, I'll just put here that I paid $12.50 for my itrip after searching it online at pricewatch. With shipping, the PowerPod I also bought and tax, the entire package came out to just over $40, at my door in 2 days. If you can find this kind of deal, you are golden, but even with out it, this is still an exceptional product. Produces clean when out on the plains and highway, and only picks up minor interfearence around the house (considering I live about 1 mi from a pile of radio / tv transmitters, I think this little static is managable.)

Posted by SlavedHeart in Black Hills, SD on November 26, 2005 at 12:11 PM (PDT)

20

I really like my iTrip LCD.

I've used cassette tape car adapters, but don't like having the cable flowing around the dash.
I also don't think music sounds that good through the cassette tape units -- lots of hiss.

I wasn't happy with the original iTrip features or performance, but the iTrip LCD works well.

I drive a 2002 Audi A4 with the antenna in the rear window.
I live in the Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota area. I think this information is important
as it seems that car and location have a great impact on usability of the FM transmitters.

I have my iTrip LCD set to 87.9. I can stick with that frequency pretty much anywhere in the
metro area, including driving near downtown Minneapolis.

I frequently listen to podcasts in the car, and thus have my iTrip LCD set to DX (mono) mode.
There is noticeably more static in LX (stereo) mode but it is still pretty good.

Like tjg above, I have noticed that if you tap the iPod or the iTrip LCD, it seems to "broadcast"
that tap through the radio.

I bought mine at the Apple Store at the Mall of America. Be sure to buy yours at a store that will
accept returns in case it doesn't meet your needs.

Posted by JohnnyO in Minnesota on January 21, 2006 at 4:56 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.