Griffin Technology iTrip with Dock Connector for iPod (White/Black) | iLounge

Reviews

1

What a shame. It's too bad Griffin had to finally get the iTrip perfect right as the 4G iPod became obsolete. Back to the drawing board, it seems.

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on November 18, 2005 at 1:03 AM (PDT)

2

looks like its just for the holidays and soon we'll see something much better from griffin - i think i'll wait...

Posted by LinkTree in IL on November 18, 2005 at 3:30 AM (PDT)

3

My 3G Ipod died a slow death, so I was able to get a new 5G. I was very disappointed to find out that I would not be able use my Itrip that plugs into the top. I was happy with its performance, and the fact that it snapped right onto the ipod.
So, I shelled out the 50 bucks and bought this bottom mounting version.
I get the best reception when I place it under the passenger side visor. Maybe its the fact that the antenna wire is on the back, it when it touches the top of the car, it helps to increase the signal strength. (Does anyone know how to pry this out and increase the strength? I'm not quite sure what the review meant.)

BUT, the main problem I have with this the annoying buzzing sound it produces. Not static, but buzzing. Its similar to a non-grounded turntable.
Its not so bad when you are listening to music, but most of my listening is talk radio and podcasts.

Has anyone else experienced this? I've tried it with my friends 4G ipod, and still get the buzzing, and also on several different car radios and home stereos.

I'm thinking it might be defective.

Posted by bellbm on November 18, 2005 at 5:51 PM (PDT)

4

I bought this over the weekend from a major national electronics retailer. The first one I bought didn't work at all out of the box. The replacement did, or then again, it didn't. I didn't get anything on my radio. I have a 2004 Nissan Quest minivan and a 2003 VW Jetta 1.8T. I tuned in to a station that was in between two stations with static as well, just as it said in the manual. I didn't get anything except for a short while when I could get a faint signal. This was on both vehicles. The only way I could get the faint signal was if I held my iPod by extending my arm to the back of both vehicles where closer to the antenna. I also tried it in my rental, a 2005 Chrysler Sebring and still no signal.

I think they did rush to put this product out for the holidays and under-engineered it. Don't buy it. It's not even worth half the price! Buy a cassette adapter or listen to CDs.

Posted by apeguero on December 7, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

5

black is shiney

Posted by jitaroo on December 8, 2005 at 3:53 AM (PDT)

6

wen is iTrip nano coming out!!!??

Posted by BlueSIm on December 11, 2005 at 2:37 PM (PDT)

7

what a piece of junk this is....it should be called the iSuck! i bought two because i thought the 1st one was defective. i just returned the other one today. i couldn't get much output at all from this thing, unless i jacked the volume all the way up, only then to get FM static and lose most of the ipod signal to nearby stations that literally tore my ears off. when it did work, it was almost as good as AM radio. all of this occured when i was far far away from any cities btw...

Posted by ryankmusic on December 12, 2005 at 7:58 PM (PDT)

8

I agree that this is much worse than the previous itrip I had for my old ipod. There is a constant buzz even on the emptiest radio stations furthest from any "used" station in my small town. The buzz remains even when you pause the ipod, something that never happened with the old itrip. The buzz noticeably varies if you shift the position of the ipod even slightly, again something that never happened with my old ipod. This thing is feeble. Radio intermittently bursts into the signal without warning, even when the station is otherwise blank. You have to turn the volume on the car stereo way up to get it adequate. This itrip is extremely light and fragile feeling, and has a tendency to come loose off the ipod's dock (it does not grip it as securely as the cable does, it has no little spring clamps), especially when you are trying to turn that cursed dial on the side, something I assure you that you will be doing often, hunting in vain for good reception. I know the old itrip was not perfect but it would do for my car listening, my car like most does not have a cassette deck so I can't go that route. But this itrip is basically unusable! A complete waste of money and time. I intend to fight griffin (I bought direct from them) to get my money back with no re-stocking fee. What a huge disappointment. Any know of a better product for the ipod 5g? I'm desperate to be able to listen to my ipod in the car!

Posted by nmorgan on December 17, 2005 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

9

Chalk up another disappointment.

First, I had pre-ordered this iTrip with dock connector and the iTrip Nano. Then, I find the iTrip with dock connector at my local Best Buy.

I bought one and I agree, it does suck. Very poor transmission power (I agree that it sounds almost like AM radio at times). I had to put it in INTL mode so I could get a decent station lower on the dial. I live between Baltimore, MD and Washington, D.C. and it's almost impossible to find a good station to use.

I am returning my iTrip and I have cancelled my pre-order for the iTrip Nano. I guess I'll end up with a cassette adapter. And to think... the iTrip was one of the reasons I actually bought an iPod. I like the idea of no wires and the fact that it pulled it's power from the iPod.

Posted by Bob Reck in Baltimore, MD on December 19, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

10

this is my 3rd iTrip, i first had the iTrip without the LCD, used with my 4G Photo, it was fine, but not perfect, had real trouble using it in big cities such as Birimingham and London.. it did the job though 85% of the time..

Then i got the iTrip LCD, the one that sits on top.. so far this has been the best, i was able to use International frequencies and tune into 87.5-87.9, the holy grail of frequencies in the UK.. and thanks to DX mode even in London the performance was SUBSTANTIALLY improved!! DX may have been mono, and my car may have 12 speakers, but by god did it sound good, i quickly stopped caring about LX stereo. It was as good and powerful as the CD player.

now i've upgraded to the Video ipod, i've had to get this one.. and i too am suffering the buzzing noise, you can't really hear it on loud music, but anything relatively quiet, it's VERY noticable, not massively obstrusive, but annoying. Podcasts, forget about it!

Also not being able to fit securely can be annoying, i don't know why they couldn't have the regular snap connection, it would have been great.. but either way it doens't bother me too much, it's not like it just falls out, you just have to be a bit more careful. I do like the new tab thing though, but is tricky to use one handed mainly due to the poor dock connection.

I am hoping the buzzing is a fault, i've tried it on other radios, and tried all sorts of options etc.. it's always there and is seriously unnacceptable. For some reason my car doesn't like cassette adaptors, and i don't like other FM transmitters, as they almost always involve cables, and look ugly. If i wasn't bothered about looks, i wouldn't have changed my ipod, then again wouldn't have got an ipod/itrip in the first place!

damn you Griffin, you do something pure genius and then go smash it with a sledgehammer!!

Posted by tj_director on January 17, 2006 at 4:21 PM (PDT)

11

Purchased in Melbourne Australia a week ago. Good signal to noise ratio, VERY VERY BAD CONSTANT BUZZING, identical symptoms to other postings.

LISTEN UP GRIFFIN - A RUSH JOB.

My money back please.

Posted by Ivan Rostas on January 25, 2006 at 5:30 AM (PDT)

12

I never thought I would say this but I wish I still had a cassette player.

Posted by bazookajay on February 4, 2006 at 11:53 AM (PDT)

13

BLAH!!! I returned mine! The thing has no output!! What good is an FM transmitter that forces you to turn up your car speakers ALL THE WAY in order to hear it well?? CHEAP-O.

Posted by Werewolf on March 14, 2006 at 8:06 AM (PDT)

14

not impressed! horrible connection with radio, what ever station you try to sync it with, it will return to 88.4 but weather i was at 88 or anything else it sounded the same, BAD, disappointed, and think i waited till my cassette died so i could get a good transmitter

Posted by frogletack on April 21, 2006 at 10:17 AM (PDT)

15

When I got my iTrip this morning, I too got the dreaded buzzing sound, but after trying another frequency, it went and now I have clear, broadcast-quality (ie, equivalent to analogue radio) sound in my car. I lost the use of a cassette player when I traded in my VW Golf, and so the only option open to me was one of the Dension ICE Links. I have a new-model Audi A6 so this is a pricy and complicated install because of the lack of both an aux port (what's that about, in a brand new, so-called 'premium' car?) or indeed a discernable head unit (the car has one of these central multifunction computer thingies with a central controller). Anyway, to get to the point, I'm now a happy bunny. For those of you who still have the buzzing,the only advice I can offer is that the frequency you choose must be absolutely clear of any other broadcast, otherwise the two signals seem to clash and create interference. I was initially very disappointed, but after some persistance, everything now seems to work as advertised.

Posted by Marky_Mark on May 6, 2006 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

16

crap, i'm going to return my itrip fer an xtrememac transmitter. my buddy has a first generation itrip, which works really well. this new one does not!

Posted by djrobber on June 11, 2006 at 6:01 PM (PDT)

17

When my iTrip Dock works, it works great. I don't hear buzzing and I get good reception in my Lexus and the cheap tuner at the office. Even "boom boxes" receive the signal fairly well.

My problem is that I have to do a soft reset of my 30 Gb 5th Gen iPod several times a day in order to continue transmitting. I take the iPod from place to place and turn it off while I'm in transit. It seems that the problems come when it has been off for a while.

Is it bad to soft reset your iPod several times per day? I would think it would shorten its life.

Posted by mdickson on August 1, 2006 at 5:39 PM (PDT)

18

When I upgraded from my 3G to 5G iPod, I debated between the Belkin TuneFM for iPod (with car charger) or sticking with Griffin and getting a new iTrip. Belkin won out because of the iPodlounge rating and also because it came with the car charger for a good price.

However after receiving it, attaching it to my iPod, and testing it in my car, I was immediately disappointed.

Belkin's TuneFM slipped very easily off the iPod (I have an iSkin EvO case for it with a flap that accommodates the dock connections) and would come off if I even moved it slightly, causing the tuner to "re-tune" every time it detached. This made for changing songs a pain.

This "looseness" of the transmitter also changed the way I have to carry my iPod in my purse, as the transmitter would fall off somewhere and I'd constantly have to dig for it when I got back to my car. It's very compact (which is good) but I was used to carrying both transmitter and iPod attached for easy access with my 3G and (old-skool, lipstick-style) iTrip. This also worried me, as I had a feeling it just might fall out of my purse by accident and I wouldn't notice until it was too late.

A couple of days ago, just as I had anticipated, the transmitter fell out of my purse, so I ended up buying the Griffin iTrip Black. AND, ONCE AGAIN, ALL WAS RIGHT WITH THE WORLD.

Griffin's iTrip was what I should have stuck with: there was less static in my car compared to the Belkin, which I would have to switch stations quite often to avoid fuzziness. Also the iTrip, even though it may be a little more bulky than the TuneFM, was much more snug with the iPod, and in my case less likely to be lost in my purse.

Even better, I just plugged in the Belkin's car charger (that came with the transmitter) into the iTrip and now I do not have to buy a new charger. (Huzzah!)

I suppose I am just use to the Griffin Transmitters, but I have to say I wish I didn't go through the long wait of trying to get the Belkin off of eBay and just gone right out and bought the iTrip. Would have save me a lot of anxiety.

That being said, I did end up finding the original Belkin transmitter - but I leave it now in the car for emergencies. The iTrip is the one I carry arround with me and I'll stick to Griffin from now on, despite the reviews.

Posted by snowbutterfly in Winnipeg on October 25, 2006 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

19

I just got the iTrip w/dock for my 5G/80 and it works great. It looks like Griffin made some changes because the antenna on mine is different from the reviewed unit (above. On mine the antenna goes around 3 sides on the back - down one side, across the back, and up the other side.

Mine works fine,, signal strength is good, no buzzing or funny noises, and the audio is decent.

I don't know if there is a way to tell the difference from the packaging, but I wanted to pass this along.

Posted by Brokerman in South Florida on December 11, 2006 at 12:40 PM (PDT)

20

It works abouat as well as any FM Transmitter can be expected to work. Actually it works far better than my expectations (which were based on a 1980's era non PLL FM "broadcaster" which was JUNK).

I get cell phone interference - esp when making a call or the cell is "pinging" a tower. I also get High Tension wire interference.

Bear in mind that AM radio gets interferece under the same high tension wires that I pass under. Also that my home "Baby Monitor" get similar cell phone interference. If I keep the cell phone about 1.5+ feet away I dont get interference.

I suspect that a full metal shell (aka Faraday Cage) on the iTrip would eliminate the issue.

Also bear in mind that not only are there fidelity issues with the MP3 (or whatever you used short of full WAV) compression, but that there are LIMITATIONS to the FM broadcast standard. I think high freq roll off is at 16K?
I work in an real broadcast FM station, and commercial FM sounds "good" because of $20K worth of Orban Optimod signal processing - which I doubt is in the iTrip.

*** Big peeve***
The mini USB does NOT charge the iPod when the iPod is off (unlike the SendPort or standard docking station). It would be really nice if the mini USB feed power to the iPod when the broadcast portion was not being used.

I bouth the iTrip becuase:
-- its small - I can put in in my iPod "go" bag w/o taking up a ton of space.
-- [I have a hard wired HeadUnit in my Daily Driver]
-- The iTrip is for use on raod trip with RENTAL CARS. IF the thing sounds as good as "AM" radio - Id rather listen to my "Soundtrack" than static (that being said long ago on roadtrips I did hear some um "interesting" broadcasts)
--

Posted by ewongkaizen on January 13, 2007 at 8:28 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.