Griffin Technology iVault for iPod shuffle | iLounge

Reviews

1

if i were to buy a shuffle i would definitely buy this case for it. despite its exposed USB port, i think its perfect.

i would simply take the Apple USB Cap, cut it to size, glue on a small hold/grabbing spot to pull it out, and use it as a usb cap in the case. Painting it silver or red, respectivly, would make it look much better to.

great review BTW.

Posted by the_commanche on June 30, 2005 at 3:18 PM (PDT)

2

I think it would be hard to cut a standard cap down to size. I had suggested a port cover along the lines of:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Century Global/CYCAPIO/

I also agree the case needs either an attachment point of some type or a clip that can be attached using the screw.

Posted by JeffW in Texas on June 30, 2005 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

3

I might consider getting this case, but leaving the usb connector exposed just seems wrong.

Posted by M Bargo in Chicago, IL on June 30, 2005 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

4

it would be easy cutting it to size. all you need is a dremel with cutting discs and a strait edge, with me being a computer modder, have both of those items readily available

Posted by the_commanche on June 30, 2005 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

5

Nit pick,nit pick. First,this is easily as nice a looking case as you will find for ANY ipod.
As for the exposed USB. And how is this any worse then the exposed port on the bottom of a regular ipod? It's not!

I love the balance between protection,looks and not hiding the ipods natural looks.

The price is dead on...some companies charge $40 for garbage. It comes with a USB cable....8 outta 10 companies wouldn't even include that for you. I got the cheapest USB I could find when I had my shuffle and I paid $8 so based on that this case is $12!

I used my shuffle uncovered 80% of the time and I never came close to wrecking it....this will offer plenty of protection for normal use.



I got rid of my shuffle and went back to a mini...THIS case may prompt me to buy another shuffle...it's that cool looking.

Oh,and as for having to take it off if you want to use another case...boo hoo,so you need to take 9 seconds of your life to unscrew it....buncha lazy whiners! The shuffle is 100% usable in the case and why on earth would you want to use another case anyway? More then a 'case' I see this more as an ipod looks enhancer not meant to be taken off.

My only 'flaw' is that a tiny hole should by added to the rear bottom for a lanyard...sorta like the hole you see on gameboys and cellphones. Still,I carried my shuffle in my pocket 75% of the time so even that wouldn't be a big deal to me.

A+! Great looking case at a sweet price.

Posted by CanofAir on June 30, 2005 at 6:56 PM (PDT)

6

"And how is this any worse then the exposed port on the bottom of a regular ipod? It’s not!"

(a) This is a case.

(b) The iPod shuffle includes its own USB cap for a reason.

(c) For the 75% of the time you kept the shuffle in your pocket - assuming that it overlapped with the 80% of the time you kept your shuffle uncovered - did you leave the USB cap off? Here, you'll leave it off full-time.

(d) The issue with using four tiny screws isn't the time it takes to remove, but needing a screwdriver to do it.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on July 1, 2005 at 3:28 PM (PDT)

7

A real case, with real design, by a real designer versus some contrived socialite fashion designer. Consider another one sold!

Concern of the exposed USB port is a valid one and easily rectified through a rubber access door design like those that are now common place on the digital cameras. This would mean a door attachment where the rubber has a knob held into the case through a hole. A simple rubber cap will soon be lost, so a rubber door affixed to the case is essential.

Also, dependent on the grade of aluminum and without getting technical, anodizing is a soft (there are hard anodized coatings, but they are not used here) and can be easily scratched, along with eventually rubbing off through heavy use. Those choosing the plain aluminum case (as I have) can simply polish the case to its original luster and even remove basic scratching.

The matter of the four miniature Phillips head screws, can be a pain for those who do not have jeweler screwdriver laying about, so an inexpensive miniature screwdriver should be included with the case.

Both the rubber door and a miniature screwdriver will add to the cost, but not by much--both would be welcome additions.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on July 2, 2005 at 2:29 PM (PDT)

8

i loved this case myself but the open usb connection discouraged me and i didn't buy it.

Posted by zerophase on July 2, 2005 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

9

the reason that a usb cap is needed, is because the opening to a USB port is larger, allowing more interference with the contacts. the dock port contacts are relitivly small, and are less vulnerabl w/o a cap.

Posted by the_commanche on July 3, 2005 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

10

Its pretty cool to see this design come back as a reveiw. NIce Job!

Posted by strikeover on July 5, 2005 at 7:36 AM (PDT)

11

You didn't mention the weight of the case. Is the case actually heavier than the iPod itself?

Posted by Taphil on July 5, 2005 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

12

Taphil, you read my mind. If it adds significantly to the weight, you probably won't want it hanging from your neck anyway.

Posted by kingpause on July 6, 2005 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

13

Wouldn't the USB cap that comes with Apple's iPod USB cables work? It looks like a perfect mate for the opening at the bottom of the iVault.

If so, then this 'issue' is easily remedied.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on July 7, 2005 at 11:58 AM (PDT)

14

The lack of a lanyard option does hurt it though. The iVault actually turns the iPod Shuffle into a piece a jewelry. That's a shame.

In keeping with my comment in the forum that started all of this, I am now buying a Shuffle...and this case.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on July 7, 2005 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

15

Hi
I'm the person who makes the eXopod, and I have a few things to say about the iVault. First off, I think it is a great case and I congratulate helixipod on his success. Secondly, our case is much different from his. As hard as this may be to believe, we had a case designed before we had any knowledge of his case. After seeing his case and the comments that were made, we accordingly improved our case. The first case we sent to this site for review was literally THE FIRST case we ever made, and therefore had many flaws, especially with the finish. To be more specific, it was not sandblasted, not polished or deburred and not anodized, all of which make the case smoother, give it softer edges, and a nicer color when anodized. As with everything, you have to go through a few runs before everything is perfect. Since then, our finish has improved drastically, and is now the same as the iVault. Keep in mind also that we are 2 college students with extremely limited amounts of money and time to produce several prototypes and design revisions. The reason for the price difference (iVault-$19.99, eXopod-$29.99) between our cases is simple: magnets are much more expensive than screws. Also, for our cases, each magnet is put in by hand whereas the iVault gives you a bag of screws to put in yourself. As for design, the iVault does have more rounded features than the eXopod, but this was an intentional design on our part. My final comment regards Jeremy's comment on disassembling the case- "You also don’t need to pull off the case to sync or recharge your shuffle, as is necessary with Exopod." This may seem like an advantage to the iVault, but when you look closer, you'll notice that it takes literally less than 1 second to pull our case apart. In order to sync your Shuffle while in the iVault, you have to carry around that usb cord. However, I still believe that the iVault is a worthy and excellent case.

-Tom S.
Team eXopod

Posted by Tomekeuro85 on July 12, 2005 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

16

I received my iVault today - July 28, 2005. Ordered March 29, 2005.

Let me start by saying I love Griffin products - on the whole, some of the most innovative designs on the market for Mac and iPod.

I also love the fact that they snapped up a great design from Helixipod and pushed it to market in a very short time (especially for a milled type product). Cudos to Griffin for a great move on this case.

Having made those statements, I'm writing to give Jeremy and those of you waiting on your iVaults a heads up on two issues. Overall, I must say that I am very disappointed in the unit. Here's why:

1. Jeremy notes in the review that there is room around the headphone port to allow you to use some, and I emphasize - some - large headphone plugs, including L shaped plugs. The opening is definitely bigger than the norm, but it will NOT accommodate MOST large plugs. I own Ultimate Ears UE-5c headphones. The plug does not fit. I own Shure E3c headphones; ditto. I own Nike Flight headphones; the plug does not fit. I'm wondering what you tested your unit with?

Jeremy, this is a major miss in the review. You own UE-5cs - you know these don't work. I don't expect many to own these, but a lot of people own Shure products and similar Etys - this is a major issue. If I did not have my connector for an old Apple iPod sport case, I'd have no way to even use the shuffle in the iVault.

2. While milling on a mass basis is difficult, the interior of the case needs some type of alignment pins. The two halves of the case don't quite align correctly. The screws force alignment when you tighten them down, but if the holes are even the slightest bit off, so are the case halves. Mine are slightly out of alignment.

I really love the design and can get over the USB port issues and open control surfaces, but the headphone port was a major surprise - and not a good one.

One final surprise, Griffin charged me the original price for the iVault - $29.99, not the 'new' price of $19.99 since I preordered. Sweet.

I'm headed out to drill out the port opening - hope I can do it without turning the case into $30 bucks worth of aluminum recycling material.

I'm normally pretty level headed, but this one hit my hot buttons.

Caveat emptor.

Posted by runningman on July 28, 2005 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

17

I can't access the eXopod site. It's http://www.exopod.net, right?

Anywhere else I can purchase it?

Posted by nuzao on August 1, 2005 at 12:30 PM (PDT)

18

What is the real price on this thing? Is it 19.99 or 29.99?

Posted by Just me on August 15, 2005 at 3:10 AM (PDT)

19

I just received my iVault yesterday and was fairly disappointed...

The main problem is the case doesn't fit my 1G Shuffle!

it's probably too shallow by 1/32 of an inch my 3/64... enough that you can see the shuffle through the crack along the edge of the iVault... and if you try to crank the screws down to force it closed, the screws strip out!!

even in this condition it protects the shuffle, but it's just not what I paid for... I expected the iVault to fit and seal around the shuffle... this one, the one I recieved does not.

So I'm getting my money back (or at least I'm going to try) and thought I'd give everyone a fair warning.

Posted by morgman on September 1, 2005 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

20

Did anyone find a way to put a cap or something over the end of this to protect the USB port?

Also is there enough room in this case you can put a silicone rubber case on first you know like the clear ones?

Posted by Syrup_123 on July 18, 2006 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.