Griffin Technology RadioSHARK | iLounge

Reviews

1

FYI - Stern is headed to Sirius satellite radio in 2006. It would be outstanding if v2.0 of the RadioShark accessed satellite streams... but I doubt it.

Posted by Stern Fan on October 8, 2004 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

2

This is awesome. I definetly want one to record stern (15 montshs is still hundreds of hours of shows for me) and love line smile

Posted by jsupetran on October 8, 2004 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

3

"No need to pop open your PC or Mac and install a PC radio tuning card"

Nice review. I do agree that its integrated functionality is nice. But you can also get TV/radio USB tuner add-ons for PCs for several years now. Many of them also offer 5.1 or better sound processing. They would also work with Macs if the companies bothered to write drivers.

This is a good example of how the iPod could be enhanced by adding an FM radio to its hardware. Apple has a long history of seeing good third-party accessories then integrating them into its core hardware. I hope they do something like this. I know gadgets like the iRiver already have built-in FM tuners, and feature recording, but for some reason do not support direct recording from FM.

An iPod that featured Tivo-like FM recording built-in would be a significant advance.

Posted by good job on October 8, 2004 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

4

You can do something similar with streamed radio shows for free. Download wiretap and you can record all of your favorite streamed audio files. They're turned into MP3's and can be dropped right into your ipod. I've done it with my favorite radio program, Music From the Hearts of Space.

The RadioSHARK is a good idea. It's too bad that commercial radio is almost all insipid, obnoxious pablum. Streaming and satellite radio are where the media exists as anything beyond banal advertisement.

Posted by annarborboy on October 8, 2004 at 11:08 AM (PDT)

5

Very Cool.

Posted by Max on October 8, 2004 at 1:36 PM (PDT)

6

As a confirmed NPR and community radio junkie, the SHARK sounds like a good idea to me.

Yes, I have fooled around with various solutions combining radios, cards and third-party recording software on my PC to grab radio shows, but the fact is that these experiments, while successful, were also cumbersome and time-consuming.

A device that accomplishes this task in a easy, integrated fashion is well worth the lousy $70. That's a whole lot less than I spend on pledge drives each year!

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on October 8, 2004 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

7

How about a spec sheet for this product? Exact size and Weight? FM/AM db reception sensitivity? power draw? I couldn't find one at the Griffin site...Otherwise, a good review.

Posted by Uncle Alaska on October 8, 2004 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

8

I myself wouldn't mind getting this thing. However I haven't as of yet found anything to indicate that it records in stereo. :- Can anyone confirm if it does record stereo or mono? Not even Griffin's site (when I checked it) mentioned this.

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on October 8, 2004 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

9

"I know gadgets like the iRiver already have built-in FM tuners, and feature recording, but for some reason do not support direct recording from FM.

An iPod that featured Tivo-like FM recording built-in would be a significant advance."

The problem with recording from FM on these players is the hard drive noise they pick up.

Posted by Lone on October 8, 2004 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

10

"I know gadgets like the iRiver already have built-in FM tuners, and feature recording, but for some reason do not support direct recording from FM.

An iPod that featured Tivo-like FM recording built-in would be a significant advance."

The problem with recording from FM on these players is the hard drive noise they pick up.

Posted by Lone on October 8, 2004 at 5:58 PM (PDT)

11

"The problem with recording from FM on these players is the hard drive noise they pick up."

What about digital radio? Those are immune to analog RF interference, right? An iPod with XM or Sirius would be awesome!

Posted by digital? on October 8, 2004 at 6:33 PM (PDT)

12

Questions.

Does this work with other music players like or only iPod?

What about a commercial skip button?

Posted by booch on October 8, 2004 at 9:05 PM (PDT)

13

It records into AAC format. So AAC Compatiable players shouldn't have a problem. But you can also convert to mp3.

Posted by Rob on October 9, 2004 at 1:13 AM (PDT)

14

I have one on order already. Does this only work with iTunes? Will those of us still using MusicMatch be able to download to our iPods in the usual way?

Posted by Pat Clohessy on October 9, 2004 at 5:35 AM (PDT)

15

Hmm, I already do exactly what this does with Replay Radio on my PC. Record radio programs when I'm not home to listen to them. It creates them as MP3s and I transfer them to the iPod.

Not sure I see the advantage of an external device. Just seems like one more thing to sit on my already crowded desk.

Posted by Tracy on October 9, 2004 at 8:20 AM (PDT)

16

BradPDX - my thoughts exactly! Now I can grab that This American Life show and listen any time. While this programming is available on Audible, $70 is cheaper than a bunch of downloads, or a few months of subscription.

Tracy - you're right that Replay Radio can record streaming audio, but this records actual radio - so you can get stuff that's not streamed over the web.

I want one!

Posted by altcountryman on October 9, 2004 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

17

I pre-ordered NINE months ago and finally it has shipped. I can't wait to get it. Unfortunately Griffins track record of announcing products and taking pre-orders but not delivering for so long has soured me on the company. I will not pre-order another item from them ever! Customer service is also not good when you call or email them. Love the products hate the company.

Posted by Finally on October 9, 2004 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

18

I have some RCAs running out from my amp/reciever to a 3.5mm jack plugged into my mac's microphone port. I then use wiretap to record anything I like and later convert whatever songs or sets I want on my iPod to mp3 with amadeus.

Posted by bugless in Australia on October 10, 2004 at 12:22 AM (PDT)

19

I pre-ordered the RadioShark and got it last week. When I ordered it, I am certain that one of its features was the ability to record streaming audio.
http://www.macnn.com/news/23090
When I called Griffin to ask what happened to this feature, the person I spoke to denied that this was ever listed as a feature but then admitted that it was. His only suggestion was to spend more money and buy Audio Hijack.
I must have over a half dozen Griffin products. I don't appreciate this bait and switch. I'm returning my RadioShark.

Bob

Posted by BobR on October 10, 2004 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

20

"His only suggestion was to spend more money and buy Audio Hijack."

But there are any amount of programs to record streaming audio. In fact, I am surprised that even iTunes doesn't offer this feature by now. Isn't the key value point of the RS that it offers the ability to record on-demand broadcast radio? Or am I missing something?

Posted by Streaming on October 10, 2004 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.